Ratings based on 2,344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Central location with great staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016
From start to finish staff were friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Facilities were brilliant as was the food and drink. Great location along the Ramblas but only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teltow, Brandenburg

Sauberes Hotel im Herz von Barcelona

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Die Lage war für uns (mich und meine Frau), die zum ersten Mal in Barcelona waren, sehr gut. Mitten in Touristenzentrum.
Location: In La Rambla 109. Hier befinden sich mehrere Restaurants und Einkaufzentren. Auch eine große Frischmarkt (Gemüse , Fisch und Fleisch) ist in der Nähe.
Wir waren ein Bisschen (ca. 30 min.) früher dran, deshalb mussten wir warten bis das Zimmer fertig wurde. Sonst die Check in war reibungslos. Die Personal war höfflich und freundlich. Das Zimmer war sehr Sauber vielleicht ein Tick zu klein Es wurde sogar zweimal(!) am Tag geputzt und aufgeräumt. Trotzdem haben die Putzzeiten mit unseren Zimmeraufenthalten nie Kollidiert. Badezimmer war Sauber, funktionell und alles war vorhanden. Fön, Bademantel, Zahnpaste, Badeschuhe und sogar Rasierklinge mit Rasiercreme. Es gab kein gute Aussicht (Zimmer 405), besser gesagt keine Aussicht, war aber für unserem kurzen Aufenthalt nicht von Bedeutung. Es gibt einen SPA-Bereich und eine Dachterrasse mit Pool und Cocktail-Bar mit einer schönen Aussicht. Das einzige Makel war die Hellhörigkeit des Ganges in Richtung Zimmer. Alles was am Gang passierte könnte sehr gut im Zimmer gehört werden. Alles in Allem ein sehr empfehlenswertes Hotel mitten in Barcelona.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington DC

In the heart of Barcelona

Posted Aug 25, 2016
The spa is free and is incredible. The rooftop pool and bar hosts remarkable views and the hotel is conveniently located right in the heart of Barcelona
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

街で遊ぶには抜群の立地条件

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: 地下のプールが、洞窟みたいな感じで間接照明で、まあジャグジーもあり、感動ものでした。近くにスーパーがあり、なんでもそろうので楽でした。
Location: 地下鉄まで徒歩3分程度。マーケット、スーパー、などどれも徒歩圏内。大通りに面している割には静かな雰囲気のゴージャスなホテルでした。
地下鉄の駅、スーパー、名所など近くて立地条件は抜群。また、屋上と地下にプールがあり、屋上はテラス風でくつろぐように、地下はちょっと汗流して運動したい人向けのジム・プール・サウナなど。摩日利用させていただきました。 部屋のサイズも広めで、バスタブ、冷蔵庫もあり、照明がいくつもあるのが、それぞれに照度を設定できて便利でした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

First class hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
What a perfect midweek break. Staff were wonderful and the room was beautiful with a view of La Rambla. We stayed in 343, a superior room. Thanks to staff for making our stay so memorable. My husband and I appreciated the bottle of cava and note to wish him a happy birthday. What a lovely surprise to come back to. The spa pool is a must as is the rooftop bar. The breakfast was a great start to the day and the views of Barcelona from the roof incredible. Looking forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Smyrna Beach, FL USA

Everything it promised and more!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The elegance, sophistication and inviting decor of the lobby is paired with a friendly, helpful and patient staff.
Cons: More bath towels. We requested two additional sets each day to add to the two sets that were routinely set out.
Location: The location is quite good. The main entrance is on Printor Fourtney, just steps from the Rambla. Taxi stand out front.
Fantastic hotel in a great location. Excellent service. Beautiful rooftop pool and bar with superior bar selections ( do not miss the white sangria) and delicious tapas. The hidden treasure is the cave pool. I could write volumes about the decor, front desk, and service staff - instead I will say if you want to be pampered and impressed, Hotel 1898 is the place for you . ThwRoom 344 fronting on the Rambla: Great view. Quiet except for the faint rumble of some sort of underground transportation. Beautiful bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harvard, IL

This hotel is right in the middle of everything.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The pool on the roof with a view, the spa, excellent buffet breakfast, spacious rooms and a knowledgeable staff that really know the city. Terrific.
Cons: Perhaps extending the hours for the spa.
Location: Located near the high end of Las Ramblas, leave the street and meander through the Gothic neighborhood. Go the other direction and you are in Raval.
Barcelona is a beautiful city and staying at Hotel 1898 made the entire time spent here wonderful. From the moment we walked through the door, we were treated to a grand lifestyle. The receptionist really knew how to coordinate activities that would make the best use of our limited time while in Barcelona. To her, we are most grateful. The entire staff moved like they could read our minds. Everything flowed without a flaw. The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy access to the beach by foot or vehicle. Same for most of the Gaudi sites and neighborhood. The Metro is right at the end of the street, so you can reach out and go anywhere. Dining on the roof until late is a calming and pleasant experience. We never once felt as if we were being pushed. We are already discussing our return to Hotel 1898.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Amazing hotel for 10 year wedding anniversary!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The hotel 1898 in Barcelona is the perfect package. The address on La Rambla is a central location and walking distance to many of the key points of interest in Barcelona. The hotel has beautiful facilities, a lovely pool on the roof, wonderful spa, and superb room service. The hotel offers tea time at 5-7 pm and quiet movies in the lobby, which we used to stay at the hotel for a quiet afternoon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Right in the middle of the action

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The hotel is very nicely situated in the middle of the life of Barcelona. Although the rooms were very quiet. Great location for exploring the best of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Windsor, NJ

Perfectly situated in Las Ramblas

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The decor was great, the pool on the rooftop had great views.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Taxi stands nearby, Small shops and tour bus stop, all within walking distance.
The Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The decor was amazing and the hotel was classy with plenty of amenities. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.