Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Room 224 a real disappointment

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Not much. If you can handle the noise all night ...the ocean view and beach are right there out your window.
Cons: The smell! and be honest about how close you are to the highway.
Location: Beach walkway and ocean right there. Lots of restaurants close by at the marina.
It was too good to be true. King size bed, jacuzzi in room and ocean view... but room 224 was right next to busy highway and the traffic noise was loud all night until about midnight and then it started up again around 6 a.m. We had the tv going most of the night to drown out the noise. So if you are a light sleeper. don't stay in this room or that building closest to highway because it is noisy. I called the front desk and she gave a sigh when I said I didn't think this would work out for me. She said she might have another room in same building but she never called back. The place smelled a bit stale and stuffy in the hallway. Faint smoker smell as well which I am very sensitive to. I woke up with very red eyes and a scratchy throat which means there was smoke maybe at one time and they tried to conceal it with spray or something. I am just that sensitive to it. Or it could have been the carpet. I do get scratchy throat if carpet is new and has that chemical smell to it. Anyway, it was disappointing and definitely won't stay here again next time we are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Tired and disappointing

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Reception
Cons: Most other things.
Location: Go whale watching, book in advance for bears.
No issues with the room itself, but the general look and feel of the hotel is very dated. Breakfast is appalling, tasteless and served with barely any acknowledgment from the staff. The breakfast room is also far too small to cope with demand, yet this hotel crams everyone into an early ending breakfast window which isn't much fun if you want a holiday lie in. The hotel needs to be clearer that some rooms are on a third floor, and that there isn't an elevator, a massive challenge if you have heavy 2 weeks of clothes suitcases. Reception efficient and friendly, and allowed us to store our luggage prior to check in. The pub next door to this hotel is pleasant, and Campbell River itself is amazing. If your visiting, I'd suggest you only come here as a last resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Nice hotel but not if you were to spend time in it

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Comfy beds
Cons: Breakfast experience - I found myself getting grumpy and impatient - not a good breakfast attitude.
Location: The wharf on s Sunny day was beautiful. We went for a walk along the wharf and viewed the buildings along the waters edge.
The Hotel was clean and comfortable but very cramped for 3 people. If we needed more than a night I would have gone somewhere else with more space. Had to find the fan in the bathroom and the light for the bathroom was on the outside of the door?? We had a breakfast on paper plates and it was a lineup to use the toaster. Not bed - actually better than I expected thinking this would only be a cold breakfast. We did not use the other facilities - a pool, hot tub, or mini golf. We were in only over night. For that - it was what we needed. M. Smith
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Cons: The bathroom should be upgraded.
Location: Ocean views are great, but if you are not a fisherman there is not much else to do in Campbell River.
Was not one of the better Best Western hotel we have stayed in. It was ok but could have use some bathroom renovations. Service was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Nice hotel with ocean view and high quality breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice hotel across the road from the Georgia Strait

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Located across the street from the strait of Georgia, it allowed me to take my beach chair/umbrella and sit on a rocky beach without driving anywhere.
Cons: n/a
Location: A dedicated paved bike path on the shore (across from the hotel) goes north/south. It goes 1/2 way downtown where you find marinas/restaurants.
Very comfortable place kept in fairly good condition. Front desk people informative and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely overnight stay in Campbell River

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Beds really comfortable after long flight
Very pleasant stay, staff extremely helpful & friendly. Breakfast fresh and filling. Everything clean & well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, to close to the highway.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great for the kids, lots of amenities for them. Beautiful baskets of flowers on every hotel window.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München, Bayern

Hotel in Ordnung, für Zwischenstopp geeignet

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Leider konnten wir erst 90min später als zugesichert einchecken. Das ganze wurde mit Schulterzucken und "wir sind voll belegt" ignoriert. Schade, da das gar nicht die Erfahrung widerspiegelt die wir bislang in Kanada gemacht haben. Ansonsten alles in Ordnung. Frühstück, Zimmer Lage hat alles gepasst.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Best Western never lets you down

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: I always know what I'm getting. Clean.
Cons: Busy breakfast time, ran out of items.
One night stay. Good value, free breakfast, friendly staff, well kept and clean.