Ratings based on 1,340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: We only had a short stay so we just enjoyed the beach and pool.
The room was spacious with a beautiful ocean view and view of the resort. I loved that you did not need to make reservations and the retaurantants were really good. Our favorite was the Asian. Room service was spactacular. The place was outstanding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Neck, United States of America

Beautiful hotel! Great staff! Unbelievable service

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: This hotel is great for relaxation. Not much to do around the area. We did a one day tour to chicheneitza and Yucatán. Cancun is beautiful.
Our visit to The secret Of the Vine was a great experience. The staff was always asking us if we needed anything. The room was beautiful and clean. I would have given it a 5 if it was not because I was not impressed with the food.The hotel is behind the times when it comes to the food they serve. Not very educated when it comes to different diets. As a vegan I had a very hard time eating there, especially if I spend the day at the beach. The options were quinoa salad which was hard to digest, french fries, or veggies with chilies which I couldn't even eat, it tasted really awful. The market place had nothing in their menu chef made me a veggie burrito that was salty. Another time market place chef made me veggie rice with stir fry veggies,very salty. For breakfast at the Market Place they didn't have a lot of options. I had potatoes and mushrooms all the time, it was good but no selections. They didn't provide non dairy milk, or non dairy cheese. The steak restaurant only had two items in their vegetarian menu and I was not impressed. It was just peppers with a little bit of veggies on top of each other. Did not like it. My husband was not impressed with his steak either. The Dragon is the best restaurant in the hotel. They have much more to offer, my husband and I loved it. We ate there twice. If it was up to me I would have eaten there everyday. Food was very good. Waiter Alberto and hostess Angelina are awesome. Chef is great. Came out to ask me was everything ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Wish there was more stars to give ! Staff are so polite , helpful , and attentive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cdmx

excelente hotel de 1a

Posted Oct 17, 2016
la palabra repetida de todo el personal es un placer atenderlo¡¡¡ en todas las areas muy bien
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The hotel was beautiful and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome!
I loved everything about this place! The room and view were great and the staff always went above and beyond to help you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Second stay at Secrets. Excellent resort

Posted Oct 16, 2016
This is our second time staying at this Secrets. Everything about this resort is wonderful. The rooms are modern and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are ample activities both during the day and night. There are many restaurants to chose from. The beach is clean. Highly recommend. The only thing that is a negative is do not waste your time going to the time share presentation. It is 90 minutes long. They lure you in that if you join there booking agency, it is only $164 a year and you will be upgraded to a suite. One hour into the presentation, they hit you with a 40 year plan initiation fee of $100,000, but today only they can give it to you for half off at 50 grand. We left. So come for the resort, enjoy, and don't waste your time at the presentation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The pool, view and food.
Cons: My drink order was usually wrong :(
Location: Scuba diving with Manuel, he has a booth set up by the pool at the hotel. Coco bongo is fun and close.
We stayed on the 24th floor had a great view of the beach and lagoon. Room was nice, food tasted great. The spa was also nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

A wonderful slice of Heaven not too far from home!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The food, the drinks (thanks Omar!), and the staff!!
Cons: The pushy attitude about the "resort credits".
Location: You can take the bus into the center of town for $1 and you can go shopping and there are several restaurants. On the beach you can go parasailing.
Visited 9/24-10/1/16 and loved it!! The hotel is beautiful, the water is turquoise, and the food and drinks are great! The entertainment staff (Hali for sure!) are all amazing! They make beautiful drinks and the food presentation is wonderful. I will definitely be coming back!! The only thing is the kind of hound you about the "resort credits" thing which you have to sit through a time share presentation to get and you can't even use them at once. For example, you get $100 "spa credits" but you can only use $20 at a time. Not really worth the time to sit and listen in my opinion. Other than that minor MINOR detail everything was great. I would recommend asking for a room on the opposite side of the Hard Rock. I didn't stay on the preferred level so I can't review that but my room was clean, nice balcony, and amenities were great. The turn down service was such a nice touch!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great stay! Simply perfect!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Very good location. Pharmacy across the street and close enough to the main city that a cab ride or bus trip can get you there easily.
Everyone was so nice and accommodating...from the beginning to the last. Great food/restaurants. The pools were well located and well staffed. Plenty of activities ran by the staff during the day and some at night. My only complaint were that spa activities all cost money, including the sauna. Another tip, a lot of the restaurants were more dressy so definitely bring some nicer clothes (other than flip flops, t-shirts, and short). Overall, a perfect trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Absolutely Amazing!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Cons: Not a thing.
I have stayed at this resort twice. It is amazing! I can't say enough nice things about my stay. This hotel is absolutely beautiful! It has only been open 3-4 years. It is spotless in every area. The staff is amazing! I can't imagine the training that these folks go through. The service at every level is consistent and better than you could ever imagine whether it be poolside, at the restaurants, room service, etc. I got married at the resort during my most recent stay. The wedding coordinators were great! The attended to every single detail. They made it so easy that I thought surely something is going to fall through the cracks but that wasn't the case. Selene and Yamina were my coordinators. It was better than I even imagined. Giovanni and Itzel by the pool at the best! Jemima, one of the room butlers was so friendly and warm it was like leaving a friend behind. The entire stay was PERFECT!