Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice stay!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location was ideal.
Cons: Room was very light so difficult to sleep (without eye mask). Also, footsteps ☹️️
Location: Whale watching (weather permitting) as well as boat trips. Nice (no frills) cafe called Kali cafe right down on the harbour was great.
We stayed in room 1. Only downside really was hearing every footstep from the room above (I know, not much they can do about that). Breakfast also was extra (R120 pp) when booking indirectly...free if booking direct with the guest house. Location was great for seeing the sights. No evening meal option meant eating out which was ok. All in all, everything you need and I suppose you don't really spend too much time in room anyway (well, we don't tend to). Oh, wifi was extra to (250mb foc, they more available at a fee)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Getaway

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Very clean and the room was exactly as pictures on the website.
Chartfield Guesthouse was a very pleasant surprise and a great escape from the hustle of Cape Town. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We only stayed two nights ( it was winter there) but I would stay longer during the summer months if the opportunity arose. It is close to the center of town and all restaurants are within easy walking distance. The Olympic Cafe is a must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Friendly guesthouse with great views

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: See comments above - to summarise, we felt that we were welcomed and that the guesthouse was committed to making our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: The WiFi was not great (and a small extra charge) but this may have been outside the guesthouse's control.
Location: Right in the middle of Kalk Bay and two minutes (slow) walk from shops and restaurants. Convenient for Cape Town - Uber fare to Cape Town about £8.
We stayed for 4 nights in the Impala room and had a wonderful time. Highlights included the views of the sea and the mountains from our room, the lovely breakfasts served outside and the friendly and helpful staff. The guesthouse also arranged the transfer back to the airport at a very reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Widnes UK

Nice place very reasonably priced

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff and pleasant terrace where breakfast can be taken. The room was very nice but as I have said more suited to a couples.
Cons: A nice bar area would have been welcome.
Location: Cape Town, Simons Town and Kalk Bay harbour, Cape point. Intersting shops and two lovely churches (RC and Anglican). Horse racing at Kenilwoth close.
I stayed here with a cricketing friend for the Newlands test and it was a good for our requirements. The staff were always helpful and couldn't do enough for their guests. However I do think it is more of a couple's place and was always thinking how much my wife and I would have really loved to visit together. There are rooms inside the main building and rooms situated separately, which could be a nuisance due to all the locking and unlocking of doors (though I appreciate it gave greater security). Personally I found the long, long steps up to the hotel the only potential cause for concern, as it was dimly lit and sometimes people hung around at night. Kalk Bay is nice and charming and is a real seaside town with some very good places to eat and it has some fascinating shops (if you like antiques/memorabilia the shops are great to spend time browsing). The train journey either up to Cape Town or down to Simon's Town is very interesting and it was always safe (though I didn't travel on it after dark as per advice). Simon's Town is really beautiful and the beaches along there are stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location........pristine guesthouse.....

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Superb locatiion......immaculate cleanliness and a pervasive homeliness which is difficult to attain.
Cons: A considerable amount of thought and hard work has obviously gone into making the Chartfield into the gem that it is........ I am unable to add to it
Location: The Chartfield has one of the finest views to be had in a region where fine views abound.....the Western Cape is renowned as a visitors mecca.
A standard of hospitality second to none in my 45+ years of world travel........often in highly prestigious hotels..........few management teams have matched the genuine desire to please which is found at the Chartfield Guesthouse.....Kalk Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA, USA

Pleasant, Accommodating, Comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location is always number one consideration and this was perfect.
Location: Near the wharf, restaurants and shops.
The staff was pleasant upon our very-late-after-hours arrival from the USA. We were worn out from our long flights and were welcomed with a comfortable room and quiet accommodation. The guest house was centrally located in Kalk Bay making our walks to restaurants, shopping and even church on Sunday morning very convenient. I would recommend it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

The Guesthouse You've Looked for all your Life!l

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: see above.
Cons: Chartfield Guesthouse is perfect.
Location: Wine tours. Shopping. Beaches. And Capetown is close enough to get political education at Robben Island.
Chartfield is beautiful. Usually I imagine how I could have decorated so much better -- not at Chartfield. The fishing village of Kalk Bay is like a dream. Great restaurants, gorgeous views. The staff is marvelous -- try to meet each individual's needs. While we were there they had an open house for the neighbours. We had the delight of meeting local people and hearing about local activism during the pre-Mandela days in South Africa and now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We had the most amazing stay at Chartfield, the staff were brilliant. I can not recommend this place enough, the guesthouse and it's location worked so well for us, we felt safe and very welcome. The staff were amazing and the guesthouse is run so well with a great team. If you are looking for a well run, comfortable and well presented guesthouse in a great location, Chartfield Guesthouse is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful little spot in a stunning location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The style, the view, the location
Location: Olympia Cafe - fab fab food, Nordhoeven beach, Camps Bay, Chapmans Peak drive
We adored Chartfield, our room was simple and lovely, the owners clearly have good taste. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom with a corner bath and separate shower. Everything spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet, safe, residential area and has views of the ocean and harbour. Breakfast was delicious, everything you could want and they even do a good flat white. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. If you are a party-lover then this might not be the spot for you, but if you like a calm, serene, beautiful environment then I would definitely recommend, but I would suggest hiring a car if you want to go into Capetown itself on a regular basis as taxis would add up - 300-350R per journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views of the Indian Ocean!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The views are spectacular.
Location: Kalk Bay is a quaint harbour town with a lot of interesting places to see and things to do.
It was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful in all aspects of our trip.