Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for self catering

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Look for Richlieu on the map, we found it easier. Medium size room with kitchenette. Whilst it had a dishwashing machine, there were no tea towels or dishwashing liquid. Good TV, even found the BBC world service. Necessary to use the supplied trollies to get bags from large car park to room, not really a problem. Reception were pleasant and there is a spa, but did not use it. Wi Fi in reception, though my room was close enough for the internet to stretch. Breakfast and dinner, at a price. Used the place to visit Chateau de Breze (euro 11.50) and the local area. Did not spend any time in (Cardinal) Richlieu. Big supermarket down the road; very useful. Good stay, and recommended for the self catering aspect. Nice balcony for the warmer days..
5 out of 5
by JW & LW from Lincs

Great Place to relax and chill

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Good location, good facilities, not a very tourist part of France, so do not expect the locals to speak anything but French. Richelieu unique and historic, Some good places to eat good quality and not expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, basic accomodation

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Le Relais du Plessis. The accomdation was very basic, but provided most everything we needed. No oven and could have done with a few more items for the kitchen, but the essentials were there. The grounds were fairly quiet and had a very safe feeling as my children ran around with the other children they met. Located on the outskirts of a lovely town, close to a supermarket, helpful staff, clean. We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Close to a beautiful 17th Century Listed town.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location, setting and simple accommodation.
Cons: The inclusion of a simple welcome pack to include a washing up cloth, shampoo, soap etc would be good.
Location: Absolutely beautiful location.
Very impressed, value for money and perfect for a family. It is not always easy to find accommodation for a family of 5 at a reasonable price. We stayed for one night en-route and we're pleased it was well appointed and close to the most beautiful town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Misleading and pikey

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Cheap - but then again you do everything yourself
Cons: A lot - see above
Location: Close to supermarket. Not far from Chateaux but still off-centre so the eastern ones will be too far to visit in a day
The concept of this hotel/holiday village is fundamentally flawed. It is not a hotel in that services are minimal, but it is not equivalent to a gite or rental property since you have to provide and do so many things yourself. Given the charm of French villages, I don't know how anyone would chose this ahead of a gite. And it is not cheaper. The swimming pool is the only advantage it has over a gite, but you have to share it with some of our rudest/noisiest Northern Europe neighbours. Consider the following before booking: - room needs to be cleaned before departure - never seen that before - need to undo bed and put all bed linen and towels in a bag before departure - Wi-fi does not work - You have to leave your car at an outside car park. Good for security but no help for carrying cases to the bungalow - car park is too small (loads of cars parked everywhere in the morning) - Small swimming pool - small bedrooms (the width of a large suitcase around the bed) - very little storage space - only 1 small towel per person provided - nothing provided for the kitchen apart from crockery (no washing up liquid, sponge, tea towels etc)
4 out of 5
by jbsberg from Surrey

Great for families, nice location.

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels
Checking in took a while, guess it was a busy time and only one person on reception. Apartment was comfortable and beds were good although we had to make them up ourselves Location was great.
4 out of 5
by Sarig family

very convenient for the family

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
we enjoyed our stay very much
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels
Really friendly staff. Room clean and tidy. Great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Near to châteaux and sites

Posted Sep 12, 2011 on Hotels
Lovely location. Good to collect bread from reception in the morning. Room perfect for us, comfy double bed and comfy bed settee for a teenager in the lounge area. Great to sit on wooden balcony and eat dinner outside. Well fitted apartment. Only thing missing was an oven, as the dual microwave couldn't cook pizza. Not far from Chateaux of the Loire. Supermarket 5 minutes walk away. Would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very basic, good value, great location.

Posted Aug 7, 2011
It's a small, quite new campsite style place without the tents! Accomodation is basic to good, but it's cheap so good value. Beds a bit hard though. Having a balcony is good. Pool nice, but be up early to get a sunbed! Food not great, but it's 5 mins walk to a large supermarket and 15mins walk to Richileu which is lovely. Great location for exploring The Loire. Chinon 25 mins drive, Tours 40min and a bunch of Chateu's and vinyards nearby. Weather was good so we had a good time.