Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Newly renovated so everything looks new and clean. The lobby is still not finish but we overlooked that. My kids loved the clean and big pool. Nice basic breakfast. We'll definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel and pleasant staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
They were doing renovations at the hotel and that added noise that wasn't awesome. Sleeping in wasn't an option due to that. The staff were nice and friendly. They let me do a late check-out at the last minute, and were good to work with. The desk and the top blanket were dirty which makes me wonder about the cleanliness of the rest of the room. Decent place to stay. I'd probably try another hotel if I go back to the area. Decent price for a busy time of year. Easy access to get around. Once the remodel is completed it would probably be a better experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, newly refurbished.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Was a very nice hotel, it was just redone. It was very clean and the pool and hot tub were awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food controller

Posted Aug 12, 2016
My check in was amazing the girl was very friendly. The check out not so much not friendly at all or even bothered to ask about my stay. The renovations look great. We had a new mattress in our room which was amazing. Our bathroom needed renovation majorly. New carpet was definitely a plus. My major complaint at the breakfast provided by the hotel there was a cook who stood over everybody and made me feel very uncomfortable. To the point I wouldn't get up to get a peice of toast because I felt I was being watched over board. This is why my stars are lower it was a great breakfast of eggs, sausage and hash browns but having staff hover over you isn't necessary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Things we liked: Kids enjoyed the pool. The location was convenient to our route.
Cons: Things we liked less: Breakfast provided was unremarkable, not much choice, and there weren't many tables/chairs available.
Location: Patrick's Point State Park is amazing!
Room was fine, as was personnel. Although the room had been recently renovated, there were some surprising features (faucet too close to the mirror, sink drain not very effective). Overall fine for our one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to rate- refurbishing

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The Howard Johnson Express Arcata is probably a pretty good hotel. The room was certainly nice and comfortable and fairly quiet, despite little kids running up and down the hall. During my stay in July 2016, the hotel was renovating the workout room and painting. Therefore, the hotel lobby was a bit of a mess. The staff was ok. I found that the front desk was often completely empty- no one around. The morning breakfast was super crowded and it appeared some of the local homeless took advantage of the food.
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

Under Construction

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
When we first arrived we were greeted with construction trucks and a note on the door to use back entrance. Kind of a mess. I figured because they did construction last summer, we wouldn't have to worry about it this summer, but not the case. Game us a room on the second floor and told us we could use elevator, but when we got all our stuff to the elevator we were told it wasn't working after all. So we had to haul our things back to the other end of the hotel and then upstairs. Had some problems with the key cards almost every time. Breakfast area was covered in dry wall dust and smelled badly of paint fumes. Next time we'll probably stay somewhere else. Really just kind of felt like nobody really cared much about the guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Easy access

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom, screens, elevator access
Location: Highway was close by
Hotel under renovation. No access to elevator. Had to carry suitcases up stairs with bad knees! Bathroom needs help, hope it's part of renovation. Window screen broken.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In construction... Not informed

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Would have been nice to know this hotel was going through a remodel. Was not made aware of it at all. I could not receive a refund at all! All the construction was going on, smelled like paint throughout the hotel. Not happy with this one.