Ratings based on 916 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Will be back!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Overnight getaway. Very impressed with everything. Cocktails and appetizers were exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Michal Lloyd, Hotel Management
Randy, Thank you for visiting the Modern Hotel and Bar. Happy trails. Michal Lloyd Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Very clean hotel within walking distance to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Kerry, Thank you for review. Our staff works hard to make sure our rooms are clean and inviting for our guests. Thank you for staying at the Modern Hotel. We look forward to your return. Best, Michal -- hotel manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Modern and Hip hotel in the heart of Boise

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: You can tell they spent time & money and cared about the refurbishment of this property. The accommodations are very modern and make the price point very attractive. The amenities provided are also very nice. The restaurant has great food with a dynamic menu that is locally sourced and changes frequently. The bar has unique, craft cocktails and if you don't see something you like, the bartender will make something delicious for you. The staff is super friendly - check in, bar and restaurant - all get a thumbs up from me. They also have very nice fire pits in the front with tables and chairs for relaxing in the evening.
Cons: This is a great property. It still had a motel-ish vibe to it which I'm not 100% comfortable with but overall it was a nice property.
Location: This is just a couple block away from lots of local shops and restaurants & the heart of downtown Boise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Mimmachine, Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Michal Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, United States of America

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Wonderful staff! Recommended a room based on our preferences, and checked a couple of times to make sure everything was up to our expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

clean, comfortable, and cool

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Conveniently located in boise not far from airport and downtown.
A very hip update to an old motel. The rooms are attractive and very clean. The bathroom is roomy, conveniently designed and very clean. The bed is very comfortable. They have bikes you canborrow, a nice lounge attached, and an ever evolving festival if short films on the tv. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, United States of America

What an unexpected delight!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything, top to bottom.
Location: Right in downtown Boise near all the restaurants, bars, and clubs. If you're in town for a game, Boise State isn't that far either.
When I pulled up, I didn't expect the quality and comfort that the this hotel had. The room was so up to date with design and style. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I could have laid there all day. The bathroom/shower reminded me of something that comes out of a catalog. The staff is super friendly and accommodating, both at the front desk and restaurant/bar. Starting with a welcome gift when I arrived and then when I asked for a late check out, there was no problem at all. The food and drinks are inventive and so amazing! If I could give it a 10 star rating, I would. Can't wait to come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decide whether you want to be a bar or a hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Nice to see a modernized Travel Lodge. The design and updating was great.
Cons: Bar; the lack of concern for guests as to the noise level of the bar. Recommendation for breakfast didn't include Big City-across the street & YUM!!!
Positives - Very friendly and helpful staff; good, clean room and lobby; location close to downtown; bikes available for use by hotel guests. Negatives - We had a room right above the bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Loud noise level until after midnight. Even though we were given earplugs, had a hard time sleeping. Either the rooms around the bar should not be utilized on popular nights or the bar area should be moved to another area. We did try the bar after reading several positive reviews on it - Drinks were VERY different. Hard to find something that we liked and there were 4 of us. Before serving a drink, if there is something unique about it, i.e., beer with carbonation resembling champagne, the server should tell you that at the time of ordering. Would not go back to the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Michal , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you felt we have a tidy hotel and you enjoyed the bikes. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the bar, especially since we are in this together—the bar and the hotel. We used to have music in the courtyard and we’ve had our share of events that gathered a lively crowd. Now we email our guests that if they prefer to be away from the action, they should request a quiet room away from the bar. I admire what our bar and restaurant staff has created. They have challenged me personally-- a gal who likes a good burger and a beer -- to try something new. They are always changing the menu to include local ingredients and original selections. So I recommend following their lead, as you might find a new favorite. Incidentally, they usually take back any item you aren’t satisfied with. The staff at the Modern Bar strives for excellence. I’m sorry we didn’t hit it off with you this time, but come back and go on another adventure with us. Warm Regards, Michal Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Loved the hotel! Super close to downtown so you can walk to all the restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Nice looks

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The mid century modern decor and the downtown location.
Cons: Water pressure.
The place looks great and the staff is very attentive and helpful. The shower was confusing to work and had low water pressure. Comfy beds. There is a problem with kids cruising their cars along the street behind the hotel but if you complain, they call the cops and the kids clear out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tamarack, ID

Great Place!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The fresh outlook on hospitality and the innovative approach to the whole facility. It is a warm place to stay and the customer service is excellent.
I always stay while I am in Boise. From the restaurant to the rooms this is a no brainier for me. You all do a great job!