Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bad odors

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The room smell bad a lot noise from the cars my room was close to the street couldn't sleep well no parking for the car
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
It's was fine. It was quiet. TV didn't work properly. Staff was very friendly. It's okay for one night.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife WA.

It was a nice place to stay.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide us food. At least breakfast.
Location: It was a good location except we have to drive around looking for food at night.
The staff were friendly. The place was acceptable to stay. I can recommend to our friends and definitely go back there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Super dingy, sketchy dirty area as well. Felt super uncomfortable the entire time I was there. Room had this odd feeling hidden cameras were all around and could not sleep. Could not wait to get out of that place, even considered forfeiting the money and finding another hotel. Avoid this place like the plague. I'm used to staying in budget hotels and don't expect much from discount places. By far the worst place I've ever stayed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Note clean, dirty sheets with a shoe mark

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Get it off Expedia
Reserved for 3 days, left the next morning because i was dirty and tried to cancel, but as room was paid in advance, I was not reimbursed. They must make a lot of money with cancelled reservations they cash in plus the rebooking of the same room again and again and again.They do not care. Got ripped off. STAY AWAY
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada North Bay On.

Unhappy wife

Posted Aug 26, 2017
You can tell as you walk in the front office there is an old smell and uneven floors. Other guest were leaving as we entered yelling to run that the place was discusting. The lady guest was vomiting and pregnant. The hotel offered smoking rooms and that was also untrue big no smoking sign on the door. I called and asked my smoking room and I was told that they do have a smoking area. YA OUTSIDE all lies. The name THE NEW 401 INN they ment new owners nothing more.this place is a $40 a week
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albert, Alberta

Never again!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Cons: Lots
Location: The only good part was it was fairly close to our venue.
We spent 5 days to the tune of $1386. During our stay our room was not cleaned once - ie: garbage cans were not emptied, the beds we not made or changed, we had to ask for clean towels which were very thread bare. The room was very poorly taken care of. The drapes were half falling of the rales, there were multiple holes in the black out curtain.The inside door appeared as if a dog had tried to scratch its way out right down to the wood.Twice we had to get someone to use a master key to open the door as our key would not work. No one seamed to care.They would not give us a discount for our troubles. ROOM #3 We have stayed in less known motels and had better service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burnaby BC

Old and unique

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Old and unique Place The Receptionist had no smile at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very old hotel that has seen better days. The worst thing was that the smoke detector had no battery in it - I have reported this to the fire marshal who visited and confirmed. The inside of the microwave was filthy. The paintwork was dirty. Cigarette burn in the bedspread. Shower curtain rail rusted. The bathtub had been resurfaced, but was peeling. The security peep hole in the door was broken and had been filled with toilet paper. The inside of the drawers was so badly stained that I had no intention of putting any clothes inside. The attempt at redecoration was pathetic - a 5 year old could have done better. It is located at the cross roads of two of the busiest streets in Vancouver/Burnaby and traffic noise was insane. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!!! I have photographs on my mobile, but not sure how to upload.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We have done a full review of all our rooms to ensure that all batteries are in place and tested, it was an oversight on our part and your room was an exception. Nevertheless, it should have been detected prior to your checking in. Sometimes guests remove the battery and we are in the process of installing ten year tamper-proof alarms. I appreciate your tip on this. It sounds like you had stayed in one of our original rooms prior to the update, and we appreciate your feedback as we renovate the last of these rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience. Anytime you are unhappy about something, please let the Front Desk or myself the Mgr know during your stay so we may place you in a different room, or do something special to make your stay more comfortable. We appreciate your opinion and wish you the very best.
5 out of 5
by Axel

good value

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a good value for the price. Clean, friendly, Wi-Fi, easy parking, nothing to complain about. This is not a 5 star hotel so I don't understand the unrealistic expectations of some other reviews.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you very much for your feedback. I appreciate you found our hotel clean, and with friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, and easy and free parking. We aim to be a quality budget hotel in what has become a pricey city. Thank you for your business.