Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Affordable. Close enough in city

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Traveled in from out of town for 1-day business. Good location. Nice enough facilities. Affordable and parking garage accessible around the corner. Awesome that there is a full kitchen!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, N.C.

The Hotel receptionists were very hospitable.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The decorum was warm and comfortable. The receptionists did their job well.
Cons: Top sheets and towels were missing, but that was remedied quickly. The lady who provided the items just needs to smile. She may have been tired.
The male receptionist was very pleasant and easy to talk to and also recommended a pizzeria to walk to. The food there was soooo good.He also said that it was a safe neighborhood, which was found to be true. The décor in the lobby-Loved the two toned chairs and the beautiful red and white clock. At checkout, the female receptionist helped put the luggage in the car. That was an unexpected, pleasant surprise. Keep up the good work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Clean quiet hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Hotel is clean and quiet. Nice safe neighborhood. Staff very courteous and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Girvan, U.K.

Needs an upgrade

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Very safe area. Handy for the subway.
Cons: TV in the sitting area.
Location: Handy for the subway (10 minute walk). Half an hour to all the NY attractions.
We booked a suite in this hotel as we like to just sit and watch TV in the evening. The only TV was in the bedroom part of the suite which meant one person having to lie on the bed to watch. The settee was in the kitchen part of the suite with no TV. Would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only good for an overnight, not long term stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Orbitz
The remote was missing, the a/c unit only worked unpredictably, the shower handle confusing. Staff was great and were welcoming for my small service animal. Confused sheets, hot water and the kitchen was a plus.
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zero courtesy, Zero Hospitality

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We arrived at the hotel in the early morning after a long drive and a troubled state. Despite the late minute booking, and notwithstanding our agreement to take a room that is not fully ready, we expected a minimally courteous treatment whereby we didn't have to (1) carry our own linen to the room, (2) replace the dirty linen, and (3) clean the space ourselves. Except we did perform all of that ourselves while the receptionist simply watched. Whilst we understood that we could not expect a room on par with the hefty price that we paid, these are matters of basic courtesy and hospitality that the receptionist simply refused to provide because our booking was not refundable. In a way, we felt blackmailed, and for that we shall not refrain from spreading the word--in whatever way we can--about the negative treatment that we received at Pointe Plaza hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay... Don't Waste Your Money

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: They will hold your luggage after check out without any specific time limit which is great. How they secure your items.. not so much.
Cons: Everything. Clean the rooms. Update the hotel. Clean you "coffee center" located in the lobby, it's disgusting. Present a more professional front.
Location: The location was near an event I attended so it convenient. Lots of street parking nearby and not too far from bus stops and bike rentals.
Checking in was an easy and smooth process. Once I entered the room, things went down hill from there. The first room I was assigned was filthy. There were stains on the curtains above the bed that appeared to be dried blood. The stains were so big we thought they were a pattern. There were random brown spots on the other curtains in the living area. Only one towel set in the bathroom. Please keep in mind I booked the suite for 5.. why is there only one towel set?? I kindly asked to be moved to a different room. The new room had a dead bug on the bed runner and other issues but we eventually move to this room as it's the lesser of two filthy rooms. There were holes, dirt, and mold in the showers, the carpets were filthy, the walls were disgusting. After a while, I stopped observing my surroundings as I wouldn't have been able to stay much longer if I saw more. Pros: They will store your luggage after check out. Keep in mind they store your luggage in their ballroom and leave that door wide open. The lobby is usually filled with children and the attendant is usually busy in her cell phone. It was quite easy to walk past her to get to my bags without her even noticing. Free breakfast is offered. I didn't take advantage as the hotel was so unclean I didn't feel comfortable eating anything they offered. Location is quiet but as people previously mentioned, the area is mostly populated with Orthodox Jewish families. Families that weren't friendly and stared constantly.
5 out of 5
by Leann

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Rooms are very large for a NY hotel. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Loved the corner suite. Downfall: about a 10 minute walk from train. Very safe neighborhood to walk in though.