Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Michael

3 star hotel in 4.5 star setting

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is not the usual upmarket hotel you expect to find in Mauritius. The prices are lower than the usual 5 star hotels, but we decided to give it a try. There is lack of management skills and basic training of the staff is required. The food is very average and the waiters needs training, they do try their best, but the lack of training is visible. One night after dinner we decided to have a drink in the bar area. After 10 minutes without getting attended we left, some of other guests had a good laugh. The internet does not work properly to which the response was "A lot of guests complain about the poor internet". Upon checking out we did not even get asked if we enjoyed the stay or whether anything could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

A little bit of paradise

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Ebookers
This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful friendly staff. Really well laid out so you can always find a quiet spot to yourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Ashok, Hotel Management
Dear Jamie, Thank you so much for staying with us and your nice review. We look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Ashok Bhugoo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Best hotel stay ever

Posted May 21, 2017
Having travelled a lot for business and pleasure, I have to say this was the best experience ever. Nothing could be faulted . Location, staff and facilities were top notch. The menu was varied even for a veggie like me. And there was even some entertainment every evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Ashok, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Ashok Bhugoo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not quite 5 stars

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Cons: The service surrounding disputes.
The stay was great, the food was really good but the service was not quite polished enought o be 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aus

Perfect for kitesurfing

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Staff excellent. Menu a bit restrictive but overall food excellent. Resturant needs more fans, can get very hot in summer, needs sea breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Upmarket and lovely - older crowd

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Lastminute
This is a beautiful place, with great food and excellent service. We were upgraded to a suit which was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for you and treated you oh so well throughout. There is a dress code for dinner - long pants are required, luckily I had a pair of jeans, because otherwise it would have been dinner in our rooms. The crowd is older - mostly 50 to 60+. The location was fantastic and I'd recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great atmosphere , location and pool

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: infinity pool, beaches , food atmosphere
a place to relax, it is rather unique as it is adults only and not crowded, staff are very nice, rooms have view of the sea , we just had a great time after a few hectic months just what was needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, Great Britain

Beautiful venue ......

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: I loved the setting and the surrounding area .... Beautiful place to walk about .... And being able to swim in the sea .... very comfortable hotel.
Cons: Sun lounge misuse ..... It's utterly ridiculous !!!!
Location: Grande Bay is to the right of the hotel and very tourist based. Goodlands is to the left of the hotel and is a normal Mauritian village.
We were a party of six friends, not all couples and booked because we could see it looked beautiful. My view is that it's definitely a heterosexual couples hotel. We didn't have board, only bed. The room was beautiful and they catered for our requested single beds. Sun beds are "booked" by people going out about 7am and putting their blue hotel towels on them !!!! This needs to be stopped as beds lie unused for hours. Room staff are wonderful ... Very caring and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Impressive

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 4 nights and were very impressed. Rooms were large, clean, well equipped with a huge comfy bed, large nice shower and all expected amenities. The layout of the hotel is superb and it has the luxury of a nice beach in a cove as well as a nice lagoon which is nice for a dip. They also have a separate are where the lunch restaurant and watersports are located where there are lots of nice private sunbathing spots and this is a real advantage of this hotel. There are many watersports on offer, snorkeling which was really good. We also went on the catamaran which was a good fun day out including superb snorkeling, good food and free drinks all day. The food at the hotel was very impressive. The breakfast was excellent. We were half board so only ate lunch once which was very good for a lunch! Other times we cycled to grand baie (recommend it - bikes are free from the hotel). The dining room was quite good. The Cove is the best restaurant by a mile due to the setting but i also liked the menu. You need to book for the Cove and XO so i'd advise booking in advance as they are both very small but the staff will do what they can to fit in everyone who wants to eat there. You can go as many times as you want and unlike other hotels there aren't any supplements (unless you want things like lobster).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Bit tired

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The swimming pools are lovely as is the cove location.
Cons: Pretty much everything. Decor, food and service. You could forgive a lot if it were bargain basement prices but it isn't.
Location: Unless you are going on honeymoon ( as lots do ) and are happy never to leave the hotel you need a car. The nearest towns are a bit tacky so you need
Good location and nice layout with rooms around a horseshoe bay. However the rooms are a bit tired and need a revamp to compete with more luxurious competitors. Very ordinary food which was a real shame as it meant travelling out each time to find a restaurant. Buffet breakfast offers reasonable choice but very repetitive and didn't change once in the two weeks we were there. Half the wine list is from South Africa and if you come from there you will be shocked by the mark up. Entry level stuff that costs the equivalent of 90 rupees a bottle in SA is 2100 rupees in the hotel. A local beer that costs 30 rupees in a supermarket there is 150 rupees in the hotel. You expect a mark up but that seems excessive. Female staff are mostly smiley and friendly but the males are almost all rather surly and seem to be just going through the motions but to be fair this does appear to be the case all over the island.