Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget stay in historical area, but nothing more.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is located in a historical area with preserved buildings. The hotel has retro-style decorations though the building is rather new. As a whole it had good atmosphere, and shadow arts performance was nice to see. However, during my stay, there were many kids staying and enjoying various activities till late at night. Soundproofing was so poor that you could hear them from the other side of the building. The room is small but relatively clean considering it is a budget Chinese hotel. It was well kept but never without flies. Hotel staff spoke some English, but you should not expect much. They were all young and sometimes useless as service providers. The biggest problem of the hotel was transportation. Taxis did not want to come near the hotel because the roads around the hotel were so narrow. Even the reception could not get any taxi to come (apparently they only used Uber to call taxis) and told us to walk to the main road to catch taxi. The hotel was not well-known, so that I had to explain direction to drivers at times - rather difficult for non-Chinese speakers. There is no train station nearby either. It may be fine if you travel light, but I would not recommend if you are carrying around big suitcases. Overall, this hotel would be a fine choice if you are seeking experience of staying in the older part of Beijing. If your trip is more than that, you probably should choose somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niort

Hôtel très sympathique un personnel accueillant.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Personnel très disponible, ayant un bon niveau d'anglais pour communiquer.
Cons: Il manque juste une notice en anglais ( ne demandons pas l'impossible) sur le réglage de la climatisation.
Hôtel que je reprendrai lors d'un prochain séjour. A 15 minutes du métro, dans un quartier typique de Beijing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Nettes Hotel, gute Anbindung an Metro,

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Peking war schön, doch zu überlaufen. Man könnte viel mehr sehen aber Karten zur Verbotenen Stadt waren um Mittag ausverkauft. Zug zur Chinesischen Mauer fuhr nicht am dem Tag.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arts and crafts

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pretty good to stay with a Chinese cultural style!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Kleines ruhiges Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Die Angestellter des Hotels waren sehr bemüht es uns recht zu machen waren immer sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
Cons: Schimmel aus den Zimmern entfernen und den Eingangsbereich neu gestalten . Teppich
Location: das Hotel befindet sich in der Altstadt 1 KM entfernt ist die U-Bahn in der Nähe der Trommel u. Glockenturm wie kleine Einkaufsmöglichkeiten
Wir haben leider zu einer falschen Jahreszeit uns dort aufgehalten, es war viel zu heiß und vor allem sehr hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit. Wir konnten daher die Sehenswürdigkeiten dort nicht richtig an sehen. Es war sehr voll und es roch auch nicht sehr angenehm. Was sehr unangenehm für uns Deutschen war, das ständige hochziehen der Rotze wie das Spucken auf der Straße und das Bäuerchen beim essen so schlimm haben wir es uns nicht vorgestellt.
4 out of 5
by Lai yui

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ariane from Montréal, Canada

Très bien! Je recommande cet endroit.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Arriver dans le Hutong est surprenant, mais c'est très bien, quartier typique, sécuritaire et famillial. Les restos et le nightlife à proximité sont très bien.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

In the heart of the older part of Beijing.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Nice staff! It was quiet and I had a very good sleep.
Cons: Breakfast could be a bit more varying...
Location: Most of Beijing's attractions are in near distance.
This is a truly special experience that gives you insights of how Beijing must have been before it grew to a mega city of 26million people. The narrow streets, people walking or just sitting outside their houses, people going per bike or motorbike...the live is on the streets of the old Hutongs. You can reach many of Bejings' attractions within a 15 - 30min walk: Hohai lake, Forbidden City, Behai Park and so on. The hotel is a little jewel in the middle of the Hutongs. I will definitely come back the next time.
5 out of 5
by Annabelle

Great room and amazing service!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
From the time we got to the hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and eager to help us. We got their prior to our check-in time, but they checked our bags so we could go do some sight-seeing prior to our official check-in; we even got to eat breakfast that morning! The next day, the front desk staff was extremely great about helping us contact our tour guide company and even packed breakfast for another couple who happened to be our guide company as well and who was running late that morning. Those little services really added up throughout our stay, and we were very impressed with the staff and quality of the hotel--especially for the very reasonable price for which we booked our stay. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel an would recommend it to anyone and everyone. The only hiccup was that when we checked out, we did so at 5:00am, and we were told that they could not refund our deposit on our credit card until 7:00am that day. When I looked later, there were no issues with the refund, so even this did not bother me!
5 out of 5
by DRSTI from Johannesburg

Fabulous experience!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
we booked at Shichahai because the concept of staying in a Hutong among the locals seemed intriguing and it did not disappoint. the hotel is out of the city center however we had no problems getting around as it is close to a main road. it is also a 5 min walking distance to Honhai Lake which was spectacular and comes alive at night. the room was standard and clean. the bathroom was spacious and toiletries were provided. the booking also allows a free shadow art show which is unique to Chinese culture. the staff really tried to assist even though their English is limited. we did the dumpling course and the chef was very sweet and accommodating. it was overall the experience we wanted.