Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West England

Unhelpful And Untrustworthy Staff

Posted Nov 10, 2017
While waiting to check-in I waited 15 minutes while the receptionist assisted a guest with mealtime arrangements and on using the hotel safe. Then the guests friend turned up to be helped with the exact arrangements. They were about to walk away then came back for help, when the receptionist could’ve booked me in. The next day after checking out I called the reception to say I had left my toiletries bag on the bathroom door hook which contained some medication for which I need for cancer treatment, and a vape machine was left in my room. They told me they would call me back. For two days I called the reception and each time I was told they would call me back. I had to arrange an emergency prescription be made available for me to continue my treatment as I was becoming very ill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire England

a hotel of character

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, a comfy bar and close to the centre of Bath
Cons: some nice new carpets in the public areas
Location: At the top of the hill, so easy to walk down to the centre but perhaps a taxi back as the hill is steep
We had bed and breakfast the room was warm and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Comfortable hotel with good facilities. Great location offering lovely views. Friendly staff with clean rooms but beware location of room. As we were by the hallway door so it sounded like someone was actually entering our room each time the hallway door was used. And we were above reception facing car park so were woken early by the noisy coach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Nice hotel close to the town centre.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, proximity to Bath town centre
Cons: The showers, free car parking.
Location: Bath is lovely with plenty of places of interest such as the abbey, the baths and a lovely spa. There are lots of shops and places to eat.
On the whole the stay was good. It is close to the centre of Bath but be aware it is up quite a steep hill from the town. There is a regular bus service if you can't manage the walk however. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the shower which, just being attached to the mixer taps of the bath, was really not great and hardly warm enough. The staff were friendly and helpful so no complaints there. be aware you will have to pay for parking at £8 a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Huge room with king 4 poster bed.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Great view from large panoramic windows at the top of the hill overlooking Bath and the rolling hills beyond. Accessing our room was via tight twisting stairs but once in, very spacious We walked to and from downtown to massive shopping area, the Roman baths and the huge Bath Abbey Excellent on premises dining and Pub. Entirely enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Tired décor.
Cons: Update
Friendly staff , good service , nothing too much trouble . My wife and I spent two night last minute break here ,it was a very enjoyable stay .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This hotel was like a maze where a map route to the 2 rooms we booked would have been helpful. Lots of stairs and very small inconvenient lift. Breakfast unexciting and an added extra not expected from booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Avoid

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The hotel reception staff is not very friendly and the room had a terrible smells and the bathroom is not clean. It is not worth the money. Location is near the centre but steep walk up the hill back. Will not stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Hotel in central position

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: Change the mattress and have an option for a thinner duvet (or a sheet so that one has the option to cover oneself with something less heavy)
Location: Bath city centre is very close with a huge variety of museums, shops and parks. We went to the American Museum which was fantastic
The hotel looks nice and is in a very good central position. The staff were incredibly good, polite and very eager to please. The room looked lovely and after spending the day in Bath we looked forward to a good night's sleep. However, the mattress was reminiscent of a trampoline, so that every time one of us moved, it disturbed the other. The duvet was more fitting for the North Pole in winter - we stayed at the hotel in August! We spent the majority of the night cat-napping on top of the bed rather than sleeping in it. Breakfast was good and the parking was adjacent, but for just under £110 for one sleepless night (incl breakfast and parking), we felt it was not good value for money.
4 out of 5
by Leigh

Great Stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely period Hotel easily within walking distance of the city. Decor is dated but suits the area & building. Very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast fairly basic but more than adequate for a couple of nights stay. Would stop again.