Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from near london

Great location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Given how old the building is possibly nothing
Location: Already mention great location.
Very old,interesting building.the staff I met were helpful and all spoke good English.But I was traveling on my own I I was disappointed that there was no lounge or bar to sit in of an evening.Breakfast was excellent but room very cramped ,interesting historically. My bedroom was very small but I was traveling on my own so not a big problem,but although I had no heating on at anytime and the large window open all night it was so hot it was difficult to sleep. Would I stay there again,possibly if I had a bigger cooler room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location, the bathroom was quite big and the staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be 5 stars

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
In general the hotel is good and the staff were friendly but the rooms need updating. Window curtains were dirty and wallpaper coming off in places plus the room smelt of stale cigarettes. But as a place to crash for one night it was ok.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Lafayette Louisiana

Solo traveler chooses security over comfort

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is a bit worn out. In common areas don't know if clean or just old. No Wifi access in my room. I had external stairs outside my balcony and my bathroom window opened onto the stairs with no air Cond. I had to choose security over comfort. I didn't feel I could sleep with the window open anyone could just climb or walk in.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Brisbane

Very convenient location

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
The location was fantastic
4 out of 5
by Linda from Dorset

Great location in Ghent

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 night stay in luxury room. Location ideal for tourist. Small hotel, we did not find the bar/lounge as advertised.Staff friendly and helpful at reception and at breakfast.No hotel car park, we parked 8 minute walk away in P2 Reep (we paid total of 33 euros). We have stayed here before and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Cons: Provide tea coffee making facilities in the room.
Lovely historic building. Right near many tourist spots. Staff very helpful with advice about things to do places to see. Would be wonderful to see the historic dining room walls conserved if funds ever become available.
4 out of 5
by Wayne from Virginia

On the edge of the center of town

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
The location of this Best Western is superb. It lies in the center of tourist-town activity but the street is mostly quiet. Without A/C the open windows above a street seem to magnify and pedestrian conversation. The building is very old and displays charm that you won't find in a modern hotel. Breakfast is complete with eggs/meats/cheeses/yogurts/breads etc., and very nicely set out. Although a bit worn, the wallpaper in the breakfast room is historic and I found it quite charming. There is a patio where I sat for coffee and enjoyed just being outside. The staff is super friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. I would definitely return here is I find myself in Gent again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Really helpful, friendly staff, authentic old Ghent building, right in the middle of the city center.
Cons: The free Internet service was useless for anything but downloading text e-mail... and sometimes not even that. They definitely need to upgrade!
Location: The cathedral and many other beautiful churches are right around the corner. There are many Belgian beer & snack cafes nearby and all along the river
I was in Ghent on business for five days and wanted to stay in the City Center... this hotel was perfect -- just around the block from the cathedral and other sites. It's a smaller place, with a winding staircase and one tiny elevator (the elevator couldn't take my partner and I and our equipment up all at the same time -- too narrow and too much weight!). It does not have air conditioning, just fans in the rooms, but that was only an issue on the first two days of our trip when it was above 80. I much preferred staying here though, in a more authentic, classic building, than at the Marriott, which is a beautiful modern facility down near the river, but inside is all steel and plastic vs. old stone and wood.
3 out of 5
by Lars

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels