Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Sonewhat pleasant

Posted Aug 24, 2016
1st i was not aware the hotel was being remodeled. One of the reason i stay at Embassy Suites is the made to order breakfast and happy hour at night. The hotel tried to accommodate with some breakfast items. Happy hour was very basic. Needless to say i enjoy ES just not while they are remodeling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The room was fine, but prior to booking there was nothing stating they are renovating their lobby. There was no gym or pool access and the breakfast was more of a grab and go continental style. Two main reasons we chose this hotel was for the pool and the made to order breakfast. I also did not like that the garage does not attach to the hotel and we had rain so it was inconvenient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Under Renovation - Total Mess

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Communication when making reservations on-line as it is under construction.
We use Embassy Suites as our go to hotel when traveling as we have always had consistency. Great Rooms, Clean and Fantastic Breakfast. This hotel in Austin was under renovation and when we made reservations they never told us. The room was musty/mildew smelling. We asked to be moved to another room and that one was in the same condition. There was mold under the sink and in the shower stall. Peeling Paint on the doors and trim. My sinuses were inflamed from it all. During the day all you heard was jackhammers. Very disappointing. And for all of this..you still paid the same price! They should have discounted us. The breakfast was awful!! Certainly not their standard. The whole stay was very disappointing in Austin Tx. Next day we stayed at Embassy in Dallas and it was a wonderful stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Really nothing.
Cons: I would not have stayed if I had known about the construction.
It would have been nice to know in advance that the atrium was torn out. The cocktail event was a stand around and watch ESPN, as opposed to sitting in the atrium. No room service due to construction. All floors were sealed off because of dust. Loud noises started early in the morning. I was totally disappointed by the entire experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BAIT AND XPERIENCE THE BAD

Posted Aug 5, 2016
THE ENTIRE HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. NEITHER EXPEDIA NOR THE HOTEL BOTHERED TO MENTION THERE WERE NO FACILITIES AVAILABLE OTHER THAN THE ROOM, PRIOR TO OUR CHECK IN. WE'VE STAYED THERE FOR YEARS. WE'LL GO THERE AGAIN. HOWEVER WE WON'T BOOK THERE THROUGH EXPEDIA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel right downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was very helpful, location is great, room was very nice.
Cons: Once the remodel is done, the pool will be available, the breakfast area will be nicer, and there won't be construction going on during the day.
Location: Close to the Congress Ave bridge to watch bats from, close to downtown, right on the river walk, and close to SOCO district.
The hotel is in the process of being remodeled, so certain things aren't as handy as they will be when the remodel is done. The pool was closed, the breakfast buffet room had no chairs or tables, but we were provided handy to-go containers to take our food with us back up to our room to eat. And the staff was exceedingly polite and helpful. We also really enjoyed the happy hour each evening with complimentary drinks and snacks. I would definitely return to this hotel - it's sure to be amazing once the remodel is done!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Under construction

Posted Aug 1, 2016
No pool available so we went to a local one instead and got reimbursed. Still not worth it though. Instead of an expected hotel breakfast we had a sorry excuse for tacos. One elevator for the whole hotel. Room service and valet were good. Overpriced for being under construction. Will never go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Under Costruction

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location is very good and the room comfort is what you expect. The staff was excellent!
Cons: The construction is a huge problem. The room was clean, but the carpet needed deep cleaning.
Location: A few nice restaurants nearby.
The hotel is under MAJOR renovations, but still open. The entire lobby is being demolished and there is considerable noise in the halls and common areas. Only one working elevator during the renovations. This was a big disappointment because the hotel usually has such a great open lobby that is relaxing and has nice evening receptions. The room was very nice, but the carpet turned my feet black after walking around in the room for a few hours the first evening. I kept my shoes on after that. The staff was very friendly and tried SO hard to make up for the construction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lenexa, KS

Nice hotel, close to downtown

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We did a day trip to Austin with an overnight stay at Embassy Suites. I happen to call the night prior to see if we may be able to check in earlier. John have us a heads up that he hotel was undergoing a huge renovation and if we were aware. We were not. He was upfront on some inconveniences and by evening it should be less noisy. Checking in, Corey was wonderful and giving us wonderful recommendations to eat and play and the hotel took care of our parking fee AND our entrance fee to Barton Springs because of the inconveniences. The rooms are a great size and beds are comfortable! Will for sure consider this hotel if in Austin again! The remodel looks to be beautiful. Unfortunately, when booking there was no notification of the under construction. Overall, a nice stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction mess

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Location to the city.
Cons: Informing guests of major construction issues prior to booking, offering discounts etc.
It was not disclosed to me at the time of this booking that the hotel was undergoing major renovations. The entire main atrium was closed off on all floors. At time of check in I could not even hear the front desk staff due to the sounds of the jackhammers that were 20 feet away. Furthermore when checking in there was no valet services available, which meant hauling the luggage from the 3rd floor parking garage located behind the hotel. Lastly, the internet did not work at all.