Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Great place for an extended stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This is complex of ski-style apartments on the edge of town. You have to rent sheets and towels and there is no hotel servicing of rooms. With that in mind, and given the economical rates (esp. out of season), this is a great place to stay. The apartment is quiet, the kitchen small but well appointed, handy balcony for taking the air and a bit of a view, good internet link, and a pretty walk for half a mile along the river to the center of town, which has stores and restaurants (and the leper pool). It is a good place for hiking or soaking up French mountain culture. And the reception folks speak good enough English to make it all manageable without any French.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We only stayed 1 night. This is a great place and town to stay longer! It was nice to have an apartment!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Jean-Pierre, Hotel Management
Hello, all the team of the Domaine de la Vallée d' Ax thank you for your kind review. Best regards
4 out of 5
by sarah

Convenient and friendly hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for skiing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and well equipped except for the bed

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
These basic apartments are clean with a well equipped kitchen. You need to go prepared as there is no washing up liquid or stuff for cleaning floors, no dish cloth or tea towel supplied even if you paid for the optional bedding and towels. The hot water was limited so be careful, I had a decent bath the first night but second night it ran cold fairly soon. The worst thing was the bed which looked like a glorified camp bed. It was actually quite comfortable to sleep on but because there was no settee or easy chair I wanted to lounge on it and as there was no headboard and the bed was so light it slid away from the wall making it impossible to sit comfortably to read. I would say you really need to have your own car as there is a steep footpath leading to the town which I would not fancy in bad conditions, and certainly wouldn't want to go that way with ski gear.There is a bus to the town centre which goes at 8.20, 10.00 and 12.00 but only at weekends or in busy holiday periods. I probably wouldn't stay there again if I could help it, mainly because of the bed but also I prefer to be able to walk to the cable car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

This is a longstay self catering apartment

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Nice balcony, and not expensive.
Cons: An onsite dining facility. A TV that works properly. A (much) more comfortable bed.
Location: Aix-Les-Thermes is pretty. A visit to the thermal springs is nice. And close to the Pyrenees/mountains. I presume very busy in winter, with skiing.
The staff was pleasant on checkin. But as it was self catering, you have to pay extra for (clean) sheets and towels. There is no dining room, you need to go around 1 mile into Aix-Les-Thermes for a restaurant. A nice balcony though.
3 out of 5
by Gautam from usa

not worth it

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
the utensils were not clean. had to pay linen as well beyond the towels which were mentioned.
2 out of 5
by The Travellers from UK

Not for Me

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was basic at best, but not a hotel, it was a room you rent. It had not Free Wifi and what wifi was offered didn't work. One of the beds was dirty and their reaction to this was 'ok'. It was a nice area, but not a place I would stay if it was the last hotel in the land. It was not as advertised and the pictures on line do not show it as it really is.
4 out of 5
by Malcolm from Kent

A good base for a short budget ski trip

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels
The accommodation offered enough space for two adults and three children for 5 nights. We took breakfast to get fresh croissants and bread. We wanted a small French family ski resort in a nice town and no queues for ski lifts. Hotel staff, restaurants, ski hire, ski lift, instructors were all friendly despite our poor French. Drive from Carcassonne was picturesque, although the hair pin bends were less fun in the snow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Self-service studio apt

Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels
This is a new studio apt which does not provide maid service--have to make your own bed and pay extra 3 euro//persoin for towels. Nevertheless, the staff was extremely helpful, and actd like a concierge in a 5 star property. The apts have a small kitchen nice for saving on restaurants. The location is excellent, a couple of blocks from town. Warning, your GPS may not be able to find this place, and signage is poor. It is directly off N20 behind another apt complex just south of centre de ville. Ax-les-Thermes is spectacular, and don't miss the spa, which has the best whirlpools on the planet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Residence MVM Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax

Posted Aug 7, 2010 on Hotels
Our stay was in July 2010 (for the Tour de France)The newest property I have ever stayed in. Very comfortable. Thanks to GoogleMaps and some reviews I already knew that the swimming pool was not completed. The only disappointment. Ax Les Thermes is a lovely place. Perhaps next time we will stay longer.