Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap clean motel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: cost/cleanliness
Cons: shampoo would be nice, upgraded bedding
Location: 10$ uber to wrigleyville
great hotel for the cost, appeared clean, didn't try the free breakfast, free patrking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back in time.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
It's a MOTEL, people. So there's soap, but no shampoo or hair dryers. It still has the 1950-70's decor, but our room was clean, and the grounds were clean with no trash. We stayed just one night for a Cub game, and VERY convenient to catch the bus at the corner, and head down Clark to Wrigley. The front desk man, Javi, was also very helpful to us. It was great for the price and convenience. We would definitely stay again. If someone wants posh and frills, stay downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I was visiting Northwestern University. It is close to campus and convenient. Decent hotel for the price! Friendly staff, free parking and continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

For bargain hunters

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Spotless room, mattress a little soft but slept well. Breakfast enough to get us going. Good, pleasant walk to Red Line. Museum quality TV set but who's gonna watch with so much to do outside?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Affordable hotel conveniently located

Posted Sep 1, 2016
I've stayed at Heart O'Chicago a couple times and it is my hotel of choice for staying in Chicago. Far enough out of the city that it doesn't cost a lot but close to the train to get downtown easily. Also close to several of the colleges in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great no frills Motel transports you back in time!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything! Location, comfort and price!
Cons: Cable for the TV. But not necessary.
Location: We got up and took the bus to Wrigleyville. We did not hang out in this neighborhood.
This place is great! Looks like a 1959 Motel that is as great as it was in 1959! Clean, comfortable and easy to get to where you want to go in the Heart of Chicago! The staff was great. The bed was comfortable. The shower was like a well maintained '59 Cadillac, full of power and solid!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
OK, but needs updating. Room was clean but had no cable TV or even a clock. The furniture was from the 70s maybe the bed also.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Champaign,il

Nice clean motel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Started staying here last year. Love how close it us to a city bus route ....just hop on and 20 minutes to Wrigley.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convienience

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the L and Wrigley field
Cons: Softer pillow and better sound proofing or rooms especially the windows
Location: 1 mile from the Thorndale or BRYN MAR L Stops Direct bus from the street corner of Clark and Pederson to Wrigley Field at Addison and Clark
The motel is about 1.5 km away from the Thorndale Subway or "L" stop. The "L" is the name of the subway system. There is a bike sharing system called DIVVY nearby as well. You can walk 200 yards from the motel to rent a bike and take it to the L and drop it off 100 metres away at another DIVVY station. Bike rentals are $9.95 for a 24 hour rental but you must get it back to another DIVVY station every half hour or incur extra charges. There is a Petederson bus that also takes you from the hotel to the L on BRYN MAR but does not run very late at night when returning to the hotel thus making the bicycle option very attractive. You can also walk through some pretty neighborhoods if you wish. It seemed very safe . You can also take the L to Wrigley Field where the Cubs play or Cellular field where the White Sox play. The hotel is 12 L stops to the Navy Pier downtown as well. The rooms are clean but dated. There are no hairdryers in the room but you can pick one up from the front desk. They provide soap but no shampoo is the room. I did not ask the front desk for any so I don't know if they provide it. The hotel staff seem friendly and helpful if asked for directions. The continental breakfast is made up of muffins, pastries, cereal, Coffee, Juice and some whole fruits nothing fancy.Parking is also free. The only drawbacks i found where that the pillows where a little to firm and that the windows where not very sound proof. You can hear a hum from the A/C units of other rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Jul 31, 2016
A great deal for affordable accommodation in Chicago (and free parking). If you don't mind not staying in the city centre, it's a ten-minute walk from the Red Line train (runs 24 hours) for easy access to the centre and anywhere else in the city you want to go. It's also a ten-minute walk to the Andersonville neighbourhood with lovely bars and restaurants. The room was clean and well kept. Continental breakfast was simple, but enough for me. I'd definitely stay here again.