Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
great place but a bit away from park entrance, about 15 min drive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Wa.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: It had a loft for the kids to sleep
Cons: The road to the office
Location: Denali park was easy to reach.
It was a good cabin. A great set up with children
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Much better than expected.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Location: Denali NP, duih!, Also recommend eating at 229 Parks
Some other reviews had our party of 3 cabins a wee bit concerned about staying here but we are glad we did. We stayed in the newer cabins so can't speak for the older modified "A" frame cabins. The good: The cabins were spotless. The beds were comfortable. The place was quiet. WiFi available in the cabins. The owner was a hoot and quite accommodating. Parking is convenient. Setting expectations: This is NOT the Ritz. The rooms are smaller. The bed frame looked dubious but provided two good nights of sleep. There were only two electrical outlets. One by the sink and one behind the daybed that was the third bed in the cabin. Don't miss the property's restaurant. In particular I'd recommend placing an order "to go" the evening before if you are catching an early bus tour into Denali. Their breakfast sandwiches were awesome as are their cinnamon rolls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The shower was really bad. Either it had freezing cold water or had boiling water. This made showers difficult. The beds were not comfy and no cell reception there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Leslie, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you did not have good luck with the shower - I wish you would of let us know - we have 24 hour maintance. The beds are all new - 4 months old Different cell phones carriers weork differently in different areas. Thanks for staying with us and for your feed back' Leslie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Alternative to the big hotels

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location, quiet, reasonable
Cons: Small refrigerator in cabin would be a bonus.
Location: Denali Park ...
Great alternative to the expensive hotels at the Park entrance. Cute cabins, super friendly staff, nice restaurant with excellent wine and beer menu, quiet, clean cabins. Small, but doable. Good cafe and pizza place within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Leslie, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback!! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for choosing us :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from donotbook

DO NOT BOOK!!!!!

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: horrible
Trust me! I never stayed here and I never will. If you book now, pay later, they still request a deposit and then will lie to Expedia about what happened. The hotel manager is horrible... If I could give them zero stars I would. Avoid the hassle-- book with Denali Grizzly Bear-- closer to the park and wonderful hotel staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Leslie, Hotel Management
If you would of been kind enough to add your name I would of gladly tried to address this issue. Leslie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pearland, TX

Surprises--not always the best

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Scenery and a true Alaskan backwoods feel
Cons: More complete information. My questions were answered, but the answers did not give me the whole picture.
Location: Close to Denali National Park. Need your own transportation. Food choices limited.
Beautiful setting, enjoyed the scenery, rustic, but ok cabins. In reading about the Perches, we did not realize the bath facilities were not in the cabins, but in another building. We adjusted to that surprise. I wrote ahead about shuttle service and was assured there was service. However, they could not accommodate our group of 15--even though they knew the size of our group. They adjusted to that surprise--at our expense. We were expected to eat at the on site restaurant, but elected to enjoy a family picnic. They adjusted, but not happily. We understood there was breakfast offered every morning. We thought it was included, but we adjusted to their prices. The owner was not prepared to serve breakfast the second morning, because we had not confirmed that we would eat there. She adjusted to our plans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Leslie, Hotel Management
You were sent an information letter stating what our services are, how many we can transport, the times and fees involved. We do not offer free breakfast. We try to include all the information we can to assure you have all the information you need. We went out of our way to help you - even making extra unscheduled trips with our shuttle. I will review the information letter we send out and adjust it with even more info. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Last choice for me on next trip.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Remedy everything listed above
NO TV, RADIO, CLOCK CHAIR, VERY SMALL SHOWER STALL, DIFFICULT TO FIND OFFICE, AND DIRT ROAD IN TO THE PLACE WAS THE WORSE THAT I DROVE ON DURING THE 3 WEEKS. WAS IN AK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic and functional

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The Perch is fine for a place to rest near Denali NP without the burden of a high price but as we all know, you get what you pay for. This is a basic resting place without the fluff. It's a cabin with a bathroom. No view. Shared wall with another room. If you want more, this is not for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

One step above tent camping.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The restaurant at the top of the hill was very good. We had a great meal there our first night at the resort.
Cons: The roads were bad, expand guest parking, tear down cabins and start over.
Location: Denali National Park is slightly over ten miles away. There are three restaurants on or near the property, otherwise it is miles from services.
We planned to stay in one of the private bath cabins for three nights but checked out early because the cabin was so uncomfortable. The cabins were sent up with one small table and one small one person bench with a full bed up against the back wall downstairs and a full short bed up a treacherous ladder upstairs. The bath was so narrow I kept hitting my head and elbows in and out of the shower. This is not a place for older people or larger people to stay. Do not recommend for anyone with spine issues or other health issues.