Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and safe room close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I was disappointed that my room was only cleaned twice during the 5 day stay. I should not have to ask for clean towels after returning from the beach to a room that looked like the way I left it. The staff didn't seem concerned about my complaint either. The continental breakfast was a joke also. A few mini muffins and coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from erie pa

Convenient,comfortable,staff helpful

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Will be back nice good location people friendly inexpensive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Given its outward appearance, the only thing worse than getting charged for a room I didn't stay in would probably be having to actually sleep there.
My wife and I booked a non-smoking room at this hotel en route to the property. Upon arrival, we spoke to the manager, who informed us that he only had smoking rooms available. We said that such a room was not acceptable. The manager promised that he would refund our money and reverse the charge on my credit card. I asked him if he could provide a record of the reversal and he said that it was not necessary. As we were on our way to the beach at Atlantic City, I foolishly ignored my gut feeling and assented after more reassurance by the manager. Big mistake. Still wary, I called him again from the beach a few hours later to make sure the charges were being reversed. He reassured me that they were. It was a brazen lie. Upon reading my credit card statement a few weeks later, I discovered that he never reversed the charges. When I called to inquire about the issue and explained that I would have to report the charge if they did not take action within 24 hours, the woman on the hotel staff actually yelled at me and hung up the phone. It was unbelievable. She actually seemed indignant that I was taking a stand and trying to get back money they never should have affected my card balance in the first place. For the first time in my life, I just had to call my credit card company to reverse the hotel charges on my card. Please don't fall into the trap that my wife and I did with this hotel; Expedia should remove it from its database.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Sir, if you will see your credit card statement, you will see" Empire Inn & Suites" never charged your credit card. So I am not sure where is all this coming from. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Price I paid was competitive. Clean Room

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Price was low compared to other hotels. Room was clean and had swimming pool as well. Thank you for providing nice room with a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by SAM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

No service

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Arrived at 1:30pm. We are an older couple. Owner rudely asked "what do you want?" when we approached the office which was closed. What did she think we wanted. Office closed at 7:30am. Couldn't get coffee or something. Room was fine just don't expect anything else for your money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude Staff

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More helpful staff. The hotel needs some new rugs inside and out.
Location: Good location for transportation. Many stores nearby
Woman at the front desk was EXTREMELY rude. Each time I interacted with her, she had a negative attitude, very forceful and never helpful. I was not the only one to experience this kind of treatment. I witnessed at least three encounters with other guests which were very confrontational.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Brooklyn

Exactly as advertised

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good deal for the price. Except for the breakfast. Weakest coffee ever
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Sonny, Hotel Management
Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff are rude

Posted Apr 19, 2016
I stay for two days and the charge me for 3 ,I called for the WiFi password and the front door told me they were kinda bz now figure out the password.the breakfast is "cofee' and a mini muffin. by11:05 I had received two phone calls and two visit in my room letting me know the will charge me check out is at 11:00 ..I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
2 out of 5
by Cynthia

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk was very rude. Charged me a dollar for additional key.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close drive to Atlantic City.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The closeness to Atlantic City.
Cons: Take care of all the above mentioned problems so future guests will be satisfied with their experience at this motel.
Location: Atlantic City casinos and beach.
When I was waiting to check in another guest complained to the motel employee behind the check in desk that there were only 2 towels and there were 4 persons in the room. The employee told her all the towels were locked up and they would have to wait until the next day to get additional towels. When I entered my room there were no hangers to hang up our clothing. The holder for tissues was empty. The water pressure was not good. The bedroom sheets looked like they were not changed. My card key did not always work. I went out and when I returned at 2 AM I had to find the motel employee to gain access to me room because the check in room was locked and I had to make a phone call to the motel to finally obtain assistance entering my room.