Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Sitting on bed looking to the tv I suddenly felt something on my right foot. It turn out to be a black bug about 5 mm in diameter. I flushed a way found on the floor and hit it with my shoes. I made pictures of the dead bug, let the receptionists know and left it in the room. Never use this hotel again. I have to clean everything before going back home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by GM , Hotel Management
we are very sorry to hear about your issues, however in the summer time if guests leave their room door open than bugs will fly into the room, this is a exterior property so it does happen sometimes. our rooms are always clean and ready for our guests. im sorry to hear about your issue but it is difficult to stop insects from flying in the rooms if doors are left ajar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent room.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Refrigerator didn't work. Staff replaced it immediately. Pillows still hard, but not as hard as last time I stayed here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
thank you for your feed back, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington, Michigan

Superlative Treatment by General Mgr John Hakim

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Without going into boring detail, we had a number of special requests/needs that we needed taking care of. At every opportunity, Mr. Hakim and his staff accommodated any special request we had. You quickly felt that everyone there enjoyed doing anything to ensure your every desire was attended to. Mr. Hakim went out of his way to approve a partial refund (we had paid for the entire stay in advance) when we had to check out a few days early. Do not hesitate to stay here and give this well deserving crew your patronage!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! we hare happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon Denny! thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
clean, quiet and fairly spacious room, large desk area, fairly close to shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feed back Marvin, we are happy to see that you were satisfied with our rooms and staff, we hope to see you again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location - that's it!
Cons: JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING. The staff especially.
Location: Lots of places to eat and right off of the highway
This room was terrible. It was small, smelled funny, and even for the price, still super disappointing. Upon arrival, the staff acted as if I wasn't even there, talking amongst themselves. Once I was finally helped, the manager in back was constantly yelling for the lady trying to check me in. When we got to our room, we noticed the sink was broken, it wouldn't drain at all. The dead bolt on the door was also broken. The only thing that was nice about this hotel was the location. It's right off of the highway and there's a lot of places to eat around it. Other than that, it sucked. I'd stay far away from this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, we are sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay with us, we will do our best to ensure other guests do not encounter the same problems you had. thank you for you feed back and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills MI

Love the easy access to your room

Posted May 27, 2017
I always park right next to my door. No lobby's and no elevators. Staff was very Professional. I love when they fluff the pillows and fold the towels a certain way. You have everything you need within 5 minutes. There's actually a home cooking restaurant 100 feet away. There is never any disturbances. The A/C gets so cold. I highly recommend this place to anyone coming to this area. You get off the highway and it's right there. So convenient. One time the lawn care saw I was in my room during works hours and decided to come back later. How considerate these folks are. If you're looking for a very fair price and an awesome stay. Just book a room you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Chris! we are happy to know that we have met all your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

John and Sophia are exceptional

Posted May 27, 2017
I never have an issue here. Staff is great. Place is quiet and peaceful . The rooms are always clean and the ladies always make sure I have everything in the toom One time I made a mistake with the date of my trip and John jumped right in and made sure I was able to get a room. I spend a lot of time out of town, and have been to many Hotels. For the money this is where it's at. Great job guys see you soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! we do our best to accommodate all of our guests needs and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wireless connection

Posted May 21, 2017
The wireless connection and the speed of the internet was bad at best. The room was clean and comfortable. There were too many parties at night and it was difficult to sleep. There are cigarette butts on the ground every where - very disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Gm, Hotel Management
Hello, Im sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay with us, we are in the middle of migrating to a new wifi provider to improve the quality and signal of our internet. i have already spoken to my houseman and we will do a better job of keeping the grounds clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

TERRIBLE CUST. SVC., LAWN EQUIP OUTSIDE DOOR @7AM

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff attitudes/ customer service and limiting excessive and controllable noise on weekend mornings.
We checked in to the over-priced Red Roof Inn in Farmington Hills at midnight on a Friday. The clerk was persnicketty and rude. We had a very long day and just wanted to sleep in on Saturday morning. Shortly after 7 am we heard all kinds of motor equipment outside. I assumed it was a lawnmower and that it would pass quickly. It went on for a while and when I couldn't take it anymore I called the desk. The manager was not in yet (probably sleeping in). However, he did call when he arrived. I complained about the noise highlighting that it was a SATURDAY. He seemed to understand but said all he could do was allow us a noon check out so we could get some rest and go ask them to stop working outside. A hald hour went by and then THREE men with leaf blowers appeared literally outside of our door. We looked out and THREE men were blowing rocks and dirt around in the parking lot. I again called the front desk and was told there is nothing the manager could do but that he was getting ready to go talk to the workers . I asked the manager for a partial refund of the $100.00 we paid for less than 8 hours of sleep since there would be no getting back to sleep. He denied us, engaged in an argument with my boyfriend, told us to call Corporate Headquarters and complain and never talked to the rock/ dirt blowing men. I have had hald way decent experiences at the Red Roof in Auburn Hills, but I will NEVER stay at the one in Farmington Hills again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by John , Hotel Management
I apologize about the issues you had during your stay with us, I am the manger whom you spoke with the morning of your issues. I explained how we can not control what time the landscaping company shows up to work, however i did speak to the manager of the crew and informed him to not begin work until after 11am. I did try to offer you a discount for the issues, however your associate was not pleasant and hung up on me. again im sorry about your issues and i did my best to resolve it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Okay if you want to go cheap

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: It's cheap.
Cons: The look of the place.
Location: It's off M-5 on Grand River, behind a decent family restaurant. Things to do were more than walking distance though.
My first two stays were okay. This past Sunday, my sister and my niece drove me to the hotel to check in prior to going to our storage unit to pick up a few furniture. I was staying for the two nights, as I commute to Detroit for two nights twice a month. My sister needed to use the bathroom, so as soon as the young woman checked me in and gave me my keycards, I gave it to her so she could go ahead. Well, I just happened to be right behind her with my stuff when she opened the door to find a man clad only in his underpants. She quickly a[ologized and closed the door. She and I were so embarrassed and mortified! She ran back to the lobby and told the young woman what happened. She didn't understand at first that the room was already occupied, but seemed rather indifferent and assigned me another room, which thankfully was NOT occupied. The radiator in my room looked like either somebody kicked the heck out of it or it exploded. For the second time I've stayed there, I found something left over in the microwave or refrigerator. Disgusting. On the morning I was checking out at 5:15AM in order to vetch the bus to work, this other young woman gave me an attitude for checking out that early in the AM. I'm glad I along with my sister, her fiancé and my teenage niece are moving out of state in mid-June, so I only have three more times to stay there because it is the cheapest around, and as close to the SMART bus as I can get to by walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by John , Hotel Management
we apologize about the issues you had during your stay, we will take further steps to ensure other guests do not have these issues in the future. we are planning to begin renovations this summer and hope you will give us another chance in the future.