Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Lovely smaller resort, good location & great value

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Rooms, restaurant, staff, location
Cons: Dinner menu, shade over the pool
Location: Sigatoka is a lovely town to walk around with a big market, lots of shops and places to eat. Day trip to Kula Eco park was great.
Stayed at Gecko's for 10 nights in Oct 2016 with three young children in an interconnecting studio. Extremely happy with the room for the price we paid, especially compared to other options for a family of five. The staff at Gecko's were friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean. Nice gardens and the kids loved the pool, though unfortunately it was in full sun, some shade would have been great. Nice quiet resort with everything you need. It was great to be able to use the facilities over at Shangri-La (beautiful pools and beach) and the taxi drivers were excellent and always available to take us into Sigatoka or to Tomlus for dinner. Restaurant was good, especially for breakfast and lunch (excellent value!). A bit overpriced for dinner but the kids LOVED the Polynesian dance and fire show on Tuesday, Friday and Sunday nights which were popular with guests from other resorts too. Most other nights we ate at either Tomlus (Chinese/Seafood) or Indiana Curry House which are two minutes up the road and both serve excellent food. There are also several supermarkets near the restaurants, good for stocking up on drinks and snacks. Would definitely return to both Fiji and Gecko's!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just like being in Australia but with Fijian staff

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and crisp and the air con
Cons: The cultural centre has seen better days and could be revamped and mowed.
Location: It cost us F$1 each way on the bus along the Queens Road from the end of the resort driveway to Sigatoka Sand Dunes which are well worth it for a dece
A clean and well-presented, no-frills resort with all conveniences. It was just like staying in one of our local resorts in Cairns, only staffed by friendly Fijians. Our room (23) was clean and spacious; the shower a decent pressure and temperature; and the air con enthusiastic in its chilling (too cold for us but not most people). The bed was a decent size and the mattress firm. The only quirk was the shower head didn't stay up in position so you had to hand-hold it. The pool area was pretty standard but in good repair, as were the restaurant and gift shop. However, the same can't be said for the cultural centre which forms part of the same complex and felt a bit neglected and past its hey day. I'd stay here again for a night if I was passing through, as we were this time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Peaceful little oasis

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. The surroundings were lovely, loved the 'rest Bure' where you could sit quietly with a book.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Visited the Kula Eco park - definitely worth a visit. Visited the shops in Sigatoka. Good place to stay between Nadi & Suva.
We enjoyed our stay at Geckos - wish we had time to stay longer. A great place to stay to just relax, swim and enjoy the surroundings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly place to stay.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Not too large & had a lovely friendly feeling.
Cons: Bathroom door did not close. Glasses & cups in the room were not replaced with fresh ones if they were used.
All staff were very accomodating & helpful. We were attending a wedding at Shangri La & had a large group come across for dinner on Sunday night. Everyone loved it & said they'd come back & stay at Gecko's. Food was great on the Sunday night & the restaurant was full
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 8, 2016
The Geckos was a quiet, relaxing place to stay to experience Fiji. The staff were very friendly, helpful & courteous. The meals were always delicious. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent basic resort

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Its is great value for a base to travel/to activities or stay away from the crowd
Cons: As the 2x close by resorts benefit from each others holidayers, a free bus or some other transport would benefit both resorts.
Location: It has a basic pool and relaxing facilities. But 15 minutes walk to the Shangri la resort reveal all the big water activities.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating. As it is only 15 minutes walk to the Shangri la resort which is double the price for a room, multiple beach fronts with numerous facilities, Gecko staff welcome utilizing Shangri la resort during the day. Cheap drinks but average food and facilities. Book the for a Fri or Sun fire show as it actually books out from people at other resorts coming. If you negotiate with a taxi from the airport to the Gecko, you can get it F$60-70 as opposed to the F$90 resort bus. If on a budget, use Gecko to sleep, drink and spend the day/evening somewhere else for activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Affordable hotel in practical location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Price / performance and location
Cons: The food could be improved to match that offered in the village.
Location: Practical location for exploring, nearby village for local shops and fresh bread, 10 minute bus ride to largest village on Coral Coast for markets and
Gecko's is an affordable hotel with comfortable rooms with your own aircon. Staff are friendly and helpful. It's location on the main road gives easy access to public transport, which is an experience in itself. It is also walking/biking distance from a small village with shops and 2 nice restaurants to give options for dining.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Lovely resort, great little coffee shop, restaurant, recommend evening show and Fijian massage!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The staff are amazing. Happy and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.
Location: Set in lovely grounds, also able to use facilities at nearby resort. Local bus goes to Sigatoka.
Stayed for 5 nights. Lovely and relaxing. Set in beautiful grounds with traditional village museum. The meals were very substantial and reasonably priced. There was entertainment every night we were there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

relaxation away from busy resorts

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: friendly staff pool restaurant cultural sites cultural performances and fire shows quiet and clean rooms massage
Cons: inclusion of wifi for all guests rather than buying it would be better
I've eaten at the Geckos restaurant before but this was my first stay on the property. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic pool, restaurant, cultural sites, cultural performances and fire shows! The rooms are quiet and clean! excellent on site massage. Can't wait to go back!