Ratings based on 1,672 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 night stay - bad coffee experience

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Less expensive, but unfortunately you get what you pay for.
They never cleaned the coffee pot or replaced the coffee I used day one. When I checked out at 7:00 AM, they did not have any coffee available in the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Clean, Very Modest hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was pleasant.
Cons: Well first of all we should not have had a handicapped room having booked 3 months prior. They should get some hand towels.
Location: The US Constitution and Bunker Hill are close by.
Boston is very expensive in the fall. This is a very basic hotel in a quiet neighborhood close to Bunker Hill. If you just want a place to sleep that is safe and comfortable and not too far from downtown then this will work. There are not a lot of places to eat close by but there is a convenient 7-11. I was surprised to find out that there was a shelter on the second floor, especially at the price we were paying per night. They did not have hand towels and gave me wash cloths when I asked for some. The air unit can only do heat or air so you have to have whatever the hotel is using at the time. They did bring us lovely blankets to help with the chill so it was quite comfortable. We were given a handicapped room explaining they were full but I had booked over 3 months earlier. We were able to walk the Freedom Trail picking it up at near by Bunker Hill. The rest of the time we used Uber. The staff was nice. It is an OK, less expensive alternative to staying in Boston.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Basic Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The location. It's close to the water and Charlestown and very very walkable. Walked to Bunker Hill Monument. At we walked into North End as well.
Cons: Maybe have a place to buy drinks etc. in the lobby? The pool smell is pretty strong.
Location: Bunker Hill Monument, the Constitution, Pier 6 Restaurant (with a great view!), Charlestown, Warren Tavern, even North End not that far away.
This is a little out of the way, but it is a nice location because it's quiet, historical and close to Charlestown, which is wonderful. Also close to the water and a beautiful view of the city. Very walkable. It's located in the Old Navy Yard. We passed by the Constitution firing its guns and raising the flag early in the morning. It was beautiful. There are good restaurants close by too. The hotel is kind of basic, but the room is spacious. There isn't any breakfast or place to eat in the hotel and the downside is the pool that makes the halls smell like chlorine. If you're looking for a reasonable, quiet place to sleep, this is a good option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Nice staff. Tiny showers and very odd window lighting on the 6th floor.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Below average hotel with nice location.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More hotel computers for guests with working internet. Update the rooms.
Location: Freedom walk that includes USS Constitution, Bunker Hill, etc. Walking distance of TD Gardens. Close to the bay.
Internet on the hotel computer didn't work. Line to use the computer. Lack of towels for many of the customers. Keys didn't work properly. Property needs updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, CT

Eh

Posted Oct 2, 2017
It was a place to lay your head. The first thing noticed was the strong smell of soap when you walk into the lobby. Once we got to the 4th floor, it smelled of marijuana and soap. Our room also had a very strong soap smell. There were stains on everything in the room; the curtains, the chairs. The outlets seemed to be ancient and my cell phone charger would just fall out of all of them when I put it in. I had to unplug the alarm clock to use that one but even that one was iffy. The bed had a thin fleece blanket with a sheet on top of it for a comforter which I thought was weird. Definitely could have used a bigger blanket on top. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable. Everything is old and outdated. However, it was priced right. If you're looking for a place just to lay your head, it works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, very helpful staff, walk to history.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Would stay there again if I go back to Boston. No restaurant or bar there so you need to go out. Otherwise it was very pleasant in nice quiet neighborhood walking distance to the Constitution and other places. Took Uber often and inexpensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Good location... no other compliments

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Like the title states the location was great (don't forget about using the Ferry to get across the bay easily for cheap 3.50), room was possibly dirtiest I've seen, beds felt very cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Close to the USS Constitution .

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: As above
While close to the historic Charlestown shipyard, there are not many restaurants or shopping opportunities available locally. The easy to use ferry to Long Wharf in downtown Boston should be more visibly promoted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Details matter.....

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros - the room was clean, bedding and towels newer and in good repair, pillow fluffy Cons - no hot water!! Could get barely warm out of the sink and no warm water in the shower. the bathtub faucet leaked steadily all night. Parking garage is about 2 blocks away and have to walk through a dark alley like area to get to the hotel Hotel staff - minimal friendliness - basic interaction, no welcoming committee for sure Have tried to reach manager by phone 3x and she is out each time and no one else can help me.