Ratings based on 1,601 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean, good location but loud

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was fine, but you can practically hear the person breathing next door, the walls are extremely thin
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

avoid at all costs!!

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
checked out after less than 1 hour
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, cozy, affordable, no parking hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a good price and a great location. Rooms were cozy but clean and quiet. The beds and pillows weren't the most comfortable - they could really upgrade their pillows. Enjoyed the free wifi and cable as well as the bar downstairs. They have no designated parking for their guests which proved to be an issue if you are driving into this area as the only other options are the extremely limited visitor parking on the street - only on weekends - or a parking garage, most of which are located a few blocks away. Again, this isn't very convenient if you have bags or are dealing with cold or rainy weather.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Additional charge on my card

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Overall inattentiveness leads to an overcharge on my card. Wifi does not work if you need to do business you can't even purchase an upgrade. Staff viewing inappropriate photos behind the desk. Room walls and doors paper thin; you can hear chatting and cell phones through the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Property is long in the tooth

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
I have been staying here for 6 years, an average of 3-4 times a year. This is mainly due to it's excellent price & great location on the South End. This will be my last stay as the property is grrqtly in need of renovation and some basic cleanliness. Beds are well worn, soft and gross. Showers smell like mildew and heating/AC are substandard. The pillows and linens have not been change in 6 years (incredibly gross), as the sheets are threadbare and worn from so many washings. My sheets had gum stuck to them. There is one iron & ironing board to share for the entire hotel which doesn't work for me as a business traveler. Like I said, the place had been acceptable for the price in the past, as hotels are often scarce in Boston during conference season, but the property is in serious need of attention from the owners. Cleanliness has always been marginal here, but after my last stay this week, it has slipped to unaceptable levels for me. Avoid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very decent place

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Great Back Bay location. Very close to shopping, the River, convention center, etc.
Great location and older, but cute little hotel. Only real complaint is that the room was really stuffy and I was unable to adjust the temp. I asked the front desk to check it and they made it slightly better, but I didn't sleep well because of it. It's also very loud at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Loud, small, uncomfortable

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Right next to a major highway.
Not recommended unless you're looking for something close to a youth hostel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice location and good experience...

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Good room for the price and relative walking distance to everything downtown Boston...the bar were numerous and friendly. The hotel has a restaurant/bar downstairs that was always busy...outstanding food!!!! I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unassuming hotel in a nice convenient neighborhood

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Chandler Inn Hotel was a pleasant place to stay for 3 nights in October. It is conveniently located near the Back Bay Orange line T Station which also serves commuter rail and buses. It is not far from other stops as well. To get there from the station you walk around the block down a brick sidewalk past rows of brown stones. The outside of the hotel is nothing to look at and the lobby is small and worn. The rooms by contrast are up to date, modern and have an appealing minimalist style. The linens were comfortable, the mattress firm. The room was not large and might be a little cramped for two if you planned on spending a lot of time in it. There was one chair and my kingsized bed. The bathroom is small with only a tiled shower. Definitely not a room for lounging but good for sleeping, in general. "In general" because I was on the second floor and could hear some occasional street noise - mostly in the morning. The street was not busy but there were some trucks backing up periodically. Really not much of a problem. Saturday night however the hotel bar had some pounding dance music that went past midnight. Being on the second floor this could be heard easily but did not interfere with my sleep as I was up late watching football. A third floor room or above would solve this problem. I did not try the restaurant. The bar is best categorized as a sedate neighborhood gay bar. If this bothers you, you might choose another place, but the drinks are good and the patrons polite.