Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The bed wasn't very comfortable. I wasn't happy they didn't have 24 hour room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing the details of your experience with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux City IA

Casino hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Selected hotel for convenience to event venue and they kept a kitchen open after 11 pm
Cons: Mattress
Location: Location is great for anyone looking for casino since there are two within a mile.
Selected hotel for convenience to a concert event at neighboring casino. Concert venue hotel did not offer food service after concert. We planned to have dinner after the show so found that Ameristar had kitchen open. Didn't expect a great meal but were pleasantly surprised at how good our dinner was. Limited menu but truly adequate. Our room was nice and actually one of the best views the hotel offered. Great view of the Missouri River and downtown Omaha. Only complaint is that the bed was not real comfortable. Pretty hard mattress. Would stay there again and definitely request room facing Omaha.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Ameristar. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with Casino

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Casino and Bakery
Close to Omaha NE with lots of things to do and really good places to eat...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Ameristar Council Bluffs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Wanted a relaxing night close to home but...

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Staff nice, solid old furniture,
Cons: cost was overpriced. Buffett long lines but it was Friday night so. With loud drunk groups keep an eye on them so not disturbing everyone else
Location: Across river from Omaha-great zoo there, a few historical sites in both areas, obviously casino so gambling
Husband and I went for our anniversary-close to home but something different and relaxing. Staff very nice, gave us a room credit for a meal due to anniversary. Buffet line was extremely long but the cafe food was fast and good. The mattress was pretty hard but nice pillows. But about 5 a.m. loud loud drunk? argument in hallway. We could hear them go up and down the hall. Very loud and obnoxious. Did not call the desk as I figured everyone else on the floor was also awakened. And if I turned on light, found phone etc. I mentioned it in the morning and was told yes there had been a wedding party on our floor. Hmm Over all nice place, OK room, but overpriced-even with the credit to room for 30$. Won't stay again as when we spend that much money, expect a good nights sleep also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to sharing the details of your experience with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Business or pleasure.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This hotel is very clean and even though it is with a casino it is very quiet where the rooms are located, which was great! I would stay here again, especially for the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EG port st lucie flo

Nice

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Food was terrible at the steak house Overall stay was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to sharing your feedback with the culinary team at RIVA Steak & Seafood. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs

Casino

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Good restaurant choices.
Cons: Make it all non smoking.
Nice amenities. Good work out room and pool. Board walk on the river is scenic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed outstanding amenities and outstanding cuisine during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ds

It's okay for a night

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I didn't know they shared a pool with the other hotel. It was crowded @ 4pm. The cigarette smoke was a turn off as well. I'm pretty sure the cleaning lady used my restroom right before I arrived. She was cleaning the room next door and her smell was apparent as soon as I walked in my room. Q
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing the details of your experience with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Love it here!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, high end room at an affordable price.
Cons: We had everything we needed for our stay.
Location: Close to the zoo, which was our destination and downtown Omaha.
Always enjoy our stay here. Great amenities and close to the zoo. Love the Amerisports sports bar, too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for more outstanding amenities, cuisine and service. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

poor ventilation

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The bakery staff was friendly.
Cons: The ventilation!
Location: The College World Series was close by. We spent the day at Old Market and crossed the pedestrian bridge. Both activities were fun.
My son, his friend and I were in Omaha to attend the College World Series. When we drove up to the hotel it was impressive looking. Upon entering the hotel, we were overwhelmed by the smell of smoke. I expected smoke in the casino area, but not in the atrium. Our room was non-smoking on the 2nd floor. It also smelled of smoke but less than in the hallway and atrium. My son's friend and I have asthma. He coughed a bit, but I had to use my inhaler and was awake with a reaction from the smoke. During checkout, the front desk lady asked if I had any concerns about my stay. I stated my concerns about the hotel's poor ventilation. She said, "Really?" as if she couldn't imagine such a problem. She offered no apology, explanation or offer of amends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing your concerns with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs