Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Liberty, IA

19 miles away from Decorah

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Its clean, quiet, dark. It is good for sleeping.
Cons: The breakfast. They need to add fresh fruit, like bananas.
Location: 19 miles away from Decorah, home of Luther College.
I like everything about this hotel except the breakfast. It would be nice if they had some fresh fruit, like bananas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting relatives.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Reasonable rates.
Cons: Very small breakfast area. Not much selection for breakfast. Nothing to do in hotel. No pool.
Location: Nothing within short walking distance. No sidewalks - needed to cross busy highway to get to residential street with a sidewalk. No resturant nearby.
Bed was comfortable. Room was fairly clean. Could have used an air freshener. Window was open upon check in so it was a little cool. Heater warmed it up nicely though. Fan in bathroom was noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mpls,mn

they had some issues with plumbing

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cons: better breakfast. cold eggs
Location: small town .. good quilt shop and retreat center... very friendly citizens some cute shops.
expedia had the wrong address and other information sent to the hotel with the reservation.. the hotel itself has had a lot of redo in the rooms but the new toilet was leaking and needed a new ring...otherwise pleasant clean good staff
3 out of 5
by Lorene

Served its purpose, and absolutely nothing more

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The male attendant at check in, didn't seem too friendly. My daughter went down to ask for a few more towels, and was rags, and he responded to her with an eye roll and "I guess..." - probably annoyed that she interrupted his YouTube and his eating cereal with a fork. He was there the following morning, where the "continental breakfast was nothing more than empty cereal containers, coffee ports. Signs that read, " we are out of bagels and cinnamon rolls", but there were rubbery and cold, Eggo waffles and stale bread.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Letdown in a little town

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was not impressed with the condition of the property. Even the entrance cried for attention as the doors were clouded and streaked with a half hearted cleaning. There being conventions and competitions in neighboring Decorah meant selection was limited for accommodations. Lobby door wedges open into dirty front entry floor.. Parking lot filled with gravel and sand and tracked everywhere. No elevator! Second floor guests with major luggage out of luck. One staff member in the entire stay...made everyone aware of it too.. And it was booked solid that night. No control over guests and disruptive children. Paper thin walls with holes in them around every corner. Lampshades either missing or water stained beyond repair. Rooms minimally appointed with typical items. Breakfast was a major disappointment compared to other. Toast, bagels, freezer eggos waffles, coffee and juice. Dry cereal and packets of oatmeal. Don't expect to leave feeling full. With a full house everything was purposely understocked. Dusty surfaces and cobwebs and sloppy paint added to the ambiance. Location is good on the edge of town. Gas and convenience store less than a block away.
4 out of 5
by Rick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Our go-to lodging in the Decorah area

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Staff are very nice, helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Cons: A couple more pillows on the beds. Easy to hear conversation in the hallway.
Location: I have a student at Luther in Decorah and we have chosen to make the short drive to Cresco to stay.
This was my second stay at Super 8 Cresco and I will stay again. It's a short drive from Decorah and a great value. The facility is well taken care of, the rooms are clean, very comfortable. I highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were her for a quick overnight it served it's purpose. But had I known there was no elevator we would have ask for a main level room as my Wife has rheumatoid arthritis and doesn't do stairs well. When we asked at the desk they just said yep we don't have one of those
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

major chain in small town

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: nice omelet in the morning
housekeeping failed to empty trash after first nite and did not clean up the room at all after the 2nd nite. had to ask for clean towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Worth the drive from Decorah

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Staff were friendly and were locals. Not fancy but decor seemed recently updated. Stayed here while son did a Luther visit. Saved money and nice 25 minute drive to Decorah.