Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Horrible beds, rude staff and food was an assault

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Bankruptcy would be a great start.
Location: We did everything away from this place. It was bad enough to lay our heads down there.
We came in late on a Sunday night 4:30 PM our room was not ready! I asked about the 3PM check in? Was promptly told nope we're 5 PM Finally 5:20 our room was ready - they shoved us in the dirty dungeon room because we made our reservations trough Expedia! I called to ask if we could switch rooms. Dwayne the manager threw Expedia under the bus and said we always have problems with Expedia reservations! Avoid this place at all costs! It's the room of disappointments! Horrible people! After two hours of arguments they moved us to yet another lackluster view and room was not spotless for the price of this "resort" Shanty Creek lives up to its name.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The wing we were assigned too did not have an elevator. One of our group had ankle surgery and can't do stairs. Hard to believe in 2017 it is legal to not have elevator access
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location; spacious room

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here for a conference in the fall in a 1 bedroom condo. Location was very convenient. Cute small towns nearby. The room was spacious and very comfortable, but very dated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice surprise

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great find! Never been to the area before. We really enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Great views. Unprofessional staff.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Nice room, cool views, neat location.
Cons: Train the staff to be friendlier. Staff the front desk and the room cleaning crews better. All rooms should be ready by check in time.
Location: Great food at Shirley's in Mancelona.
We arrived to the front desk at check-in time only wait in line for 20 minutes. After waiting in line the desk clerk told us that our room wasn't ready. She was friendly enough, but unapologetic. I asked if I could speak to a manager and was told that he would be in the following morning. The next morning I spoke to the front desk manager, Bob, and he excused it away saying there were a lot of guests checking in, we reserved through Expedia so nothing was guaranteed, and there wasn't anything he could do. I thought this was poor customer service, especially for as much as they charge per night. I felt they should've at least comped us a meal, but I'd a been happy with an apology and a free hat or something. They definitely know how many guests are checking in and out. Staff accordingly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condo

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The beds were horrible , the toliet was too low, the furniture was old and out darted, it was musket smelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warren mi

Nice room

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice large room. This hotel offers lots of different activities including swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, spa, games, giant jenga, and bike rentals. The food in the restaurant was delicious, but the service was on the slow side. All in all a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Very nice resort with great access to the Bellaire shops and Glacial Hills trails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The views out the windows, comfortable seating and a comfortable bed.
Cons: Signage was terrible. We couldn't find where to check in at first. They should have a huge sign pointing the way to registration for the hotel.
Location: We visited the Grass River nature area, which we also had trouble finding.
We were only in our condo one night, but it was very comfortable and had wonderful views of the hillside. We had noisy neighbors who were singing and "woohoo"ing late into the night, so sitting on the deck was not really an option. Also, it was a long trek to our room from our car, up and down steps. Bad for my knees, but doable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Hotel staff was very pleasant. Food was very good. Would recommend when traveling up north.