Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Dissappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were exemplary and the drive and entrance to the castle are very impressive .
Cons: Wifi . Plumbing. Better Value for money .
Location: This little corner of Donegal is stunning and spectacular .
This should've been a 5 star experience but sadly it wasn't . We had several problems in our room with the plumbing . They were sorted out and we were given a small box of chocolates for the inconvenience , but it's not what one expects given the prices charged ( a reduction or free breakfasts would've been a more appropriate gesture). The wifi was also poor and intermittent .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Franciso

Gorgeous Estate Close to Donegal

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Quintessential country castle/hotel/spa with all the amenities. Beautiful grounds peppered with statuary, bikes at the ready for a tour around the lough. Comfortable and generous rooms, delicious dining options and music in the bar after dinner. A delightful oasis - I wish we had stayed there longer, next time we will!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save Your Money and Stay at a Ramada or Radisson

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel does look like a castle from the outside, and the waterfall shower was nice.
Cons: Lower the price.. too expensive for what you get.
Location: This hotel is isolated. You need a car to get around, but we did enjoy the nearby town of Donegal.
We had a long day of driving, and upon our arrival we were informed that we had to wait for the concierge to take us to our room. We sat and stood by the front desk for over 30 minutes, to be lead to a building not attached to the hotel. This was the 'highest' priced castle on our Ireland castle tour and the most disappointing. You are paying for a nice lobby, and grounds and getting a standard hotel room. Once you close the blinds, lighting consisted of 2 little lamps and a pot light over the closet. But the worst part was no sleep. The room was hot (no AC) and the bed had no top sheet and a duvet that puffed out feathers every 5 minutes. When we were asked at check out we enjoyed our stay, we were honest about not getting any sleep. The response was a PERKY "Sorry".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Heated floors and the fireplace made my stay over the top. Lovely well kept gardens. Great spa which included fitness, indoor swimming pool, workout room, massage and facials. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated but lovely

Posted May 14, 2016
The location is removed from town and is not on the lake, as the name implies. Beautiful grounds, large room. Bathroom is poorly lit and my wife struggled with make-up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely.

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. The room was very warm and we never did find a hairdryer, but other than these minor irritations, it was great. Bar food and breakfast both superb.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly at Solis, expecially at reception
Cons: They could do more with the grounds as far as walks are concerned.
Location: A bit out of Donegal town on a road that leaves a bit to be desired but beautiful building.
Short break for my wifes birthday, very clean hotel with extremely helpful staff
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Florida

Peaceful country estate.

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay with superb staff. Everyone we met was quite kind and very well trained. The rooms were very generously sized and quite comfortable. The bathroom was quite well done and very spacious in our room category. We ate dinner in the bar/lounge on account of wanting a more casual experience but found the food just okay - our only let down. The bar does have a superb selection of whiskey and other spirits for those who partake. Also the grounds are quite nice and worth exploring during your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Service poor, room unclean , some items in room broken , TV broken , was not replaced , shabby rundown feel, hugely overpriced , really disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Tomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels