Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newtown, CT

Beautiful beach. Great location.

Posted May 1, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the lago mar. Everyone was super nice. Our room was great. It had a real resort feel. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle, NY

True beach resort experience!

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Lago Mar is unlike any of the hotels and so-called "resorts" that line Fort Lauderdale beach. Off the beaten path, this is a true resort with a beautiful beach, two pools, outdoor and indoor dining options, a beautiful property, spacious and well appointed rooms, and an amazing staff. We spent six nights and days enjoying the beauty and tranquility of the hotel while visiting family in the area, and it truly felt like we were on a tropical getaway. Highly recommend for couples or families. Special shout outs to Keithra at the front desk, Dave at concierge, Paul, Michael and Nicole at the bars, Mayra in the restaurant, and Lane down at the beach. Everyone made our stay special and we are definitely looking forward to our next stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Perfect family resort!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! Beautiful place!! Perfect location!
I LOVED this resort! Perfect place to go with children. Plenty of things for them to do. Everyone that worked there was super helpful!! Would go back in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!!!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Positives - Great place to stay for a weekend on the beach!!! Rooms , service, facilities were all excellent . Negatives - if you taxi in, the resort is a bit far from off site restaurants and the noise of coonercial jets is pretty constant all day...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Wonderful hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Loved the hotel. For the price it should have more comfortable beds and bedding. Needs more selections of food on the menus. Everything else was awesome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Nice hotel with resort pools and beach

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Have stayed there previously. It was recommended by friends.
Cons: Lobby and Bar area need to be updated - they look a little worn. The Lobby area is a must to redo.
Pros - this hotel has large, nice rooms, resort pools (2), beach, volleyball, spa, is more of a "resort" than other Ft. Lauderdale Beach Hotels which are across the road from the beach. Staff was very nice and friendly. Cons - Distance down the beach in order to walk the strip or walk to restaurants (must take cab). A little older of a hotel which is noticeable in the lobby and bar areas. Those two areas need to be updated. **The hotel needs to remove personal items that people put down "the night before" in order to save chairs around the pool. There should be signs that state that at 8am all personal items will be removed from the area each morning. It is ridiculous to pay to stay in the hotel, but to have all of the chairs "saved" when you go down at 9am in the morning to lay out. I understand that during the day this can be an issue, but the people that put their items out the night before should have them removed by staff. That is crazy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel mit großem Privatstrand in Fort Lauderdale

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Privatstrand
Location: Mietwagen empfehlenswert. Dann ist alles in Fort Lauderdale problemlos zu erreichen. Nahe gelegen ist die Galleria Mall.
Empfehlenswertes Hotel in Strandlage. Gepflegter Privatstrand, an dem die kleineren Stühle (vollkommen ausreichend) nichts kosten. Großer Pool. Minigolf, Shuffleboard und Tennis sowie nett angelegter Kinderspielplatz für die Kleinen. Frühstücksbuffet sehr gut (17,95USD p.P. inkl. Tax). Mietwagen empfehlenswert, da ruhig und etwas abgelegen. Manchmal hört man allerdings die Flugzeuge vom nahen Flughafen. Uns hat das nicht gestört. Suiten mit 1 Bedroom auch für 2 Erwachsene und 2 fast erwachsene Kinder sehr geräumig.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Excellent experience. Only complaint is food at pool grill and was just OK and muffins at the soda shop only fair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: staff. especially the bell/concierge team.
Cons: guest rooms and main dining room
Location: great location for ship watching from port everglades, 15 minute car ride to a fantastic restaurant scene, good music and shopping.
This is my second visit to Lago Mar. The location cannot be beat. Gorgeous beach and close to the inter coastal. The property has a nice exterior however, the interior is a bit tired. The guest rooms need updating and king size beds should be installed in all rooms. The dining options are somewhat limited and the menu in the main dining room needs an upgrade. The staff is great…welcoming and efficient. Thank you for an enjoyable week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

You can't go home again.

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: The beach and pools.
Cons: Modernize the feel of the rooms, make it easier to charge devices while traveling.
Location: Beach, beach, beach. This property is a bit isolated, but that is part of its charm.
Having literally grown up next door to Lago Mar in the 70s and 80s, and having full if unofficial run of the property then, this place has a special feeling for me. Back in the day it was a basic hotel with a beach, some beautiful and quiet beach. The hotel has morphed into a luxury resort that feels a bit dated in some ways and a little pretentious. If you are old money, you will love it...otherwise the return on investment may be lacking even compared to its closest rival Marriot Harbor Beach, where I write this review from days after my stay at Lago Mar. It isn't that Lago Mar is a bad place, far from it...but as a young leaning mid 40s guy it feels too old for me. It was frustrating that even the most basic item, ice, required not a trip to the machine but instead a call to the front desk and room service. Our room, while decent and in good condition, had too much furniture in it and poor outlet placement for a modern tech traveler. What it really scores high on is the beach. If you are going to sit by a beautiful stretch of beach without a crowd...then I can't say enough good about this beach (granted growing up on it may leave me biased). In the end, while this was once a second home for me and a place for my grandparents to stay while visiting, it just doesn't feel like home anymore. Guess you can't really go home again.