Ratings based on 1,753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Luxury hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, Excellent Food
Cons: Entertainment
Location: Downtown Mexican Outlet (plaza la fiesta) is best place for gifts... and we checked market28 and a few other places. Not even close.
When one thinks next meal cannot get any better than prior, or room cleaner, or staff nicer then the RPP (riu palace peninsula) is real prove to it: My wife and I had fantastic 6 days with RPP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unusual environment, great staff

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The wait staff was very good. The food selection was vast and could well accommodate any special dietary needs.
Cons: Some warmer colors and surfaces could be added to the rooms and public areas.
Location: The area of the hotel is very run-down. The all-inclusive nature of the hotel makes sense. There's no need to leave except for arranged tours.
The hotel is very striking in appearance and feel. The rooms are very modern. There is almost a coldness to the design and decoration, but it is balanced by the beautiful views. The food is exceptional. And, mostly, the staff is warm and inviting and ready to please your every need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN.

Nice hotel!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The hotel was right on the beach, clean and the grounds were immaculately maintained.
Cons: The reservations for the restaurants were a little confusing when you went to book.
Location: Location was great and there were a lot of things to do within walking distance, taxi or bus service.
We had a great time at the hotel. The environment was a little mode for us but we thought the hotel was clean at all times and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and maintained well during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Great hotel awesome beach delicious food & drinks!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The beach, the food, the drinks
We stayed there for 4 days, and we had a blast, the hotel is nice, the beach is as turquoise and beautiful as any, the food was delicious, the drinks were fresh, we didn't spend any time at any of the pools, we spent our time lounging by the beach, we loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from argentina

Muy bueno

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Muy recomendable, la pasamos de 10!!!los lugares muy cuidados y muy limpio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Would go agian

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: The staff and atmosphere
Cons: Consistency of drinks from one bartender to next. And water flow to hot tubs in adult villas, it takes 30-45 minutes to fill the inside tub. WIFI not
This was our first trip to Mexico. We did not realize the sales pressure that would be everywhere, except with RIU resort. The sales pitches started at the airport, I guess if you needed help finding experiences while in mexico this may have been okay. But when someone says no, it means no! Now on to RUI Palace Peninsula, great experience from the minute to you walk in the door. Food was good at Buffets and much better at Ala cart restaurants. Alcohol was flowing at all bars, pool deck, beach, that kept you happy. The room was comfortable, my only complaints were they need at least one truly comfortable chair, the couch was not comfortable. and there was a slight odor in the room, it was clean however. And Luis the housekeeper checked in with you daily, super friendly guy. 99% percent of employees were smiling and looked happy to be there, unlike Americans at work. (yes I am American). There is a in room safe, wifi in the adult villas (but not very reliable). The liquor bar in the room is unique but once you have been sipping all day, you really do not use it. Know your peso to dollar equivalents, right now $20.00 peso equal $1.00 usd.. And unless your ask for change you will not get it back at shopping and buses if you over pay. The city buses are cheap, but god lord they must be trained by Chicago cab drivers. They must all work on commission of amount of passengers so they will cut each other off, kind of dangerous at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

El paraíso

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Muy lindo hotel, es como estar en tus sueños. Muy buena atención de la todo el personal y comida muy ricaaaaa!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

I was pleased with my stay.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Cons: Some restaurants never change menus.
The hotel is beautiful and the food was great! My room was comfortable but I had to negotiate for a decent supply of liquor. I asked for whiskey and they delivered scotch. The pools were beautiful as was the beach. White sand was abundant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We really had fun. Hotel staff our very friendly.clean room. Hotel staff make sure we had enough supplies/drinks in our room. Close to the beach. I just hope they had heated pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, but there were so

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The food, the idea that you walked into any area, and could order whatever you want to eat or drink, and it was great.
Cons: Requests when there are issues should be taken care off in a timely manner, not sometimes ignored completely
Location: Beautiful area of hotels, but also seedy areas close. There is an island to ferry to, that is fun and has alot of shops and restaurants.
Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, some of the best ever, but there were some issues. Mini bar is supposed to be stocked every day, we had to ask 3 days in a row before they did it. Rainshower didn't work, refrig didn't keep things cold, and our view was bad. Requested things fixed, and a room change, they did nothing about any of it. All in all, the resort is gorgeous, and most of the staff is willing and helpful, but we feel we did not get some of what we paid for. Housekeeping was impecable, and again, the buffet and 5 other restaurants were great!