Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from camp

Very cozy hotel just went out of season for golf

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Shanty Creek was definitely an eye-opener for nature lovers. Sits on a Arnold Palmer design golf course one of the prettiest ones in the country. They had just closed down the golfing so there wasn't a lot for me today but I wasn't there for me I was there from my fiancé and my seven-month-old son we wanted somewhere to relax and have a serene setting for October rolling into Halloween weekend. Only 30 miles from Traverse City we had a nice quaint drive down to torch Lake and then made our way into the town of Traverse City. All of the food in the area was amazing and the cherry pie will be the best you have ever eaten in your life at the store call Cherry Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Michigan City

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The only negative was finding the resort at night. No street lights or extra signage to assist in guiding you. The morning buffet was great- Chef makes an amazing omlette!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaner rooms, better towels
Did not have a room clean I requested, house keeping gone home, towels were like 80 grit sand paper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael from Fort Wayne

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Difficult to follow signs on property to destination and parking was hard to find. Rooms and facilities including breakfast were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leslie from Milan, Michigan

Gorgeous area, room clean & comfy but a bit dated

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Shanty Creek was a great getaway spot - it's a remote but absolutely beautiful location. Gorgeous trees, golf courses, lots of open space. Just right for Michigan color tour, golf or skiing. There are several areas to the resort and some looked nicer than ours. Ours was in the hotel area and the room looked a bit "tired", although it was very clean and comfortable. The balcony was great, too. It looked over the parking area, but there are lots of trees and privacy. Room service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleen from Michigan

Shanty Creek is wonderful!

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We have stayed at Shanty Creek many times over the years and are never disappointed! Our room was very comfortable. We had a one bedroom condo with a spacious living room/dining area with a real working fireplace. The unit even had a stacking washer and dryer. We stayed ther the last night of an 8 night trip across the country. It was a great way to end our vacation.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Buthul from Oak Brook, IL

Dirty and old.

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was filthy and we were scared to say anything. Honestly everyone came home sick and it was due to the hotel being so dirty. We wanted to leave, but everything elsa was booked. Seriously it was so dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Noel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Cons: Continental breakfast or lower the price.
The hotel was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. We thought there was a continental breakfast, but found out breakfast was $13.00 per person. That was ridiculous high, so we went to the store the night before & bought a box a cereal, milk & bowls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daniel

Elevator access

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
The only complaint would be no elevator access directly to the second floor. We had to carry our baby's stroller and baggage up a short flight of stairs.