Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Little gem in the centre of Venice

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Clean and modern rooms. Really good location, close enough to walk to all the main attractions, but away from the busier areas.
Cons: Better signage, as it is quite difficult to find, even when you are a couple of metres away.
Location: 20 minutes walk to St Mark's Square, Vaporetto stop right next door, 10 minutes to Rialto Bridge and 15 minute walk from train and bus station.
We arrived in Venice by train and walked from the station to the guest house. It took 10-15 minutes to get there and then another 5 minutes to find the actual door of it, as it is down a little alleyway with no signage. Our rooms were ready on arrival and the guy on reception gave us a map and loads of useful information, so armed with all of that we headed off and walked towards the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. We used Google maps mostly but there are signs everywhere pointing you towards to main sites. Once we had our bearings and had seen the main sites, we headed back and once we'd showered and changed, we had dinner in the vicinity of the guest house, which is a quieter, pretty area and we found it much more relaxing. I assume maybe cheaper as well, as it is away from the busier tourist areas. The following day, we headed back towards the station and over the Scalzi Bridge towards Basilica di Santa Maria, which was an amazing walk through the quieter and what seemed more authentic, part of Venice. We only really had a day and a half in Venice, but managed to see everything we wanted. We did it all on foot, which I think is the best way to see any city and I would have liked to go on a vaporetto, but found the costs were extortionate and having 4 to pay for, decided against it. I adored Venice, it is the most beautiful city and the Al Portico guest house is a little gem in the midst of all the madness. I would 100% stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 26, 2017
I enjoyed the location of this hotel. It was walking distance to attractions and had many eating options steps away, as well as two supermarkets. The staff was friendly and gave tips on a walking tour of Venice as well as providing a map. I had a difficult time finding the office and reaching the staff upon arrival as it was in an unlikely location. The internet was very slow and not up to modern standards. Having said that, I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is a perfect quiet location off the main tourist strip that's close to Saint Lucia's station as well as the bus station to the airport. It's also close to one of the main water bus stations should you want to travel by boat instead of walking! Very clean and the host is very sweet and accommodating. I recommend this place and would be happy to stay there when I visit again!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Venice May/June 2017

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel for us and great location for exploring Venice. Staff were excellent and very helpful and knowledgeable
5 out of 5
by Adam

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The guys at Al Portico Guest house went over and above what they had to do to help us out. Our flights in were delayed so we got there much later than expected and they left us everything we needed to get settled. With our flights being delayed our luggage was lost in the process and they both are the only reason we got our bags when we did. I did not speak Italian so they helped me get ahold of the delivery service and arranged a meeting for us at the train station literally 5 minutes before our train was scheduled to depart. Had they not helped us we would have either missed our train or had to have our luggage delivered to us in another city. I cannot thank them enough for their tremendous service. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Joana

Great stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
I had a great stay. The guest house is in a great location. Staff is very nice a helpfull.
1 out of 5
by Shawn

Not a place to stay - horrible

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
I am not too sure how this guest house had a 4 plus customer review. The only shining light at all was the pleasant girl who checked us in. The room was small and old. Honestly I've stayed at better dorms in Thailand. I was completely disappointed in this location and caution anyone to look at another hotel. Plus, it cost over $150 Canadian a night. I feel ripped off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many dead and living mosquitoes in the room!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The room is very small. I had to pick the luggage and walk upstairs to 1/F. The staff was nice and explained the sight seeing place of venice to me clearly. Staff was there only at 09:00 -13:30. The bath area was very small, as I could not turn around when i was standing at the bath area and having shower. If I was sitting at the bath area, I could not soap my body easily. The water flow out easily as the door could not be closed completely. The biggest problem was there were many dead mosquitoes on the white wall of our room and we had to kill the remaining living mosquitoes ! I won't recommend you to live there.
5 out of 5
by Salli

Quick trip to Venice

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Just a quick trip to Venice. Hope to stay longer next time. Wish the hotel had a lift, but that's just Venice. Loved it! Receptionist was very helpful figuring out how to get to the airport for a very early flight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location, just off one of the main streets, just far away enough to be quiet & peaceful. The hotel is in a old building accessed through some small alleyways, so don't expect any pretty views. The hotel is clean, welcoming & has a good sized rooms. Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Location is ideal. It was perfect for what we needed, good value for money, would recommend.