Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean, and comfortable

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet. Central location.
Cons: Wifi did not work in my room.
Location: Short walk to Prudential mall, Copley Square, Newbury Street, and a multitude of restaurants.
Tidy older hotel, convenient to Back Bay locations and public transportation. As a business traveler on a budget, it was a great choice for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2016
Quiet location. Good size room and bed. Small bathroom. Old tube TV
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Needs updating !

Posted May 1, 2016
Tub porcelain was chipping, very sharp edges. Brown water! And you hit your head on a glass shelf trying to flush the toilet Hallways very musty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but that's about it.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Only thing that was nice was the location.
Cons: Cleanliness. Staff friendliness. Elevator. Lighting. The smell...
Location: The hotel is in a great location. Located near Trinity Church, Copley Square and Copley Station. Parking garage is directly next to the hotel.
Hotel is rather gross and unappealing. Only selected this hotel because it was our last resort due to all other hotels in Boston being sold out. The elevator is just days away from breaking and the lights flickered and others wouldn't light up. The hotel had a bad smell to it. The room was not clean. Scratches on the wall, paint falling off, holes in the drywall, cracks throughout. The bathroom was gross with mold in the tiles, shower/tub would shift and creek when you moved. The bed would sink into the middle but that is the least of the worries. Next time when there are no rooms available anywhere in Boston, I'll just find a parking garage and pay $40 to sleep in my car vs staying at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Convenient Location

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The proximity to Boyslton and Back Bay.
Cons: It could be updated.
Location: Stones throw away from Boylston Street. Close to Boston Common, shopping on Newbury, walking distance to Fenway
This hotel is in a convenient location - close to many amenities and sites. Unfortunately it is quite old and run down, also in a bit of an undesirable location. I was nervous walking back to the hotel in the evenings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Bathrooms needed renovating. They were very outdated and the shower looked very worn out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
This is the hotel that time forgot. It's a lovely building, but with rooms that are out of date, dingy, and run down. No vintage charm here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for Boston Common area

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Business center - had to use this as this is the only place where WiFi works.
Cons: Too many things
Location: Just off Stuart Street a few blocks from Boston Common - lots of things nearby (can walk to Fenway)
Stayed several nights at this hotel because it was close to a convention. The hotel has definitely seen better days - room was pretty shabby and a faint smell of dampness about the place. Generally the property needs some TLC. Hotel says it has free WiFi but don't be fooled, this only works in the reception area and the business center (which is actually quite good). Hotel was reasonably priced but I would stay somewhere else in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boston Common Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Hotel has a convenient location in Back Bay. The staff members are helpful and cheerful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Apr 8, 2016
While the hotel staff was mostly friendly (front desk staff were very nice), the overall conditions of this hotel were very disappointing. It is ripe for a refurb. The location is very convenient to anything in the Copely Square area, but when the taxi drops you off in an alley, it is a bit unnerving.