Ratings based on 1,669 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Jan 16, 2018
We have stayed here before and tonight was troubling! We had to complain multiple times about the noise from rooms on the same floor. There was multiple parties going on. If that wasn't enough we had no hot water and when we complained about it to the hotel staff they couldn't care less.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlestown

review

Posted Jan 6, 2018
The beds and bathroom were not very clean and the drawers on the dresser were broken. The TV wasn’t working properly and I asked for batteries for my remote multiple times and never got them. They continues to tell me they were “on the way”. I even visited the desk in person to ask for them and eventually went to 7/11 to buy some.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

The hotel was good in location, but horrible

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Missing stuff, left over garbage that didn’t belong to us, faucet wouldn’t stop leaking, water was gross, only give you a sheet and a light blanket. For some reason the room service would leave our windows wide open every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, ME

Nothing Fancy

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Very reasonably priced.
Cons: No AC, which for some folks could be an issue. Windows do open.
Location: Location is close to Boston and a very short ride to the North End. Old Ironsides is just down the street and the Freedom Trail runs right by.
Good for a one-night stay, although I suspect many guest are for extended stays. It's a little tricky to get to and parking is off site. Front desk staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Whereas the hotel is a refurbished navy barracks, the expectations should be modest and as such the hotel rooms are set up with a medium sized refrigerator, two beds, counter, cabinets and a microwave. Very modest. There is a YMCA fitness room located on the first floor off the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Hotel staff were great, easy check in and check out. Great location - would definitely stay at this hotel again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

It's off the beaten path

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Relatively quiet area
I feel like this hotel should do some investing in a renovation. It needs to be updated and a good cleaning. The beds are not comfortable and no matter what we did to the thermostat, our room was blasting hot and had to keep a window open all the time. The cleaning staff should have known we were staying two nights, We tidied our room and put our bags out of the way in the closet, but the cleaning people threw out my personal bathroom stuff that I had left in the shower--I was not happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast United Kingdom

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Very easy to get to by taxi. Staff very helpful Room spacious and comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 night stay - bad coffee experience

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Less expensive, but unfortunately you get what you pay for.
They never cleaned the coffee pot or replaced the coffee I used day one. When I checked out at 7:00 AM, they did not have any coffee available in the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Clean, Very Modest hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was pleasant.
Cons: Well first of all we should not have had a handicapped room having booked 3 months prior. They should get some hand towels.
Location: The US Constitution and Bunker Hill are close by.
Boston is very expensive in the fall. This is a very basic hotel in a quiet neighborhood close to Bunker Hill. If you just want a place to sleep that is safe and comfortable and not too far from downtown then this will work. There are not a lot of places to eat close by but there is a convenient 7-11. I was surprised to find out that there was a shelter on the second floor, especially at the price we were paying per night. They did not have hand towels and gave me wash cloths when I asked for some. The air unit can only do heat or air so you have to have whatever the hotel is using at the time. They did bring us lovely blankets to help with the chill so it was quite comfortable. We were given a handicapped room explaining they were full but I had booked over 3 months earlier. We were able to walk the Freedom Trail picking it up at near by Bunker Hill. The rest of the time we used Uber. The staff was nice. It is an OK, less expensive alternative to staying in Boston.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Basic Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The location. It's close to the water and Charlestown and very very walkable. Walked to Bunker Hill Monument. At we walked into North End as well.
Cons: Maybe have a place to buy drinks etc. in the lobby? The pool smell is pretty strong.
Location: Bunker Hill Monument, the Constitution, Pier 6 Restaurant (with a great view!), Charlestown, Warren Tavern, even North End not that far away.
This is a little out of the way, but it is a nice location because it's quiet, historical and close to Charlestown, which is wonderful. Also close to the water and a beautiful view of the city. Very walkable. It's located in the Old Navy Yard. We passed by the Constitution firing its guns and raising the flag early in the morning. It was beautiful. There are good restaurants close by too. The hotel is kind of basic, but the room is spacious. There isn't any breakfast or place to eat in the hotel and the downside is the pool that makes the halls smell like chlorine. If you're looking for a reasonable, quiet place to sleep, this is a good option.