Ratings based on 1,485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was just convenient

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Convienence to the train stations.
Cons: Wifi in all the rooms.
Location: Shopping. Lots of shopping. It's in the middle of a large shopping mall.
For a hotel close to the two train stations and a short walk to the Birmingham Coach Station, this would be the hotel of choice. Other than that, we probably would have chosen a less expensive hotel. There's really nothing to it. We also chose it for it's online price (the price at the hotel is a wee bit high) and because we stayed in Nottingham's Britannia and thought it might be just as nice. Disappointed when we found it wasn't. As for clean, yes but there was a silver fish in the bathtub. Hotel Facilities, though they advertise wifi, not in the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oldham

Gone downhill

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Kept having to go back to reception to have door card reprogrammed Rooms only serviced every other day Had to have towels delivered when I needed them Cobwebs in corners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel, a bit tired

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Hotel could do with a refresh, friendly staff. This time I stayed round the front in room 621 which had a draft from the non double glazed balcony windows. Have stayed here before a few times now so still like it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Not the best but ok for one night socket didn't work so had to use socket in wardrobe, double bed with uncomfortable middle more like two singles joined together, didn't bother with breakfast due to being £10 plus for one person, have key cards so all you heard all night was banging doors .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northan

Convenient

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Although it was close to station the hotel needs a lot of tlc very noisy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Ok, very old. Needs a huge renovation Staff were ok. Told the maid to come back later but she didn't. There was a bottle under our bed that had been left from people before us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Perfect location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Perfect for our stay. On the main shopping street and just by the bullring
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Would not stay here again.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
I had to change rooms as the toilet was broken, there was Mould all over the bathroom and the heat was ridiculous but there was no air con or anyway to cool it down. The second room was the opposite with the heat and was like sleeping in the North Pole, so no happy medium. Even the second day we had the heating on full when we were out and yet when we tried to sleep it was still freezing. There was also still Mould in the bathroom, and half of the plugs didn't work so only one of us could charge our phone at a time. Would not recommend staying here at all. Our friends were across the road at the premier inn and checked to see if there were any rooms available for us and the staff knew straigh away we were at the Britannia as they always have people moving across as they can't stand the room. DO NOT BOOK
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel and staff have to be modernized...

Posted Jan 7, 2016
The first thing to do for a receptionist is to satisfie our requests... it is unbelieveble don t keep our luggages after our check out... I have never seen them smiling... you ld be happy to work in hotel... if you don t like it change job ;)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissatisfied

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Hotel staff very very rude. Noise was ridiculous. The room was dusty and toilet seat had excrement. Very dissatisfied and would rather pay the extra book into somewhere decent. Only good thing is the location and localities to shops, bars and food places.