Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, England

Birthday & Anniversary treat

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: So many things to like. The location, the facilities, the service, the food, the walks, the parrot and the daily visit of the birds of prey.
Cons: The operation of the lift doors should be investigated as they take a couple of attempts before closing.
Location: The location is stunning. The Clapper Bridge at Postbridge and Dartmoor Prison are worth visiting as are Castle Drogo and Finch Foundry.
I booked a room for a Monday and Tuesday night as a treat for my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary. I wanted somewhere special and the Hotel delivered it for me. We were met on arrival and our car parked for us. The bags were taken to the room. The room was on the top floor overlooking the valley. The views of the English countryside were fabulous. The room had recently been renovated and has tea and coffee making facilities and some complimentary sloe gin (appreciated by my wife). The bathroom was equipped with the usual array of towels, soaps, shampoos and other 'essentials' including flip-flops and robes. The bathroom had an excellent shower rather than a bath which suited us. The bed was wide and comfortable. It was nice to return to our room at bedtime to find the bed turned down and the following day's weather forecast left for us. The Hotel lounges are fabulous and ideal for relaxing. You can even have a conversation with the parrot! The swimming pool is excellent and there is also a steam room and sauna attached. We spent a peaceful morning there with only a few other guests. The staff provided a map book of local walks for us. There are two restaurants so we had a meal in both. The Smiths was informal dining with good quality food and wine. The Great Western is more formal and 'silver service'. The food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Breakfast was buffet style. Quality is worth the expense so set your budget accordingly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Devon

Attend a wedding

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Excellent
Cons: Rather expensive on fundamental items
Location: Not applicable
Because of valet parking ,they did not load up all my luggage. So have had to chase them up about it. Very helpful however.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Special birthday celebration.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building in delightful setting. Private golf course.
Location: Tranquil location with wonderful views. Good walking directly from hotel and also many excellent walks in Dartmoor.
Our 5th visit to Bovey Castle. Weather perfect for mid-February.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star in price but nothing else

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Bigger choice of ales. More information on the dog policy. Better choice of food in both restaurants. Bigger and better equipped bedroom.
The room was Ok but nothing special. Food was poor and expensive. Only one real ale which was average but expensive. Lots of Dogs in the hotel, I dont like dogs. I will do much more research before booking a hotel through expedia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Dartmoor Manor with a golf course

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was my wife's first trip to Devon and she truly fell in love with this beautiful stately manor in Dartmoor. The hotel is charming, the staff extremely friendly and the food from breakfast to dinner was excellent. Being close to Christmas the ambience and Christmas decorations and trees added additional charm to an already charming locale. Walking around the estate is truly beautiful with a very quaint golf course on the property. We can't wait to come back and stay here again. They are busy upgrading their televisions in the room which are sub standard, but that is fixable. Strongly recommend Bovey Castle!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A not very relaxing 5 star stay!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights in October to celebrate my 40th Birthday with, hopefully, a bit of luxury. First, the good. The location on Dartmoor is stunning with beautifully kept grounds. we enjoyed activities such as the falconry display, the pool and the archery. There are some really helpful and amazing staff, particularly in the spa, gift shop and at breakfast. With a 6 yr old, we opted for the Brasserie rather than the fine dining, not much wow factor but the food was reasonable. Now the not so good! The accommodation! We were allocated room 27 which was in the middle of what can only be described as a demolition zone!! I was concerned by the scaffolding outside the window when we got to the room, but also aware that hotels do sometimes need to do work and the rooms are in need of a refurb, having a spoilt view isn't necessarily the end of the world. On the first morning, my birthday, rather than enjoying a lie in was awoken by the delivery of a skip right outside our window at 7:30. The builders started overhead just before 9am, but this wasn't any light renovation work with a bit of hammering, sawing, tiling. It was a near constant power tool noise, sounding like they were chasing out walls or breaking through. To the point I couldn't hold a conversation with my wife standing a foot away. We were driven out of the room by the noise. The work didn't stop when the staff said it would and eventually demanded and had a meeting with the hotel manager as we were leaving
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Food was poor as we could not use the main restaurant as it was closed.Also we asked for no 12.5 % to be charged onto our bill but it was charged on every item we signed for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Excellent quality hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Nice (short) walks on the site itself; only stayed one night so didn't explore very widely
Very high quality hotel - quite highly priced too though but no complaints about staff or cleanliness. There was some refurbishment work going on while we were there so not all the amenities were available but that was the only slight negative
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic and remote

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
ALL of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinner we had in the dining room was STELLAR. We would definitely recommend the Beef Wellington!! The grounds were beautiful and peaceful, and the ground floors were well-kept and so Britishly elegant. The rooms do need some renovating, peeling paint, old scrunched up carpeting, etc. I would still recommend a visit.