Ratings based on 1,866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: the staff at this hotel was what made it a great expereince. they were so nice and welcoming, especially the bartender Jorge and the waiter Delfino
Cons: it can include more Mexican culture, they did not even serve pan dulce for breakfast, and they need to serve a wider variety of beer
Location: the beach is right there and the downtown tourist area is like a 10 minute taxi ride
it was a great experience, I would love to go back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great for everyone...young and old

Posted May 22, 2016
Loved the food selection at the buffet, but not so much at the restaurants, except the steakhouse (lobster!). Service was amazing and everyone was super nice. Also loved the little coffee bar in the lobby. Room service was awful. Liquor dispenser in the room was low-level stuff (Cuervo!) and the mini fridges never kept stuff cold. Bars in hotel did have better stuff, like Don Julio and Buchanan's. Beach at the older Riu next door is better- you can see the fish swimming! Plenty of chair out at the pool and at the beach. Don't expect to check-in early because the hotel is always super booked (at capacity, we were told). If you're celebrating something, let them know- they'll do something special. We traveled with a toddler and they were very helpful, plenty of high chairs as well. Kiddie pool is tiny and there aren't any kid "attractions" or a play yard...but they do have an activities room for arts and crafts. There were other children, but not that many. Ocean views were mesmerizing (we were on the 15th floor - there are 17, I think). At the pools you'll find what we called the: "drunk people pool," "the sports pool," "the family pool," "the adults only pool" and the "infinity pool." Last, tips aren't required, but very highly appreciated (a waitress told us they aren't paid much, so tips really help them).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena Ca

Beautiful view from the rooms

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view. Relaxing pool. Great food. The shows were entertaining enough
Cons: The beds were hard. I like a firm bed and I woke up stiff every day
Location: /Went to Riu property next door once because everyone was raving about the pizza. It wasnt bad
I really enjoy the Riu Palaces in general , the restaurant staffs in every restaurant were very nice and wen out of their way and the food was great. only thing I didnt care for were the bartenders at the pool. Usually, these are the friendliest of all the wait staffs but these guys came across as cocky and they were slow to respond even when being tipped . One Aussie I was talking to got really upset after being the only one at the bar and having to wait for 5 mins to be acknowledged. This is not typical of a Palace, Usually these are the most fun characters but not this time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful HoneyMoon

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Food, the Vilas, and Staff
Cons: Nothing. It is Perfect.
Location: We didn't leave the resort.
This place is truly paradise on earth. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great service all around. Amazing food from all parts of the world. I would come back to this place in a heartbeat, minus the bumpy flight of course. Wifey loved it. She couldn't stop talking about how clean the Resort was and how helpful the staff is.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Adult Only Junior Jacuzzi Villas - Disappointed

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: All Inclusive and Adult Only Pool
Cons: Food & Drink, along with updating the rooms to make them feel cleaner.
Location: Terrible location. The beach was awful. Don't plan on walking anywhere as you are about 45 minuets away from the clubs and restaurants.
I was really looking forward to this hotel after reading all of the positive reviews. Unfortunately my experience didn't live up to the hype it was getting. Don't expect your room to look like any of the pictures online. First things first we were in the "Adult Only" section which was nice, but our room was tucked way in back and couldn't even see the beach from our building. the room was not as nice as the pictures show. Our room stunk, the jacuzzi tub had yellow water and had hairs in it. The food was average and the frozen drinks are ehh... We went to the swim up bar but were only there for a short time after being grossed out by the napkins that were floating and dissolving in the pool from the wind blowing them in. Also you would think that a "Swim Up" bar would mean for adults only, no parent had their babies and kids swimming in there too. The beach was the most disappointing thing. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying on the long peninsula that goes north and south, not along the top where this one is. The beach there blows this beach out of the water and also you are not close to anything in walking distance. I enjoyed my time here, but would not come back or tell anyone else to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Great place to stay

Posted May 15, 2016
Great hotel. Pool n beach r great. The bars r awesome. The food is good but not great. Staff is fun. 3rd time there. Def going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel!

Posted May 15, 2016
We enjoyed spending our honeymoon at this resort. It will everything we could have asked for! The buffet is awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua

muy agradable, excelente estancia y alimentos.,

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: la vista de las habitaciones con vista al mar, la comida y barras de botanas frente a la alberca
Cons: los juegos en el sport bar, algunos hoteles los tienen incluidos y el costo de la estancia es elevado para estar mendigando unas monedas por un juego.
Location: poca playa para caminar, pero excelente
Excelente estancia, cuartos super limpios y el personal muy atento, alimentos deliciosos y frescos con excelente sason.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved our time at Riu Palace Peninsula

Posted May 8, 2016
We stayed for 8 days. The food was excellant with a good variety every night. The view was fantastic. Nightly entertainment from dj on the beach to an elvis impersonator. Our room was cleaned daily and fridge was stocked. Bartenders were friendly and of course they were faster if you tipped. This is a 24 hr resort. Bars are open 24 hr. Food is available 24. We had a great time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

A beautiful hotel... And close to the beach!

Posted May 7, 2016
My girls and I had a great time at Cancun.. The Hotel staff was awesome.. Can't wait to come back again!!!