Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: visit dam, & lakeside
Great hotel, but not wheelchair accessible, need to use 5 steps on staircase to get to elevator. Many different type of units ranging from hotel room, to cabins.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Need some refreshing!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The shower is great!
Cons: Food choices
Location: Great motorcycle roads everywhere!
All in all its a nice place, or could be! Brochure claimed the resort has three restaurants? Only one was open. The problem is it only had sandwiches and pizza! When we booked the resort for three nights we expected to have a variety of food. Since we were on motorcycles as many visitors are and you can't ride at night on those roads, we were stuck eating there all three nights. They should have told us there was limited food! I was not pleased! There is limited cell phone use...not their fault. Pool is not heated...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Not as advertised no good experience to write about Too bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice family get away

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The grounds are beautiful and the staff is super nice.
Cons: The rooms are very dated but, all in all it was an enjoyable weekend.
We stayed over a weekend to take our son on the Polar Express in Bryson City. Would definitely recommend both.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Western NC Mountains

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Sink would not drain and detritus came out of pipe. Jammed light cord required lifting mattress and box spring to release and plug in. Room phone inoperable. Staff was polite but helpless to compensate us for inconveniences - no authority to act but claimed no managers in house. Difficult to accept on BIG fall color weekend. Incompetent & unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jax, fl

Nice village, nice area

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Clean. Bathroom small, but comfy otherwise. Definitely mountain area. Good location. Beds are comfortable. Wi-Fi was nonexistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Nice hotel in need of a few upgrades

Posted Jul 16, 2015
The resort and grounds were beautiful. 2 pools with one having a great kiddie section and a lazy river. However, the water was not heated, half the games in the game room did not work, the closest ATM was 30 minutes away, and the power went out twice in one day with no generators for backup. Also, there was no fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern NC

Family Friendly Resort

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location! Fontana is a fairly remote area in the Smoky Mountains! Not all that easy to get to but worth the drive.
Cons: Our room was showing its age. The bathroom was updated but one piece of furniture was broken and the frame around the 90's era TV was cracked.
Location: The resort is located in SW North Carolina near the Fontana Dam and Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Bryson City is about 40 minutes away.
Fontana Resort is the kind of place that makes you want to slow down. There are activities from swimming, putt putt golfing, softball, game room, fishing, and hiking to testing out the numerous world famous drives in the area including the 'Tail of the Dragon' and the Cherohala Highway. While we were only there for one night, we had lots of fun and were able to enjoy the area and many of the resort's amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waynesville, NC

Disappointed.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer service.
Arrived at 11 am, no electricity at the hotel. Check in time 4 pm, which we knew was the case. Desk personnel was unable or unwilling to make an exception to this. Understandable, but they were not at all service or customer oriented or friendly (in the dark). We looked at the room to which we had been assigned and were disappointed with the location: away from the main building facing a stone wall. To kill time, we looked at the remainder of the resort, went and looked at the dam then went and had ice cream back at the resort village. By then, it was only 1 o'clock - 3 more hours to wait for the room. It was very hot that day. Nothing to do for 3 hours, more time than it would take to go home. We decided not to wait 3 hours to get a place to sleep so we could get up to go home the next morning. We cancelled the room and were home (3 pm) before the room would have been ready. Not really their fault, I guess, but we were most disappointed by the attitude of the staff. (Zombies?) Also, the advertising for the resort was hyped, in my opinion. We saw and did everything we wanted to do in 2 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but older hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location,
Cons: A/C requires maintenance. Better job cleaning the bathroom.
The hotel was easy to get in and out of. The room was nice and clean but the bathroom was not so clean. Very noisy A/C.