Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very close to beach and town.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: We loved that it was just across from the beach and a short walk into town.
Cons: A hot breakfast i.e. Bacon and eggs etc., would have been nice.
Location: The location of the Hotel is excellent, just across from the beach. Plus only a block to walk into Carlsbad town.
We took the Coaster train from Carlsbad town into San Diego, toured the Midway and walked the prom down to Seaport Village. It was nice to be able to leave the car behind for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT LOCATION-NEWLY RENOVATED- HELPFUL STAFF

Posted Sep 9, 2017
My husband & I come to Carlsbad to escape the Las Vegas heat and enjoy the ocean several times per year. We have stayed on several properties in the Carlsbad/Oceanside area. This BW Plus Beach View Lodge is in a FABULOUS LOCATION! The front desk staff enjoy working at this newly renovated facility. The Common Outdoor Gathering Area (2nd floor) is IDEAL for relaxing & watching the sunset. The option of eating breakfast (7-10 am) each morning while enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean is a favorite amenity. Covered parking. Elevators. We will DEFINITELY be coming back to BW Plus Beach View Lodge the next time we visit Carlsbad! Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Air conditioner was in adequate. Room was too hot. No ice in machine. Comfortable bed, and morning buffet was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellent location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update elevator
Location: Beach is across the street. Restaurants are within walking distance.
You can walk to all the restaurants and the beaches across the street . Has a small pool and a hot tub .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
perfect location in Carlsbad. right across from the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Easy walk to beac

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant staff. Plenty of food establishments in walking distance.
Cons: Coffee at the breakfast bar was a little too strong for me, but hot water was available to dilute a bit.
Location: Restaurants and beach an easy walk. We walked over to the public train station about 10 minutes from the hotel and went to Salano Beach for an event
Saw dolphins in the ocean all three days we were there while eating breakfast on the deck. The deck overlooks a small city park with the beach right there. Had a nice continental breakfast. they have beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use at no charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Amazing location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Our room was very spacious. We had the king size bed and fireplace. The staff was so friendly and informative. We had so many options for time at the beach. Towels, sand toys, chairs and umbrellas are all complimentary. Our bed was very comfy, pillows fluffy, overall a great find! On the weekend the ocean wasn't too busy and during the week it was even calmer. Super close to shopping and plenty of restaurants to chose from. Pictures can usually be deceiving but I felt we didn't lose out at all! The street outside the hotel can get busy on the weekend but traffic was silenced once inside the room. Very pedestrian friendly! Close to the highway, a couple hours from Hollywood and only about 40 minutes to San Diego. This place was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south ogden utah

Great hotel with fantastic views close to beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Older hotel that's been updated and very well maintained. Friendly staff clean rooms. Can't beat the location for the reasonable pricing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this hotel. The location is ideal, great view of the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location within walking distance to beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Easy check-in. Great location. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and quiet with many families around. Best continental breakfast I've had at a hotel can't beat the view either in breakfast room.