Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA, USA

Pleasant, Accommodating, Comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location is always number one consideration and this was perfect.
Location: Near the wharf, restaurants and shops.
The staff was pleasant upon our very-late-after-hours arrival from the USA. We were worn out from our long flights and were welcomed with a comfortable room and quiet accommodation. The guest house was centrally located in Kalk Bay making our walks to restaurants, shopping and even church on Sunday morning very convenient. I would recommend it to a friend.
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Farid from Johannesburg

Chartfield Guesthouse review

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Chartfield Guesthouse probably had the most immaculately clean room, I've ever had the honour of staying at - they really do have an attention to detail. Service wise they were also great - offering me extra assistance to dry out my wetsuit and making me a cappuccino late in the evening. The view from the room over the Kalk Bay harbour was also great. The Guesthouse is in easy walking distance to the restaurants on the Main Street. Note however that the Guesthouse does not have off-street parking (and the roads are relatively narrow) nor does it have a back-up generator when the electricity supply is disrupted (happened while I was there). They do provide you with a torch which is cute but really I expect a guesthouse to have a backup electricity solution. Regardless I enjoyed my short stay and I think its great value at the price point - will definitely consider visiting again.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

The Guesthouse You've Looked for all your Life!l

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: see above.
Cons: Chartfield Guesthouse is perfect.
Location: Wine tours. Shopping. Beaches. And Capetown is close enough to get political education at Robben Island.
Chartfield is beautiful. Usually I imagine how I could have decorated so much better -- not at Chartfield. The fishing village of Kalk Bay is like a dream. Great restaurants, gorgeous views. The staff is marvelous -- try to meet each individual's needs. While we were there they had an open house for the neighbours. We had the delight of meeting local people and hearing about local activism during the pre-Mandela days in South Africa and now.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Mihal V. from athens

an enjoyable staying

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful location, clean place. We thoroughly enjoyed it. If there was a disadvantage was that our room did not have a lot of privacy so we had to keep the curtains closed all the time. Other than that, it was good!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hessen

Sehr schönes Hotel mit super Ausblick auf das Meer

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Das Personal und das Frühstück.
Cons: Geschwindigkeit des Internets.
Location: Wenn Ihr Kalk Bay besucht, geht unbedingt ins Olympia, in Muizenberg ins Tigers Milk.
Sehr liebevoll, charmant geführtes kleines Hotel. Wir haben uns wie zu Hause gefühlt. Besonders ist das Frühstück zu erwähnen. Das war einfach spitze. Immer frisches Obst, Smoothies, diverse Eierspeißen ....bis zum Abwinken. Von der Terrasse hat man einen tollen Blick aufs Meer. Lisa und Camou, danke für Alles!!!!
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beachside Concrete View

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
They didn't tell us we were not getting a room in their main house. Nor do they advertise that they also use another property across the way. We were stuck in a small room with no privacy and a view of a concrete wall.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We had the most amazing stay at Chartfield, the staff were brilliant. I can not recommend this place enough, the guesthouse and it's location worked so well for us, we felt safe and very welcome. The staff were amazing and the guesthouse is run so well with a great team. If you are looking for a well run, comfortable and well presented guesthouse in a great location, Chartfield Guesthouse is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful little spot in a stunning location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The style, the view, the location
Location: Olympia Cafe - fab fab food, Nordhoeven beach, Camps Bay, Chapmans Peak drive
We adored Chartfield, our room was simple and lovely, the owners clearly have good taste. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom with a corner bath and separate shower. Everything spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet, safe, residential area and has views of the ocean and harbour. Breakfast was delicious, everything you could want and they even do a good flat white. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. If you are a party-lover then this might not be the spot for you, but if you like a calm, serene, beautiful environment then I would definitely recommend, but I would suggest hiring a car if you want to go into Capetown itself on a regular basis as taxis would add up - 300-350R per journey.
2 out of 5
for Couples
by Sabelo from Johannesburg

Rating was exaggerated

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
I thought that the hotel rating of 4 stars was exaggerated. The guest house is 3 star quality. The beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast is also very expensive for local travellers. We had to pay R120 per person for breakfast. We opted to go to Wimpy and spend R150 for two people.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views of the Indian Ocean!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The views are spectacular.
Location: Kalk Bay is a quaint harbour town with a lot of interesting places to see and things to do.
It was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful in all aspects of our trip.