Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with great views!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The view was absolutely fantastic!
Cons: The decor and facilities could use an upgrade.
Location: Castel Gandolfo is a tiny village with not a lot to do, although it is very scenic and peaceful, perfect to get away from busy Rome.
4 stars in Italy doesn't mean the same as elsewhere from my experience, and I would rate this more a 3 or 3.5 star hotel. Nevertheless, I rented the penthouse apartment for one night and it was amazing! The best feature was of course the big terrace overlooking the lake, which was just spectacular. The staff was friendly though I did not have much interaction with them. The breakfast was small but lovely. Overall a good experience, although the hotel looked a bit blend and tired, which is why I couldn't give more than 4 stars.
5 out of 5
by Dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Amazing views

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint hotel in super location with panoramic views of the lake. Good breakfast and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
We chose one of the apartments which is just a few doors down from the hotel. Looks like it was renovated very recently. Everything was new and it had a nice balcony and view of the lake. The only drawback is that the bedroom is right next to the road, from which there is a little noise. We are light sleepers, and it bothered us a little. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great views, reasonable price and good staff

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
we had a good 3 night stay in the apartment with balcony down the street from the hotel. We made the mistake of renting a car in rome so driving (and parking) was stressful with the narrow streets and difficult parallel parking on a hill.nic
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable. Spectacular views of Lake Albano.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my two nights in this small hotel. There were problems with Wifi in my room throughout the stay, and the lady on reception recommended that I should use wifi in the lounge / breakfast area. But I should be able to use wifi in my bedroom ! I would recommend this hotel. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: We were let down by the local Castrol buses. We waited over an hour at the bus stop for a bus that never arrived.
I feel the hotel could have sent a mail to prepare us for our arrival. We arrived by train at the Castel Gandolfo station after a morning of travelling. Google Maps indicated the hotel was 800m away from the station but it was a mean uphill to walk with luggage cases. We should have been forewarned and offered a shuttle. Staff weren't very welcoming when we arrived which was disappointing considering we had just conquered the meanest hill! Our room wasn't ready (we were about 40min early) so we walked around a bit until it was. When we entered the room I was anticipating the view but the curtains were closed. Weird. Anyway, we opened the curtains and the extra we paid for the view of the lake was definitely worth it. Spectacular. There was no notepad or pen in the room, no information on the area or suggestions of what to do or restaurants to dine at.The wi-fi signal was really really bad. The bathroom had a jet bath and looked inviting, except when we ran the water strange things came floating out of the jets.Eeeuw. For a 4 star hotel the room looked a bit tired. Our second day was much better, different staff at reception and breakfast and the rest of the stay was very pleasant. I must emphasize how stunning the lake view was and I would highly recommend paying the extra for the view if you're able to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location but that's all

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Hotel in a stunning location but the hotel is run like Fawlty Towers. In our room the air conditioning didn't work, balcony light didn't work, fridge didn't work, safe didn't work and they had no idea how to fix any of them. If you don't get to breakfast by 7.30am nothing is left and they don't replace it. And the rooftop bar and jacuzzi is not used so you can't get access to it anyway! Glad we weren't there for long! I had high hopes for this hotel but was very disappointed!
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Leeds

Gem of a hotel

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with amazing views across the lake from the room balcony. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by Sylvie from Longueuil, Quebec

Small room in Castel Gangolfo

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was so small that we had to put a chair in the corridor so our suitcases could fit in the room without bumping on them. No parking nearby. You have to find a parking in the street and pay twice a day the fees at fixed schedule. Nice small city however.