Ratings based on 1,400 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Wet room!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Walking into our room was like walking into a wet sauna. Everything was damp, even the bathroom floor. The room would not cool down even with thermostat turned down to 62. After calling the front desk they did send someone to the room. He brought in a dehumidifier and a box fan. The dehumidifier did help marginally but the room never did cool down. Also, the rooms in this hotel are in dire need of renovation. If the rooms were renovated this would be a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC MO

Nice Hotel close to downtown

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable
Cons: It was good
Location: Downtown location and a lot of things to do also across from St Lukes health center
It was great, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, and room was quite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trash

Posted Oct 2, 2017
This place has poor service, the security is like all in your business from the time you check in til the time you check out
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel room had visible mold on ceilings and had a musty odor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Needs renovation

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: None
Location: Great location. Shopping district. Very safe.
I am a frequent traveller and have stayed at several Hilton Properties in the last 7 years. Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza is by the far the worst property. My room had a bad odor, dirty, the carpets were disgusting. I think this is a very old property and definitely needs to be renovated. There's not much the house cleaning can do about this, it's the responsibility of the hotel management and Hilton to take appropriate action. Also, the quality of coffee cups was so bad that I just could not close the lid of the cup The cup will break apart.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Very dated with no parking.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: Décor and parking availability. If the parking can't be improved, tell travelers.
Location: Close to Westport.
If you want 1970's, go here. The room was clean, but dated and bathroom/shower room was very small (1970's). Paid $20 for parking, didn't get it as the very small parking area was "full". Had to park a block away and walk. I'll choose another option next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The breakfast was disappointing. Tables were dirty, they ran out of everything, the bread for the toast was moldy. It was pretty nasty. The bathroom was so small and dirty too
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old dirty hotel with ridiculous bathroom setup

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Don't go to this hotel if you have more than 2 people who will sleep in the main bedroom cause the door to the bathroom is in there as well as the vanity right in the room. Standing water and hair on the bathroom floor on arrival. Only reason we didn't leave is there wasn't another room available in KC because of the Eclipse. TV didn't work and wasn't repaired or swapped after requested. Understaffed, stood in line for 30 minutes to check in while 2 people worked 2 lines and answered the phone. Will think twice before staying in an unfamiliar Embassy Suites again.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Overpriced and outdated

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: It's in a really cool neighborhood. We were walking distance from many bars, restaurants and cafes. It's a very young, urban feeling vibe (nearby).
Cons: Parking should be included in the rate. The breakfast experience should be totally overhauled. The hotel overall needs updating.
Location: Cool neighborhood is nearby. Walking distance to cool bars and cafes. Very young, urban feel.
On the surface it looks good. But the hotel itself is dated and feels dirty. The breakfast experience is pretty disgusting, although the staff are friendly. The pool has so many chemicals in it you can't see the bottom. You can't see your feet when you're standing in 4 feet of water. Your eyes will burn for an hour afterward. You will pay $17 per day to park your car there. I expect that in a big city, but certainly not outside the downtown area in Kansas City. Skip the "premium" floor because you really don't get anything besides a couple of bottles of water and some candy bars. The cleaning crew knocked on our door at 8:10AM to see if we were ready to leave and have the room cleaned. We paid a lot for a very mediocre experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Employees were great but the rooms need updated.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Very welcoming on check-in and helpful during our stay. Great indoor pool area. Evening receptions were great.
Cons: The rooms need updating, mildew on the tub caulking, the carpets showed wear and smelled musty, the tvs were smallish with very few channels.
Location: Although not on the plaza it is with-in walking distance.
My wife and I stayed here for a four day get away. We chose the embassy for the location to the plaza area and we like their cook to order breakfasts. But be aware that on weekends soccer families fill the common area clog the breakfast buffet and play games on the elevators. So grumpy old people stay away.