Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good staff - comfy, but not much of an accommodating hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean downtown hotel with southern charm

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Wine & cheese social every evening. Breakfast included, it was divine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great location and friendly staff. Clean room and loved the complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location with great staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Elliott House Inn is a perfect gem! It's located in the heart of Charleston with walking distance to everything you want and more! We had the pleasure of being helped by the most kindest and professional staff members of the hotel! Clean and comfortable In every way. I highly recommend staying at this hotel! We will be coming back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Nice boutique hotel with an excellent location.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: location, courtyard, comfortable bed
Cons: front desk staff attitude, cleanliness, and go ahead in the hot summer months and put a fan in the room and let the spa just be a pool.
Location: withing walking distance of most attractions, the market, museums, the harbour, Husk, 82 Queen, Poogan's Porch, galleries, etc.
Rooms are large and the bed is comfortable. Our room was very hot when we arrived. Although the air conditioner was running it just could not keep up. The staff brought us a fan which really helped distribute the air conditioning, but without it, I doubt it would have been able to get the room cool. Our bedquilt had a nasty blood stain on it so we just took it off and didn't use it. Hard to believe the cleaning staff overlooked that. Overall though the place has a nice, quaint, historical feel to it. The courtyard is lovely and the breakfast is quite decent for hotel food. It has a nice spa but when it was 90 degrees outside, I woulid have preferred it to be allowed to be just a pool, which i seemed like they could have easily done just by turning off the heat. The front desk staff were odd acting. Friendly enough to get by but none of them smiled or were outgoing and friendly. They have a wine and cheese social each night between 5-6 which is also nice. Overrall, I might stay there again but the rates were quite high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia SC

Perfect get away in downtown Charleston.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Close to fabulous restaurants and shopping. It was a great weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Definitely not a 4 star hotel!! Very disappointed!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The location is great, although the parking is tricky. $20 for a day in parking lot across the street.
Cons: Cleanliness and updated. The breakfast could be improved to. Maybe buy croissants and other items from local businesses?
Location: Great for shopping on King Street and all the local bars and restaurants.
We decided to choose the 'Mystery Hotel 4 Star option' on a recent visit to Charleston and were given the Elliott House Inn. When we went to our room (#15) and was very disappointed. The door to our room was very dirty, our room was dark, very small with a strong damp, musty smell. The window was approximately 6 feet from the kitchen of the restaurant next door, (very busy, especially at 5am in the morning) so we had no natural light as we had to keep the blinds continuously closed for privacy. The air conditioning unit was dated and sounded like a freight train while the bathroom was very small and was infested with a family of cockroaches. The hotel included a continental breakfast which can either be served in your room or in the courtyard. A nice touch but the food was very average and we went elsewhere and paid for it. When I viewed the hotel on other websites, it's rated as a 3 star hotel so I've no idea where Expedia has received their ratings from?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

excellent location, service issues

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The location in the heart of downtown cannot be beat. The inn is cute and has a historic feel to it; you sacrifice the conveniences of a larger hotel but that's where its charm comes in. Excellent view from our room, surrounded by wonderful restaurants and shops. Was clean and everything appeared in good condition in the bathroom. A few quirks with the toilet and the shower, but overall ok bathroom for a historic inn. Downsides were the breakfast-by-room-service was messed up every day-- we either didn't get our card to order breakfast, or they mixed up our order, or left things out, and one morning didn't deliver at all. The other major downside was the street noise in the early morning. We expected noise from tourists and nightlife, but road construction began early every morning and even at 4 AM one day. Had a poor week of sleep. One suggestion for the inn is to take a little time to get guests acquainted with the inn at check-in. We were essentially handed a key and given a vague description of where the room was. No one offered to help with our bags or show us where a cart would be to move them, and there was absolutely no information provided about check-out time, housekeeping, or other basic procedures. In summary, a super cute inn, worth it for the location, but needs some more efficient systems in place for guests. And one last thing... I specifically booked this hotel because they advertise a hot spa. It was cold the entire time.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Ashley, Hotel Management
I appreciate your feedback. I'm even more sorry that you experienced some issues with your morning breakfast and noise. We understand that this makes for a less than desirable stay with us. I'm very sorry and please know that all service issues are being addressed as I type this. While I cannot control the street noise, my recommendations for future guests is to be a courtyard room versus a traditional guest room that is located on the street. This room type will cost more money, but well worth the peaceful nights sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The staff is exceptionally accommodating and has lots of good suggestions for things to do in the area and all types of restaurants.
My six day stay could not have been more wonderful. The location in Old Town was so convenient to everything and other guests were most congenial. Breakfast in the courtyard was a great way to start the day and the wine and cheese in the evening was a fun and delicious time to compare sightseeing adventures with other travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
What a delight to have you come and stay with us! Please visit again - we'd love to have you back again.
2 out of 5
by Lynda from Raleigh

Disappointment

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice enough, quaint and quiet. However, our room was so overpowered by the smell of bleach, we had to keep the bathroom exhaust fan running continuously for hours to clear the air. Very unpleasant. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. Selection was skimpy to say the least. For the cost of this stay, I believe it was well over-priced.