Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
I had a fine stay at Extended Stay America Easton in Columbus, Ohio.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Lobby and hallways smelled like smoke. Workers working outside on a Sunday morning at 8am and very noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Don't bother.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Cleanliness, availability of staff and knowledgable staff.
Location: Easton Mall, restaurants.
Stayed here for a weekend with my dog. Checked in and was given a room on the third floor. Not even 30mins later was told its not pet-friendly and had to vacate/relocate to the first floor; had to drag all of my belongings out of the room even though I specified a pet-friendly room on my online reservation and called the hotel to confirm few days prior to arrival. There was never anyone at the front desk when I had questions. Room and halls very dark and dingy. Bathroom tub looked dirty and clogged more than once. Also my key became de-activated multiple times and had to get a new one (kinda hard to do when there was nobody at the front desk half the time).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that you were not located to the correct room the and your room was not up to standard. In response to your feedback, I am making sure the front desk attendant reads all notes especially about pets and the rooms are inspected to standard. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Close to Mall

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Keep in mind it is a long term residence facility. No ice machine and only one ice tray in the freezer with cubes missing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that we do not have an ice machine, but I am glad to see your stay was not deterred. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Not a clean hotel and bare minimum. Not clean and dark. Room had horrible smell. Could not wait to get out of the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Few amenities.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
I prepaid for a king bed room through Expedia. When I checked in at 2:00 AM they did not have the room available. I had to argue with the night staff to upgrade me so I'd have the king bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

low quality linens

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Nice staff
sheets and comforter were extremely cheap feeling, did not breathe so I kept waking up overheated. Only one wastebasket so had to go to bathroom every time I wanted to throw something away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were disappointed with our bedding. In response to your feedback, I will be reviewing our linens to make sure that they meet our company’s high standards. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Location. Price. Clean
Cons: Wi-Fi.
Location: Right at the mall. very good location
WiFi was not working and staff did not know how to fix. At one point they gave me a number to call. The number was for employees to get tech support. This was frustrating because I brought work to do. Also, there were no kitchen supplies in the kitchen. When I called for the Wi-Fi, they did bring me up supplies. There wasn't even a pen or paper to use. Overall, the room and bathroom was very clean Breakfast cabinet looked stingy, but it had instant oatmeal and apples, so we made it work. The place felt cheap, but I paid very cheap. So, I guess I'm happy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middletown, oh

Don't depend on breakfast or linen service

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The room was good. Clean and mini kitchen
Cons: Breakfast bar. Linen policy
Morning breakfact included a fruit, granola bar and pack of oatmeal. If you want linen service, there is an extra charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, Michigan

Clean hotel, beds are rock hard

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Price, location, cleanliness, staff were good.
Cons: Improved mattresses are needed. Getting a good night's rest is very important when I'm traveling!
Location: Easton is full of high-end shopping options. It is a well kept, fun atmosphere if you enjoy shopping and dining.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room and hotel were very clean. My only complaint was that the bed was very uncomfortable. There was no mattress padding and I could feel the springs and framing.