Ratings based on 1,254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

Good location, poor hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The ice machine.
Cons: Air conditioning, paint on walls, lighting, over all cleanness.
Location: Franklyn's BBQ is just a block away, makin it easy to get to for the 6 a.m. line up. 6th street was also and easy 5 blocks away walk.
The hotel had a good location for walking to down town and surrounding areas, which is all that I can say was good about this hotel. It was on the boarder of the lower rent area of Austin however and could be a turn off if you're not comfortable with homeless people. The air conditioning unit was VERY LOUD casuing us to use ear plugs and a pillow over our head to sleep. Light bulbs were missing in the over head fixture causing an all ready dingy room to look even darker. The walls and door had punch holes in them and the paint was instutional green. The pool hadn't been cleaned as towels, leaves and degree were in and around it. The maids stoped making our beds on day 3 and never cleaned the bathroom or sink area the entire stay. I guess you get what you pay for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arlington tx

close to downtown Austin

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: location to downtown
Cons: swimming pool could use some chlorine, water was a little green.
Location: walking distance to downtown Austin Convention Center and 6th street entertainment and food venues.
Very happy with continental breakfast and room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool was a little green is my only complaint. Close to Convention center and downtown walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Good for a short stay.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I had an interview in Austin and needed an inexpensive hotel near downtown to stay at the night before my interview. The Super 8 met my needs. The staff was very helpful. My room was nice, however the bed wasn't overly comfortable and the walls needed to be washed down a bit. But the important areas, i.e. the bed, shower, and sink, were clean and I was comfortable using them. Basically, you get what you pay for here but the location makes it super convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The refrigerator didn't work properly it didn't cool our drinks but thankfully there's free ice outside. Overall, our stay was good. We felt safe and had a good night's sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Older place but decent; better than expected.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Mgr. very nice & accommodating. Being downtown & older place; surprised that room was very decent. Mix of business people and college kids but didn't have any bad experiences during 4-day stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near downtown

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Goed gelegen hotel dichtbij Capitol en 6th street. Fijn zwembad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Actual piles of dirt on the edges in front of tub, towels were stained brown, shower certain rod coming out of wall and almost hit me while showering! The matresses need to be replaced as they are extremely dipped. The pool had black sludge at the bottom, and rolls of toilet paper just sitting on the side for days. If you advertise a continental breakfast, you should have food available until such time. They ran out long before the stated cutoff time almost every morning. The lady at the front desk was very nice. We have stayed 12 nights in super 8's across the country in the past 7 months and we were very disappointed in this particular one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scranton PA

Decent motel at a good price

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Cheap, comfortable, clean and convenient location. Pool was also nice.
Cons: Change towels daily
Location: Short walk to downtown Austin. River walk, State capitol, U Texas and bars on Sixth St are all in walking distance.
A group of us stayed there for five days while we attended a conference at the Austin convention center. It was a 20 minute walk, so we got kind of hot, but the rooms stayed cool and it was great to jump into the pool at the end of the day. Rooms are small but comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good value close to downtown and areas of intere

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Ease of getting around from this location, late checkout and courteous staff.
Second stay at this location for its value and proximity to places I visit. Far enough away from airport but close enough to be convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area, CA

Good price. Clean,pleasant,convenient.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The room was a little small but looked pleasant (not drab at all). Parking was easy and everything was an easy drive. One problem with the faucet reported as we left in the morning was fixed nicely by the time we returned that day.