Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

It's in the Historic District

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Guess that was what I was paying for. Very pricey room. This property is in need of major updating. It's in the original Citadel, so not much they can do about the floor plan, but that didn't make it charming. 2 elevator for entire hotel. Room was cramped and very poorly lit. Broken window, broken drapes. Very convenient location, lived the Farmer's market next door on Sat morning. The staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Friendly staff and close to everything

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the drinks and light refreshments in the evening. The room did smell a little musky and the furniture could use some updating. Wonderful location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte, nc

Great location, wonderful staff

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Overall our stay was great. Hotel staff was wonderful, from front desk to breakfast servers. Location is excellent, walk to everything. Architecture much more interesting than your standard chain hotel. That said, room was a little dark, but well equipped. But we're not staying very long in room anyway, just to sleep. Courtyard, pool and evening cocktails fabulous!
5 out of 5
by Scott from Miamj

Hiden gem in Charleston

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Kind of a hidden gem in Charleston. The hotel was formally the original Citadel before it was moved outside the city of Charleston. That being said the outside appearance that of a fully functioning defensible structure. Don't let that discourage you as it amazingly beautiful inside, with its gigantic atrium and beautiful hardwood floors. The rooms are a little dated but there is only so much you can do with a structure so old so I feel that should be overlooked. Because if you don't then you will miss one of the coolest experience in an already amazing city.
2 out of 5
by kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by James R from Atlanta

Horrid Bed!

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Generally very nice staff. They should be ashamed to put a couple in such a tiny bed. It is more like a cot. The room would have easily handled a responsible sized bed. Shame on the management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location. Great breakfast and social hour.

Posted May 3, 2016
Very enjoyable. Hotel is close to everything. Farmer's market right outside on Saturdays.
4 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Many rooms have no windows

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Terrible stay, will never go back. 20 of their rooms have no windows and pet hotel staff they are often allocated to Expedia guests. "That is why you should book with us directly, and not through Expedia" they said. So disappointed as an Expedia gold+ guests that we are treated as second class customers. Expedia: please do something to correct that and at least mention the risk of having room without window. Felt so claustrophobic in there that we had to keep door room opened most of the time. Also very bad rotten smell downstairs by the elevators that no one seem to care about. It could be a beautiful place on historic building but some of the renovation they made just makes no sense. Remember: more than 20 rooms have no windows and they would not relocate us because they are sold out and we booked via Expedia. Don't go!