Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson nz

Beautiful room

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
We were upgraded to a superior suite which was beautiful, with a lovely balcony overlooking the wetland. Staff were friendly but not very professional but we came on the last day of the season which might explain it. Breakfast was very nice but overall quality of food was very average. Although it is an eco lodge it isn't really that remote, with so many boats in everyday. A real shame that the vegetable garden is completely neglected, surely Peppers could get a couple of Woofers in for a season. Outstanding location and that's what you are coming for.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Max Oehler, Hotel Management
Kia Ora fishwife, thank you for the feedback. It's good to read that you enjoyed your upgrade and on of our superior suites. Arriving on the last day of the season is always challenging and as much as we tried to provide the same experience as in the middle of the season, it is hard to get it out of your head after being in the Lodge for a whole season. It's good to read that you think we are not that remote as most vendors and tradies tend to disagree as soon as we need something rather urgently. The vegetable garden indeed got neglected at the end of the season, it was absolutely intended though as there are major changes happening in there over the winter with a re-design due. I hope we can welcome you back next season so you can see it for yourself. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Experience

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: quiet, peaceful, staff so gracious and helpful
Cons: Restaurant was quite good, not exceptional, but I would definitely return to this lodge
Location: Basically great for hiking, we didn't do kayaking. Very beautiful scenery and trails were fabulous and so well maintained
Lovely spacious rooms in ecolodge. Bathrooms great, terrace great. Wonderful location for great hiking Water taxi worked so well!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Max Oehler, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Cheryl, thank you for the awesome feedback. It is certainly appreciated and I especially loved to read about our amazing staff. There are indeed few locations as good as ours for hiking and exploring so I am glad that you enjoyed it to the fullest. We can't wait to have you back and are looking forward to it. Best regards, Max Oehler
4 out of 5
by Mustafa T from Wellington

A luxury place to stay in Abel Tasman Park

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
A remote but very cosy place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable oasis in stunning nature

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful comfort in a beautiful national park scenery. I had some issues with the front desk to confirm booking conditions.
3 out of 5
by Justin from Toronto, Canada

Worth it, ish..

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
The Resort was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The only concern is that we didn't make it to the low tied crossing so we had to take a short flight across to the Resort. !!!!MAKE SURE YOU ARANGE TRAVIL TO THE RESORT!!!! We found the best option was flying with Mit @ Adventure Flights Golden Bay based out of Takaka airport. Mit was great and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this option. Much cheaper and quicker then a water taxi. Be sure to bring some snacks and drinks for the room. Everything closes pretty early and there is nothing around after hours. There is only one restaurant and one bar, just an FYI… Not cheep… Plan accordantly. Beautiful spot for seeing the stars and there is a romantic grow worm area about a 5 min walk from the restaurant. All and all we had a great time. Oh this is very important, check your final bill. We where almost charged an extra $280 when we checked out… Review your bill…
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful location and very welcome after a long day walking the track. The service in the hotel was however not as good as we expected. Service at dinner was slow and our waitress made a mistake in our order. Reception staff were not as helpful as we would have expected.
4 out of 5
by Andrea from Lake Country BC Canad

Time and Tide Wait for No One!

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Loved being in Awaroa again,had stayed there some time ago with friends. Brought another friend as I had raved about experience of park and lodge. We asked about route to Onetahuti beach. I had been there before and because of tides, we had to wade in water to get to beach. That is all part of experience, at that time. I asked about tides and route, and was told they now have bridges so you don't have to walk in water. However, reception never mentioned the actual tides, when high or low tides occurred. We were surprised to arrive at high tide, having assumed reception staff would have told us as we gave them the time we were leaving to walk. We had just arrived, we didn't have info on tides, so it would have been SO helpful for staff to have told us. We were told great way, bridges the beach will be lovely. There was hardly any beach due to high tides......Next time inform your guests!. It would have been so helpful as we could have timed our stay at OBeach to make the most of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secluded, no road access, lots of moskitos

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
Beautifully located in the middle of Abel Tasman National Park. Great to stay at in order to fully experience the park. Bring strong moskito repellent though and make sure you have your transportation planned before you book
5 out of 5
by Doris from New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location and design
Cons: Half of the games have got bits missing
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Fantastic; Service: Flawless; Cleanliness: Gleaming; Privilege to stay in a place designed by the late Sir Ath
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Quaint secluded lodge

Posted Jan 1, 2015
We had a fabulous stay at the lodge. The staff was very helpful and the day hikes in the area are beautiful. Not to mention the food was great. Our only highlight is be aware of the tide schedule. We arrived late and were unable to take a water taxi. This requires us to hike around when the tides were low to get to the lodge.