Ratings based on 3,478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cabot, Arkansas

Wonderful place to celebrate a 50th birthday!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Good location, easy access to nearby shopping. Large mall with several designer shops and restaurants across the street from the resort.
My husband and I stayed at Live Aqua October 11 - 16, 2016. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The garden view from our balcony was beautiful. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. All of the restaurants on site had amazingly tasty food. We really enjoyed the all adult atmosphere. Top shelf alcohol was a plus! Things were more tame than what we had expected as far as all adult goes. This was a wonderful, peaceful vacation. We would recommend this resort to anyone!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst Experience of My Live, Brutally Harassed by

Posted Oct 19, 2016
In the evening, I was waiting for my restaurant reservation when a gentleman came by me. I was on a very important call, and gently brushed him off, he proceeded to try and take my phone away, that is when I smelled substance. At that time I aggressively told him to f*** off, or I will call the authorities. He told me that he was the hotel manager, his name starts with 'A', and proceeded to try and grab me... I had no idea what is happening, as 4 other employees (who didn't speak English) started attacking me. I have all of this on Video. As they were tackling me down, I screamed that I will call the authorities. Unfortunately, I couldn't call anyone as I kept on trying to resist having them drag me into some room. I was later hospitalized for internal trauma and bleeding, I have all the paperwork for that as well. When I returned from the hospital, person at the gate already had my luggage. Out of which over $1,000 cash was missing, along with designer belts and glasses. They tried having me sign some paper work, I refused, they tried not letting me go. Finally, when I said I will call police, they kicked my luggage to me. When I returned to United States, I went to the hospital, and it was confirmed that internal trauma and bleeding was conceived as a result of the assault. I reached out to Expedia, but have yet to hear back. I plan on creating a website and post all the documents, and videos, so stay tuned for the name of the website.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Gorgeous property, great food, extremely relaxing!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Right across the street from La Isla mall, 5 minute bus ride to down town where the bars are.
The entire hotel smells like a spa/aromatherapy, very relaxing and calming. Laid back atmosphere in and out of the hotel. Poolside wait staff is extremely attentive and makes sure you're comfortable. We had a minor issue in our aqua suite where the Jacuzzi tub had leaked all over the floor and soaked a bunch of our clothes. The front desk said maintenance checked it out and it wasn't the case, although my clothes were still wet from the night before. Nonetheless they gave us another suite across the hotel, but it was an inconvenience to move all of our stuff after we had been settled in. Overall I still rate this 4.5/5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

The only bad thing about this hotel, was leaving!!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff is AMAZING! The food was amazing,The room was amazing!
Cons: Going home
Location: I didn't really leave much, but I did go to the mall across the street. Nice mall high end shops. You can also go to the bank and switch currency.
What a beautiful vacation! Everything was perfect! The staff is amazing, the food is delicious, the view from our room was breathtaking! There is no need to leave the resort. The staff works their butts off to wait on you! I read other reviews before I booked, I totally recommend tipping. I have never seen people work so hard to make others so happy. I was celebrating my birthday and anniversary. Cezar and Juan took care of us, and planned two beautiful dinners for us! I can not think of a single bad word to say! The only bad part, was leaving! I will be back!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Loved it!!! Very relaxing hotel, PERFECT location!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location. Spa aroma scent, 24 hour room service.
Cons: Pools close too early, rooms were freezing and turning up the A/C didn't seem to help.
Location: High end shops, car rental places across the street, plenty of restaurants, 5 min bus ride to the bars and nightclubs.
Took my boyfriend here for his bday. We chose adults only because we wanted to relax.Location was perfect! Across the street are car rental places,high end shops & restaurants. 5 min bus ride from the bars. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive hotel but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know that they probably aren't going to give you top quality food being that it's all inclusive. However there are a few restaurants with amazing food! MB restaurant was very upscale and also all inclusive. But for being all you can eat and drink, we were completely satisfied!!! You can always ask for extra shots in your drinks if you feel they aren't strong enough. We ordered room service every night! The only reason I can think of for some of these negative reviews are just extremely picky people! there are only two downfalls that I encountered personally, the room was FREEZING! Even by turning the a/c up it was still cold so we literally had to turn it off for a while and sleep with the balcony door open. second, the pools close at 8pm! During our stay we obviously weren't there during the day because we were exploring Cancun and we had planned to take a dip in the pool and relax when we came back which was around 9am. I just think that's extremely early for a pool to close at an adults only hotel especially. But overall we enjoyed our stay and felt it was extremely worth it! Everything we ate and drank would have easily ran us a bill of close to $400-$500. We will definately be back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely rude staff and thiefs

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Worst experience of my life. Stay away from this
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

solid 2 star hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
First the good, the view was great, infinity pool nice, several pools of differing temperatures available and beach clean and no seaweed. The sushi bar was very good. Although it is carry out it is worth it. Now the not so good, ordered king got two doubles first night after talking to other guess this is their standard practice. Second night got the king size bed both rooms had broken door knobs to the bathroom. All rooms have a doorbell which sounds like a buzzer and rings about three times a day once for made service once for the minibar refill and once for turndown service. Tried several of the restaurants, only one restaurant available for breakfast which is a buffet. Food was buffet quality. Other restaurants were OK. Poolside drinks seemed watered down, not confident all of them even contain alcohol. Pool service staff expect tips and the more you tip and the larger your group, the better the service even though this is an all inclusive property. You cannot view restaurant menus until you find the restaurant. There are no detailed maps provided, no directions provided, and the property is large. Also be prepared only one restaurant and the buffet are indoors, all others are outside. The entire property seemed just a little rundown but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager , Hotel Management
I appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and deeply regret to read about all the inconveniences you experienced. The aspects you mention are not characteristic of our standards, and I will be working relentlessly along with the Heads of every area in order to ensure that our standards are being met in order to guarantee the quality in service we have become known for. Thank you once again for your feedback, hopefully you will give us a chance to be your hosts once again and revert your previous experience. Sincerely, Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Never Going Back to Live Aqua

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: When I go to am all inclusive resort I like to be able to have a lot of fun activities and don't have to look for that outside unless I want to.
I have a lot negative things to say but don't want to waste my time typing, so will just highlight the key points in a shot summary. First of all we were a nice group of 6 couples and for the record were all disappointed. We've been to other resorts where staff were always friendly and ready to great and welcome guest, at Live Aqua DO NOT EXPECT THAT. In all other resorts we have visited we are always welcomed by a glass of cold Margarita or offered a drink of our choice. Everyday I went down for breakfast, I had to look for someone to serve me coffee. No variety when it comes to food and whatever food is there is garbage, I met a couple who had to go to a local restaurant to look for food (Yes that's how terrible the food was at the resort). We had to ask for the manager to be served Johnny Walker Black Label, which was included in all inclusive package. and after they serve us the bartender was always hiding it. We had requested for a king bed when we booked, whoever upon arrival we were offered 2 queen beds and the manager on duty had the nerve to tell us to contact expedia because it is not always a guarantee to get what you request when booking (never heard of that in my past experience). I do not have a lot of time and energy to continue but bottom line, please if you are looking for fun and enjoyment during your hard earned vacation DO NOT GO TO LIVE AQUA, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I regret you weren't pleased with your stay, and that the resort didn't live up to your expectations. Every feedback we receive is very valuable for us as it is our most reliable source to locate areas we have to work at in order to meet our guests expectations. Although we find that the vast majority of our guests love the unique personality and ambiance that Live Aqua has to offer, inside and out, I do understand that the concept of our hotel does not suit your kind of lifestyle. I remain at your service, Alfredo Santamaría General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My birthday wishes on the bed

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Food and beverage was great spa was amazing and room was great. The resort credit was the only hiccup took some time to get it applied to my account as the booking had no record of it. However management Intervened and resolved it. Just wish front desk could have had the empowerment to do so being a luxury hotel. Front desk also gave wrong advice regarding buses said they took US currency which they didn't. So just more training at the front desk for certain individuals would have made this a 5 star review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by Alfredo Santamaria, General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit. It is wonderful to read about so many aspects of our service that made your experience enjoyable. I appreciate your feedback as well, I will be working with our Guest Service Manager in order to improve the aspects that you have so kindly mentioned, in order to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. We hope to have the chance of being your hosts once again. Sincerely, Alfredo Santamaria General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Perfect getaway!!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The service was great, the staff was always helpful and the rooms were clean!!