Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Train station.

Posted May 14, 2016
Very convenient to train station. Good value clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham uk

Double check what room you select.

Posted May 12, 2016
During check in I was informed of what room I had. No direction as to restaurant or bar or anything about the amenities of the hotel. Just two keys and the number. No map to where my room was located. I had to wander the maze of the floor to find my room! Felt tucked away in a dungeon! Also, I had picked a superior room which turned out to look exactly like a guestroom/double per photos on expedia. Not what I expected! Smallest room! Just enough to space to put a double bed. 13 inch TV (I was surprised it was flat not one of those old tube tvs). One phamlet about room service but no info on how to contact front desk or restaurant or anyone except a card under glass outlining the extra costs to call outside the hotel. Not helpful! No information! No guide! So if you want to feel tucked away and forgotten with no contact with outside world, this would be perfect!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Hotel not a place to stay at

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Staff was not interested in helping anyone was very rude . ask to get help in getting my cab for ride to airport they told they couldn't help me I had to use the phone booth out side the hotel which didn't work had to walk to train station . The restaurants was a joke there you paid 12 dollars for a Buffet which only had 4 items to pick from which was not good was not offer drinks had water on tables. the room was real small had very small TV one comfortable chair to set in the setting room twin bed was comfortable but no TV in the room for such small room had two full size bathrooms that was a plus . but people party all nite and couple next to us was fighting all nite ask for a wake up call didn't get it so my advice don't stay here
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016
badkamer- de kraan water blijft lekken terwijl dicht gedraaid is... en de douche knop deed het niet goed... badkamer dus niet ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location, in need of refurbishment

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Service was slow, the whole hotel desperately needs investment to bring it up to standard
Location: Great location - lots of arts and culture on the doorstep
Overall quite disappointing as the whole hotel had a shabby feel - threadbare carpets in the room, cracked paintwork, old facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Zentrale Lage

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Lage
Zentrale Lage direkt in der Fußgängerzone und am Bahnhof New Street. 20 Min. mit der Bahn entfernt von Flughafen & Messe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and tired

Posted Mar 12, 2016
The only positive thing I could have to say about this hotel is its location and proximity to the station and bullring shopping centre. The decor is very dated and the rooms are basic with an unusual aroma, and if you're unfortunate enough to be given a room overlooking the high street then take ear plugs - the windows don't prevent much noise coming through, so you'll be woken early by the clatter from the street below. The walls are also paper thin, being able to clearly hear conversations between people in the room next door, along with the continual plugging and un-plugging of electrical equipment. I'm not normally a fussy eater, but the buffet breakfast wasn't even a redeeming feature of this hotel - to the point where I just couldn't eat it, and found somewhere else to eat. Having said that, the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. If you want a cheap no frills hotel (and you are a deep sleeper) then this may just fit the bill - but at a cost of >£100 a night, I expect more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was very central.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Very central and friendly.
Cons: A thorough deep clean and replacement windows. ie double glazing. House keeping is not obvious every day. is this due to being run on minimal staff?
Location: If you want a shopping spree this hotel is ideal as it is minutes away from the Bullring. Cinema opposite and good selection of places to eat.
plumbing (toilet) and eletic's (kettle) were an on going problem. Did not appreciate that we could not get into our room on return at 10 pm, after a long day had to return to reception for another set of cards.
3 out of 5
by Rachel

just ok

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
All we needed was a room for one night in central Birmingham and this hotel met all our needs. Convenient location, excellent price and the choice of rooms we required. Yes it's looking tired and would benefit from a referb but for us it was fine, clean, comfortable and close to where we needed to be.
2 out of 5
by Neil from London

Poor breakfast good location

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good location but staff are a bit too unfriendly for a hotel. Breakfast service is very poor, as staff serve each other first so believe it or not...we had to wait 20mns for our turn in fried eggs! Other trays were always empty & you have to ask for it, we didn't bother. Waste of £15. Lots of places to eat around hotel for fraction of price with decent service. Hotel breakfast not worth it.