Ratings based on 1,479 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice hotel, they gave us a room upgrade, which was awesome! Unfortunately got caught in renovations, but they had things adequately set up to not make it a big deal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Downtown Hotel - Very Central

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Staff are amazing. Great location.
Cons: Overall maintenance of the building and rooms could be improved. Pool was VERY chlorinated.
Location: Easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants as well as attractions like Progressive Field and Rock n Roll Hall of Fame.
Staff overall were excellent. Everybody was professional, extremely helpful and friendly. Great location - was in town to take in a ballgame - easy walk to Progressive Field as well as Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. Rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. I felt overall the hotel needs a little TLC - lots of niggling maintenance issues. For example, the desk in our room was covered in water blisters - not a huge deal, but still not something you'd expect at a chain of Wyndham's quality and price range. There were many little issues like that. But I think I saw some signage regarding a renovation so maybe these issues will be addressed with that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel in theater district

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: location, comfortable bed, spacious room
Cons: more attention to detail
Location: theaters, a few restaurants, walkable to other attractions, fab grocery store 1/2 block away
The Wydham Playhouse Square is a good hotel for location to the surrounding theater district. From the outside the hotel is a lovely building on the corner of a block. There is a convenient drop off lane in front of the hotel. The lobby area is wide and welcoming. The extended king L-shaped room was very clean and large, plenty of towels, very comfortable bed tho the fitted sheet was way too small and would slip off and the toilet handle needed jiggling to shut off. The Expedia description said their was a sofa bed in the room. There was none as the hotel has replaced them with regular couches. For such a large room it was sparsely furnished. A comfortable couch, 2 upholstered chairs (one of which was supposed to serve as a desk as it had a small table attached to the arm) a dresser with a tv on it, a wardrobe with a tv in it and a king bed. A small microwave and small refrigerator were on the floor. The instructions on the phone did not work. I had to go back to the lobby for the wifi password. Tho free wifi was a definite appreciated plus. AC worked well and wasn't overly noisy. Elevators arrived promptly. The hotel seems to be going thru some renovations as there was light construction noise above from 730am and going throughout the day. The hotel staff while friendly, tho lackluster. Overall the hotel was very quiet, clean and in a good location for the theater district. I would stay here again if i was attending a performance at one of the theaters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OH

Needs a renovation, really bad!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location was good, staff was pleasant until they couldn't clean our room or switch us.
Cons: Needs a renovation.
Needs a renovation, very badly. The bathroom was dirty. It had Mold in the shower. Hairs EVERYWHERE! The tub, shower, toilet..NOT ours! Hotel booked couldn't change rooms. Bed lumpy, sheets pilled. Towels didn't even smell clean. Won't stay here again. Very dissatisfied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Great stay at Playhouse Square

Posted Jul 6, 2017
My family enjoyed our stay here over the 4th of July. Staff was nice, valet was fast to bring the car around. Room service was great! Pool renovation wasn't finished, kids were a bit disappointed, but it was great nonetheless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

U2 and great lakes brewery

Posted Jul 3, 2017
They had a shuttle for 5 mile radius, but stopped at 9:30 the recommended a family restaurant next door which had a good breakfast and stayed open all day and also got a milkshake there one afternoon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cool circular room.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice hotel. All the staff was super friendly and the valets always had there hand out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Paid alot for so little

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lower price or credit for inconvenience for things that didn't work and construction workers working at sensible hours and not 7am!
Location: Ballpark and restaurants
Cost of parking not included, front desk employee walked away from checking us in and never came back, wifi didn't work, pool under construction, (what sounded like) hammering nails in the walls next door at 7:15am (although we were on the 8th floor and the pool is on the lower level; according to the front desk, multiple complaints) and breakfast not included. Considering how much we paid, I would expect more. The only good thing is the location to ballpark and restaurants. I wouldn't recommend and will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place for a short trip

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, easy to travel to all locations
Cons: Elevators were a little slow
Location: Easy walk to bars and restaurants.
Was in town for a wedding, and the location and hotel were perfect for the trip. Room was clean with good space, but elevator was a little slow.
2 out of 5
by Josh

AVOID!!

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
First was sent to a room that was already occupied, then to a twin room that had dirty sheets and blankets. Then to the third room. Stained carpet in the room paint on the wall was touched up several times with a different shade. Furniture has seen way better days. Shower rod falling and the toilet was barely attached to the floor. Everything was dusty and dirty. The hallways on the 3 floors we were sent on smelled horrible and the carpets were rippled and had bleach stains up and down the hall way. The only good part of this stay was the two amazing bartenders in the hotel bar. This is FAR from a 3 1/2 star hotel. It may have been 10 years ago. But save your money and go elsewhere