Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superficial

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Nearly but not quite. Luxury pricing, economy comfort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Grand hotel in wonderful grounds on Dartmoor

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Grand hotel in a beautiful with masses to do. The pool is big and fun for children. There's putting, croquet,golf, trampolining, play area, ferret feeding, falconry .... The setting is beautiful and grounds are very well kept. The reasons this review isn't a 5 is the food. It really is an incongruous mix with the rest of the hotel. And as the hotel is remote is a problem. We ate in the brasserie, beautifully decorated terrible food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

A place fit for royalty

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere and charm
Location: Situated on a golf course. Somewhat secluded in a national park.
It was a grand night stay in a classic hotel. The hotel oozed charm. Wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo-Kyiv

Posted Jul 19, 2016
An exceptional place, very comfortable and relaxing. Beautiful period interiors. Have received free upgrade on arrival. All in all, 11 out of 10.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and over priced

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: It had character and the hotel staff were helpful once we complained but it was a shame we had to complain about so many things.
Cons: More thought put into what the guests will need to be comfortable/ want to do. The brasserie restaurant food. The swimming pool area facilities.
Location: Set in the middle of Dartmoor which is very picturesque, good walks. Warning: you have to drive to get anywhere and roads are very narrow.
We stayed at Bovey Castle for our honeymoon and were hoping it would be somewhere we could relax and recover from the big day. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations and we had a few problems during our stay. 1. The room we were assigned had a noisy boiler built into the wall. Reception did however promptly move us to another room which was quieter. 2. The television volume was restricted to quite low was hard to hear at times and has a rather strange set up with a networked interface that didn't work very well and only a few channels to pick from. 3. We ate in the brasserie twice and on both occasions the food was not very nice. We went out to eat the rest of the trip. 4. It was very hot in the room (we were on the top floor), no air conditioning or fridge for cold drinks. 5.The spa was our main reason for visiting and we looked forward to spending a fair bit of time in there. Again we were met with disappointment the pool temperature was set fairly low so not so comfortable and the sauna was broken. 6. The valet parking arrangement is rather odd and inconvenient. They demand to park your car when you arrive despite it being parked directly outside the reception, keep your keys and you have to wait for them to fetch it when you wan to go out. We parked it back where there put it the first day when we returned and were told off! On checkout we were left to get to car ourselves with bags despite one of us being noticeably pregnant Wish we hadn't gone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Only stayed the one night but it was as good as it gets as always
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and grounds

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Beautiful hotel and fantastic weekend, although some of the restaurant waiting staff lacked the manners and level of service expected and were in fact quite rude to us. We also were told there were only single rooms available, so we booked several of these, however these were actually twin or double bedrooms, leading us to spend unnecessary extra money, which was slightly disappointing. The spa was amazing and the treatments were brilliant. The lodges were fantastic and we highly recommend the Sloe Gin making. There's an endless list of fun activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
This hotel has some of the best staff I have come across The restaurant staff are excellent and really make you feel special and best of all this is a great family hotel very child friendly. Will go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A terrible experience at this inflexible unhelpful

Posted May 31, 2016
Wouldn't go back, the staff are not helpful. Paid a lot for my room and was disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Nigel from Lisbon

Ideal for a wedding or a romantic getaway!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for a family wedding and it was a fabulous choice! A beautiful hotel set in some glorious countryside with friendly staff and lovely food. Clearly it had been chosen for its romance and seclusion. Our only real problem was finding the hotel without satnav or signs, but at least the locals knew where it was!