Ratings based on 2,564 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect base for our city break

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Almost everything!
Cons: If I were to truly "nit-pick", I'd mention that the shower over the bath is a little weak.
Location: Plenty of places to eat, drink, be entertained, buy souvenirs and its less than a 2 minute walk to the Metro giving easy access to the whole city!
My wife and I visited Barcelona for the first time this July (2017) to celebrate her birthday. On previous City Breaks we've tended to utilise apartments rather than full hotels, pretty much as somewhere to sleep and shower - but as this was a special occasion we decided to upgrade a little and grant ourselves a little slice of luxury. H1898 absolutely fit the bill, with an immaculate and plush decor throughout, well presented, kind and knowledgeable staff, and amazing levels of comfort throughout. We used most, if not all, of the facilities including the Spa, the Sauna, the Rooftop pool, the restaurant, and we were not disappointed in any way. Would highly recommend for someone looking to explore the city from a central location - right here on La Rambalas, with plenty of tapas bars and entertainment within just a few paces! Amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel in a excellent postion

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Dont get a room on the 6th level as you hear a lot if noise from furniture being moved around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great stay - fantastic location, beautiful rooms, great amenities, friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San deigo

One of the Best in Europe

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The interior wood floors
Cons: nothing
Location: Great location, walk out your door and close to the ocean, steps from Las Ramblas and so many restaurants. Try the ones off in the alley ways
Air conditioning great, the wood floors makes it feel like being home, warm and a lot of comfort Service great, rooms large and bathrooms up dated. breakfast should be in a food magazine the presentation amazing. Roof top pool and eating area with view great. There was nothing you could find wrong with the hotel and this was our last stop coming from London, Milan, Reggio it was a great way to end our business trip. Would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Australia

Charming location & experience.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Quality feel to the accommodation with such attentive staff
Cons: Noise of underground trains - advise clients of potential disturbance if they are light sleepers to choose a room on higher floors. Simplify lighting.
Location: La Rambla always entertaining. Oldest vegetarian restaurant in Barcelona nearby - Bio centre
Shall be returning to Barcelona & would recommend the special accommodation 1898 provides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Beautiful hotel full of character

Posted Jul 10, 2017
from arrival to departure couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We loved the rooftop pool in the mornings relaxing with a swim and a coffee then in the evenings a cocktail in the rooftop bar. The location was perfect with easy access to everything. Would highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
good location. room comfortable but smelly. staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful hotel. Terrible Staff

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The deck restaurant hostess was incredibly rude to us. On arrival it was suggested we go to the top deck to eat but the hostess would not seat us without reservation but it was empty. Okay but she was so very rude about it. The reception desk would not check us in prior to 3:15 although we arrived from cruise at 10:30. She asked us to check at 1:00. Then at 2:00 then at 3:00 she said I don't know when you room will be ready and she wouldn't check with housekeeping. Another group was put through the same thing as us. I understand the dilemmas but they were incredibly rude about it and treated us as though we did not belong there. Is it that they don't like Americans? Were we not fancy enough for their hotel? What was it that brought on so much rudeness toward us? We were kind and patient. We would not recommend this hotel solely based on the horrible staff The bell luggage boy and reception bartender though were very kind. And if you want the pool it is ice freezing cold. Don't stay here based on the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice boutique hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Great location Excellent service Fantastic roof patio Very cool spa and pool Very comfortable upscale room Beautifully decorated I will stay here again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well positioned Hotel 2 enjoy delightful Barcelona

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Good positioned, lovely Hotel, good atmosphere, nice spa
Cons: 24/7 Room Service
Location: Good for a stroll dow Las Ramblas or to 'hop on' the hop on bus in Place Catalunya
Enjoyed Barcelona immensely and this was the perfect position to see all it's wonders