Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A warning to the unwary

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Reasonable location; staff friendly if (seemingly) unable to resolve issues.
Cons: Almost every aspect of hotel provision could be improved.
This is a potentially reasonable hotel but stay was ruined by a policy of turning the heating on in the bathroom early in the morning (apparently because there would have been no hot water for the shower otherwise). Given that the daytime temperatures at the time were mid 20s C, and the room was small, this was especially crass, rendering the room uninhabitable and obliging me, when unable to elicit assurance that this situation would not be repeated, to check out a day early despite no refund being available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quirky little hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Everyone has breakfast together at a big table downstairs.
Cons: A desk in the room, fruit for breakfast.
Location: Not very central, but decent transport connections (tram 7, 25)
Very small hotel in a re-purposed residential building. The single room was very small and had no desk, though I could use the window sill as a desk replacement. There is a small CRT TV and a minibar which I did not use. The bathroom was decent and there was a hair dryer. Breakfast is at a large table in the lounge downstairs. The selection was decent though there was no fruit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Budget Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The receptionist on my 2nd day which made me felt very comfortable during my stay. The unique sitting room is also a good place to relax.
Cons: The carpets needs changing and the windows needs double glazing. Cleanliness should be most priority.
Location: There is a tram next to the hotel but the frequency is a bit longer. There is convenience store next to the hotel.
Pros: The receptionist on my second day was so friendly, very helpful, accomodating and made me feel at home. The sitting room is well decorated and nice place to relax. Wide varieties of breakfast meal. Cons: Difficult to find hotel and a distant to the city centre. Not a good experience when I arrived at the hotel and I was not greeted by the not so friendly receptionist. I was accomodated on the 4th floor with no lift and a winding steep staircase. The carpets are torn and a bit old. The windows in my room is not double glazed and very noisy from outside especially I was located in the main road. The bed is not comfy, very hard. The bathroom needs refurbishing. It was so hot at that as there is no aircon. There should be tables on the breakfast room, not just a long table which is so difficult to reach for foods.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value hotel in reasonable location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: - generally quiet neighbourhood that should not be of concern to any traveller - good transport links nearby for metro, trams and busses - friendly and helpful staff - decent spread of breakfast (though this is available at a single, big table which might not appeal to everyone) Cons: - the hotel has three floors (not including the ground floor) but no lift and quite narrow stairs - the single room was very small, with no cupboards or drawers for unpacking clothes - no safe is provided either in the rooms or at reception - there was evidence of creeping dilapidation: a crack in the washbasin and the window was awkward to open and close properly - the hotel is by the traffic lights at a crossorad with a double carriageway boulevard (though certainly not the busiest in the city) and, therefore, there is, at times, a traffic noise problem especially if windows are left open However, despite the cons, the hotel does, overall, represent reasonable value for money especially by Brussels standards
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Avid traveler w from Montreal

Fantastic staff but no internet

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The staff was fantastic and very accommodating, though I was disappointed that the internet did not work in my room. Also, they did not provide fresh towels and all the croissants and bread was gone at breakfast, so the breakfast buffet was really just cereal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalia from UK

Interesting stay

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Red décor is very interesting, Grand table for breakfast is a novel idea - very friendly. Good location.
Cons: Needs new windows, and better ventilation (ceiling fans). Chair and desk in my room were not very comfortable for working.
Location: Very good restaurants located nearby. Good transport links also.
Hotel is easy to find. Building exterior is beautiful. Interior décor is interesting. However windows and ventilation could be improved. Would not be a comfortable stay in hot weather. However okay for short stay for business, or for families. But only stairs, and no elevator. Nice patio garden. Good lounge. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: the price
Cons: lack of air con
Location: fairly close to metro station
There was no air conditioning so the room was a bit hot but for the price I paid it was extremely good value
2 out of 5
by Simon from Peterborough, UK

Scruffy and overpriced

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: The room
Location: Nice part of town
I travel to Brussels regularly, so my poor scores are in the context of Brussels not being the cleanest city, and hotel staff not being the friendliest. This is an extremely poor hotel, which is a shame because with a bit of effort it could be delightful. The room was dirty and smelt of cigarette smoke. It was so small I could hardly walk around the bed. The breakfast was actually quite good, and saved it from a 1 out of 5 score.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Considerate management

Posted Dec 15, 2012
Pros: It was near to where I was working. Nice breakfast around a communal table.
Cons: three flights of stairs
Location: convenient for my work
I forgot my laptop in the room and the manager didn't have my number so got through to Expedia who got through to me, before I'd got too far, and I could return and pick it up. I was so relieved, and thankful to them, that I felt I had to write something.
2 out of 5
by michael from california

i was expecting better - i think you can do better

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Cons: hotel wifi encryption is wpa-2 and my older netbook could not use it
my disappointments began with three of my personal expectations missing: (1) there was no in-room coffee set up - expedia's assurances not withstanding; (2) the in-room mini-bar was broken and was not addressed during my 2 day stay; (3) the in-room wifi failed for me (hotel wifi encryption is wpa-2 and my old netbook can not use it, so i had to seek wifi elsewhere.) in my opinion, the hotel is a crudely refurbished older building with lots of gray paint throughout. Red and pink designer pieces abound, but to my eye are so much kitsch - perhaps copies of "classic" pieces, but i felt like i was in an old gray warehouse filled with plastic junk bought cheap on e-bay. i am confused how this hotel rates 3 stars. but there were good points: the staff did whatever was available to them to remedy my situation, giving me access to the kitchen fridge (albiet with 3 flights of stairs between my room and the kitchen) and having a pot of coffee ready for me at 5:30 am on the morning of my departure. there was a computer for use in the living room - a french belgian computer with its "azerty" keyboard - useable, but personally frustrating. my room was typically crampt, but clean enough, and the ensuite bathroom was good, including the hot water. the beds were ok. the location has good access to public transport - an entrance to the georges-henri tram station is just in front of the hotel. there are 2 supermarkets, 2 night shops and several eateries within an easy walk