Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Home away from Home

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The location and the homey feeling to the room.
Cons: Pool being opened. Maybe enforce quiet hours since the wall was paper thin.
Location: There are tons of great local restaurants within walking distance. Our favorite was Angry Nate's.
This hotel was a diamond in the rough. The location was right there on the boardwalk so walking to different activities, shops, and restaurants was very short and convenient. The hotel staff was all very friendly and helpful. One thing that we wished was different was the pool being opened. If we get another chance to visit St. Croix, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Great location, nice staff, otherwise not so good.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location. Excellent spot on the boardwalk. Everything is in walking distance.
Cons: Rooms need to be painted, cleaned and new furniture put in. Fix the pool.
Location: Hotel is on the boardwalk with easy access to restaurants and bars. Shopping is nearby. Fort Christiansted is a short walk away.
Fast and easy check in. Hotel is in great location but does not qualify as a resort even though I had to pay a resort fee. Pool was empty so no swimming. Room wasn't very clean and furniture had seen better days. I did leave a negative check-in review with Expedia which prompted a quick call back from the hotel. They offered to upgrade me to a nicer room and apologized. They were very nice about it and I do appreciate the effort they made to make things right. If your on a budget, this hotel is not a bad choice. They do need some work but they will try to make things right if you aren't happy. Call ahead to see if pool is working if you plan on swimming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great location. Nice room. Good staff. Breakfast was ok. Not the first on the list. Hidden fees. No parking. Creaky floors. Run down, needs to be remodeled. No amenities to talk about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
I only stayed one night. It wasn't bad. It good for a one night. Not a family vacation type spot or for young babies n young kids. No parking. Ok breakfast. Nice staff. Hidden fees. Creaky floors. Thin walls. Run down hotel. Wouldn't be my first choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, FL

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Ok. Traffic was a little heavy.
A decent hotel. No complaints. Breakfast could be improved. Add pancakes or waffles and milk should be left in containers or machine dispensing the milk. The same for the orange juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager Michael, Hotel Management
Thanks for the input James. We are constantly working on improving the Complimentary breakfast. In fact, as soon as the construction is complete on the new kitchen at the Bar, we will be moving the breakfast there and expanding the offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hammond, IN

Christiansted's best

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The classic hotel has changed little in the 30 years since I last rented a room there, The original restaurant is gone, the pool needs service, but the comfortable clean rooms have not changed. There are more roosters around than the used to be, so you don't need an alarm clock. Easy walking to everywhere downtown Christiansted. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager Michael, Hotel Management
Thanks Tiger! All input, good or bad, is always welcome. The original restaurant is gone but something new is in it's place. We are waiting on licensing to unveil our new Cigar Smoking Club as well as a new kitchen. By chance is this the same Tiger that shared the pictures and 3-d Model of the Hamm's Bluff lighthouse? I also manage the FB page for the same and love showing that site to guests, even leading hikes there when time permits!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
The A/C in our room was a bit of a joke. There was only one working channel on the TV. The pool was only filled half way. Never knew if the bar would be open or not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Sorry about your inconvenience but steps are always being made to address issues thoroughly and quickly. As for the pool, neither of those are happening with the remodel. Being the oldest pool in the Virgin Islands, it has recently sustained cracks due to seismic activity but the refurbishing is in progress. The coating has finally arrived on Island and work should resume very soon. As for the TV system, we are working with our satellite provider to get this resolved as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted May 11, 2017
Not what I expected. The staff was nice though. The power was down when I checked in. They didn't give me too much info on the island itself. I just expected more
4 out of 5
by Alejandro

Nearly Flawless

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
With the exception of the Front Desk girl, who needs a lesson in customer Service, this is still one of my favorite places to stay. The location is fantastic, with regards to being close to the water although parking in the area is a bit of a nightmare. Rooms, as usual, are very clean and everyone except for the front desk girl, was friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny NY

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Bulldozed
Location: There are placed near to get food
the breakfast could make you sick if there were any