Ratings based on 1,993 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: location and the shuttle
Cons: completely renovations as quickly as possible
Location: We went to Harvard Square and Kendall Square and Fenway for the Notre Dame Football Game.
The shuttle drivers were excellent and prompt and very nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel in need of renovation.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
This is an older hotel in Cambridge just a short shuttle ride from Harvard and the subway stop for train to Boston. The hotel staff was friendly and the bellmen were excellent. However, we found hair in the bathroom shower when we arrived and the room was not very clean. The facilities were not up to standards for a Hyatt Regency. There was no desk in the room and no place to work.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler


Posted Nov 17, 2015
My room was downgraded because I had a dog. The room was to close to the kitchen vents.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel on the river close to MIT

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Location is great, on the river and running/bike paths, walking distance from MIT and right across the river from Boston
Cons: Minor upgrades to rooms. Last time I stayed, some of the dresser drawers and closet doors were a bit warped and room thermostat didn't work too well
Location: On the river and running/bike paths. Walking distance to MIT campus, short ride to Harvard and Boston
Good hotel but showing its age, there's some signs of deterioration in the rooms and hallways
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Extremely misleading publicity material

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Very disappointing hotel. The title suggests all rooms overlook Boston. But they don't. Ours overlooked the ugly (and overpriced) hi-rise car park. The pool is beautifully and misleadingly photographed. It is not at all luxurious. Instead it is very municipal inside. The doorman and shuttle driver though are lovely and could not be more helpful. So, nice staff but very poor hotel experience. Never again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

A Gem in Cambridge

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: You can't beat this location--MIT and Harvard are right there and they offer a free shuttle to Harvard Square. Anything you need, just ask.
Cons: I'd add small refrigerators to the rooms.
Location: MIT, Harvard, Museum of Science...you name it. Also, you can walk or run along the Charles River for miles--It's the best spot in Cambridge.
I know Boston very well, as I lived there 30 years ago, and return every year for various reasons. The Hyatt in Cambridge hit all the high notes on my list of what I'm looking for when I travel. We arrived very early in the day..9:30 a.m. and were pleased to see on sight parking garage to the right of the entrance. We were also pleasantly surprised to be greeted by each and everyone we passed by. We didn't think our room would be ready that early..but it was. Check in was a breeze. Room was great...terrific view, clean and comfy bed. The only thing missing was an in room fridge. There was a nice set up for tea/coffee that was sanitary and not a Keurig type. Despite the "open" concept of the floors, our room was very quiet and not near the elevators. The restaurant was fantastic. I have several dietary restrictions and this restaurant made it a breeze to eat clean. The menu was labeled with vegan, gluten-free and even had a specific menu for healthy choices you could customize--It was perfect. Our waiter, Phillip, was fantastic and breakfast the next morning was great--the staff is obviously well-trained in how to treat customers.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great hotel on the river

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: The only thing I would have liked would have been a Jacuzzi in the pool area
We were up for the Head of the Charles. This is a great location near the start of the course. The shuttle the hotel provided was perfect for our plans to watch races and explore the city. Staff was very friendly and helpful and we really had a great time. No complaints!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEWANEE, TN


Posted Oct 9, 2015
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

simply worn out 1988 hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: gym, paint, wallpaper, parking garage, bathroom, no hot tub, carpet....just worn out
Location: close to universities, downtown.
Overpriced for the experience. Décor from 1988, generally worn out and dilapidated. Gym was really weak, no hot tub, hotel worn out, room ok, $38 overnight parking was excessive, location was good.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with good facilities

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Most things were excellent and desk staff were helpful.
Cons: Most staff customer oriented except gym staff who spent the morning of 29th September moaning about their work. 2 reported but unresolved issues.
Location: Lovely walks along the Charles river. Harvard square, Kendall square and good range of shops. Easy to get into Boston town centre.
First time in Boston and great location with ease of using shuttle bus to 2 excellent Squares. Subway system very easy to use and shuttle bus drivers (Pat Power) very helpful. Comfortable room, with drinks maker. Good equipped gym and pool, just need staff who are interested in their customers instead of using the equipment themselves. Restaurant staff extremely courteous and high standard of service, especially Marianne.