Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Very nice location and good facility, but

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of service and breakfast.
Location: Three upscale/famous restaurants, City Market, Slave Museum
We expected to receive the warm southern hospitality like we received in Savannah right before staying at this hotel, but there was no warm welcome attitude/words when we checked in on 6/17(Sat). We told the hotel prior to our arrival when exchanging e-mail that we're going to celebrate our 25th anniversary while staying, but it was never mentioned during our 4-night stay. We had 2 suitcases, but no luggage assistant was offered and we even had to open and hold the hotel office door by ourselves to carry them. The other two guys in the mornings were nice and helpful. Charming courtyard, but could not spend time much there due to bugs flying around. Wine/cheese service at 5pm? was nice - every day the same things though. We had a king/courtyard room - the room was small but OK, did not hear noise from outside, but maybe it was because the a/c in the room was very loud like having a storm outside. Bathroom amenities - something was always not provided/missing every single day. Breakfast was free - the quality was poor, but the coffee was good, and it is a nice service that they can deliver to your room. Three famous restaurants are next to the hotel and the parking was just across the street, so the location was very nice; however by considering how much we paid for 4 nights to stay and it service, we regretted very much that we selected this hotel to celebrate our special anniversary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMof EHI, Hotel Management
I apologize for the events that took place during your stay with us. I'm sorry that you didn't get the welcome and well wishes that you had expected for celebrating your anniversary, however this information was not conveyed to the hotel from when you mentioned to the Expedia team and I'm sorry. I hope that you'll give us another try next time you visit Charleston - you are owed true southern hospitality and I have no doubt that our team can "wow" you, if given another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in the historic district.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Walking distance to most attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. Quaint court yard for 5 pm wine and cheese, morning coffee and breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMof EHI, Hotel Management
Keep us in mind next time you visit - we're glad to have you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great location, helpful service. We enjoyed the wine and cheese at 5:00 on the patio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMof EHI, Hotel Management
Keep us in mind next time you visit Charleston - we'd love to have you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chesapeake, va

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, comfortable bed, big windows, big bathroom, great shower
Cons: N/a
Location: Went to eat at Chef and the Farmer and Boiler Room. A lot of history and things to see and do that we didn't know about until leaving town.
We went to town for one night and I'm so glad we stayed here. Zach was awesome! Very friendly, super helpful. The room looked like it had JUST been renovated, but it hasn't, so they do a really good job keeping it clean. I didn't realize until after I left, the elevator is the first elevator in NC. It's really a cool place and if you are going to Kinston, I would stay here for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
Unfortunately, I think you have mistaken our hotel for another - we are located in Charleston SC. Keep us in mind in your travels next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Lovely Hotel central to Historic Charleston

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The room, breakfast in bed, the staff, views and proximity to town.
Cons: Due simply to the oldness of construction, there were a few places with standing water that were slip hazards. This could be improved upon.
Location: Great walking tours and simply walking and exploring. Great shops and GODIVA at the Charleston Place. Yummy restaurants are everywhere.
This was a quick business trip, but we managed to squeeze in a bit of fun. The hotel was very well located for the walking tour we went on and several great restaurants near by. We had dinner at Poogan's Porch and loved the atmosphere and variety of starters. Back at the room, there was a cozy king size bed and nice bathroom. We also had a private balcony on the back side of the B&B. We also had wonderful views overlooking the courtyard from the front door. Having breakfast delivered to the room was an added bonus! We will definitely book here again and probably plan a much longer visit. Also, the gentleman checking us in and manning the front desk was a wealth of knowledge and had a wonderful disposition. Very easy to talk to and super friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMof EHI, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback and are looking into solutions for the water puddles. Keep us in mind next time you visit Charleston - we'd love to have you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calif.

Enjoyable stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Nice clean room with comfortable bed. Good breakfast, nice wine and cheese snack in afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Elliott House Inn. We hope that you'll stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was great and the location perfect!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: Room A/C fixed or replaced
Location: Shopping on King St, dining and walking to the wharf
Everyone was very nice and helpful and we enjoyed exploring Charleston from this location. The air conditioner in our room was loud and the bed too soft for us but we still had a wonderful time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are thankful for your feedback and would enjoy having you back again with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff RUDE.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Parking is difficult.
I left due to horrible staff atitude. They refused a refund. I chose another property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback and will look into the specifics of what you've mentioned. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great Location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The location was wonderful. Within walking distance of restaurants, open market, ghost tours, churches and other tourist sites!
Cons: More space for luggage, add additional luggage rack.
Quaint southern old time charm. Reminded us of a bed and breakfast decor. In fact, they did serve a lovely breakfast and even brought to your room at time requested. Lovely courtyard area. Some noise from city sanitation trucks and construction around hotel early in the AM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words and appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a lovely hotel with helpful and personable staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
great staff, nice amenities, lovely antique furniture, reasonable bathrooms. could benefit from full length mirrors and a desk in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by EHI GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us and would love to have you back again.