Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

What a find! Excellent value.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Our family was in Binghamton for a college visit, and the chain hotel we'd used before was booked. Thank goodness! It gave us an opportunity to find Traditions! Gorgeous view, elegant setting, friendly staff. Our room was comfortable with great pillows and lotions from the spa in the updated bathroom. Nice dinner at a fair price in the tavern. We chose to have dinner rather than go to the spa, but maybe we'll do that next time. The most unique feature is the setting: a former IBM meeting center up in the hills, with a beautiful golf course and hiking trails on site. We took a brisk walk to enjoy the fall colors in the morning. This region of NYS must have really been something before all those jobs disappeared. We only stayed 1 night, but would go back for a weekend to enjoy it again. If you're in the area, skip the boring places near the highway. Let the wonderful staff at Traditions treat you to an elegant experience for nearly the same price!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Historic, renovated hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Excellent staff, good food, used to be IBM's old "Homestead". Loved the history of the place and it's so nice that it is now booked for weddings. Rooms are small but very clean. Would stay there again. Salt Spa is on premises too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Loud

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
I may be an unusual case but I had a horrible stay at this hotel. We were given an extremely tiny dingy dark room right near the spa entrance so it was loud and people were entering and exiting constantly. I might have well stayed at a motel 6. The room had a strange smell and immediately kicked up my allergies, which I only get from dust. The room hardly fit a king size bed and there was only one small desk chair to sit on. The bathroom had a shower and no tub. 3 of the washcloths that were in our bathroom had makeup stains on them. There was a wedding going on the first night of our stay and it felt as though the whole hotel was only open for the wedding. We decided to go out for the night since the facility was not available to us so we asked the man at the front desk for suggestions. He was unable to provide any suggestions except for a dive bar down the street. He also continued to recommend the hotel's options which were clearly not open for our use. For the price I paid this hotel was a joke. I will most definitely not be returning.
2 out of 5
by christina from Philly

Brick beds

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was hard and lopsided. On the website it says they have premium pillow top mattresses- that is a lie. The facilities are beautiful but the rooms are old and outdated unless of course you get one of the more expensive rooms that is not even offered on the hotels.com website. It is a crime that after such a terrible stay at the hotel doesn't offer you a refund, hotels dot com doesn't give you a refund, you're kind of just out of your money. Do yourself a favor stay at the Marriott down the road or the Microtel. The only upside is that the staff is wonderfully kind and excessively helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth from East Greenbush, NY

Truly a lovely place.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
I met four friends from all over New York Stay at mutual spot. This hotel had great access to highway and close to several restaurants (10 mins drive). We had spa treatments and it was lovely. The therapist I had was one of the best massage therapists I've had. We truly enjoyed ourselves. Lovely place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Traditions was a wonderful location, peaceful and incredibly friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be planning another stay soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Room was too hot. We turned on the air conditioning but it only got the room temperature down to 74 degrees vs. the 78 degrees we walked into. Bed and pillows were also way too soft so we didn't get much sleep. The room was clean though and hotel seemed nice. Our stay was short. Wished we could have explored more. The grounds looked nice.
3 out of 5
by Shawn

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Room was tiny
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TINY room

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Location: Johnson City, NY
Room was the smallest one I've ever stayed in in a motel/hotel. There wasn't even a small refrigerator or microwave in the room. The price for the one night that we were there was $172.00 when all the charges were added. In the room the guest services book stated that there was a free continental breakfast. When we asked the girl at the desk she very snotty stated that it was not included with our room and we could purchase it for $10.95 each. With the price for that TINY room seems the least they could do is include a continental breakfast.