Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad

Posted Dec 6, 2017
good service. breakfast ok. location very good. room is clean and nice.free wifi and parking. Love the oceanfront. Nothing can beat this. Will come next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ.

Nice Hotel, awesome sunsets from the front deck.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Easy parking.
Location: This hotel is one block from the center of Carlsbad village so there are abundant restaurants within walking distance.
We only stayed one night but the room was very well appointed and comfortable. The pillows were the best I have ever had in any hotel and the gas fireplace in the room was a great feature. Parking in this area is tough but the hotel has great parking on the ground floor with access doors close to all the room so you do not need to carry your luggage far from the car to the room. We love this property and long for an opportunity to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

kind staff

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Joan and Prudence at the front desk are the kindest hotel staff members I’ve seen at a hotel. So impressed with the rooms and the location and the staff. What a great place to stay! Will deffinatley be our new place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avondale Az.

Little piece of Heaven.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Staff was excellent. Hotel is small and refreshing. Beds super comfortable. Breakfast overlooking Ocean was Awesome. Dorothy was very attentive. And being across the street from the Ocean is Prefect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice hotel. Great location. Right across the street from the beach. Shopping and restaurants one block away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Nice hotel close to the beach and legoland. After a whole day in legoland it was relaxing to come to a clean room and sit on balcony to see sun set
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Oct 29, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here. It's really close to the beach. The staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great Location Right By The Beach!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern, spacious rooms. Convenient, free parking, Location, location, location! Good continental breakfast. Great staff. Beautiful deck!
Cons: I understand it is a security measure, but the glass enclosure around the hot tub felt a little weird and gave us all a chuckle.
Location: Right across the street from the beach! Easy walking distance to the Village. Right on the PCH.
We just returned from a week in SoCal for a family vacation. We spend two night at this Best Western and were very happy with the accommodations. Rooms were clean, modern and spacious. Staff were happy and laughing through a computer crash, making sure it didn't inconvenience us at all. The pool and hot tub were on the small side, but that's to be expected with a hotel this size. It didn't really matter because we didn't use them, preferring instead to walk directly across the street to the beach. Though we didn't take them up on the offer, the desk staff let us know they had just about everything we could need for the beach. The continental breakfast more than met our expectations. Parking accommodations were good. Hotel is within easy walking distance to Carlsbad Village and many restaurants. We will definitely plan to stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 17, 2017
An older hotel. Clean and the beds are comfy. Breakfast in the morning was nice. Bring ear plugs. You can hear everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Room, arrival, location, staff friendliness
Cons: Not much. Great hotel and excellent location.
Location: To many to list, but I'll try: Downtown Carlsbad, the beach, bike rentals, restaurants, tourist shopping, a Coaster pickup/dropoff terminal.
Excellent arrival experience. The staff let us check in early, and the hotel is within easy walking distance to both the beach (across the street) as well as downtown Carlsbad, CA. Quick access to I-5 from several directions also. There's a nice guest lounge area, with both indoor and outdoor sections. Parking is easy, and the hotel will check out beach chairs, boogie boards, towels, and umbrellas. We'll stay here again, for sure.