Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location on the Beach!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: location, location, location. The Tiki bar is an asset to the hotel. Excellent food! I would go there again!
Cons: It's hard to describe the vibe of the hotel. First impression was great..the longer you are there the more you see problems.
Location: Walking the beach is great! Lauderdale by the Sea has many restaurants and great entertainment.
We decided to fly to Fort Lauderdale on the spur of the moment. We are really not all the fussy, so we found it and booked it. The Hotel has some great point and some poor points. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable but as stated in out booking..we paid extra to have an ocean view room...we were told that buying from a 3rd party (expedia) we are not guaranteed. I put up a little fuss and told said to my husband "oh..this is just what i read in the reviews" I was immediately asked if I read the reviews. The next thing you know..we have an ocean view room. (Odd at best) My biggest issue was we put our shoes on the beach to go for a walk...we get back and our shoes are gone. We asked and one of the guys that works on the beach said..Yeah..I saw a guy walking down the beach with a garbage picking stuff up..didn't know what he was doing. WHAT? My $40 sandals and my husbands $100 Tivas...yes..Our error for leaving them i guess..but to know that someone saw it happen just irks me. Everything is expensive and every move you make costs $10. Want a chair on the beach..$10 want a drink? $10. There is 1 ice machine in the hotel...and it never had any ice in it. They just say.."All the people on Spring Break take all the ice". There was never hot water for a shower. Petty stuff I guess but we paid alot of money. over all we had a great time! loved the location of the hotel but wouldn't recommend or stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

HORRIBLE Staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Staff was absolutely horrible. My card was charged 5 times fraudulently by the tiki bar. Be very weary of staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Nice hotel. Clean and friendly. Great location. Great food in the area and at the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Clean the rooms.
Location: Great location.
I was unhappy with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff never cleaned the room, swept the floor or changed the sheets. The only service they provided was clean towels, made the bed and emptied the trash. This was an expensive room and the service should be a reflection of such. They pride themselves that they have a private beach but you could see that the general public was also granted access.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Great location. Beach, pool and Tiki bar. Room had broken toilet seat and no blankets on bed. Took 2 days to get replaced. Front desk concierge not very friendly. Every other employee was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CO

Horrible Place

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Right on the beach with seemingly nicer places close by
First, they charged extra (I had already paid Expedia) for a "resort fee". That was $15 more. The receptionist said the additional charge was "in the fine print". The room was old, dated and the furniture was literally from the 60's. The room also smelled horrible. The bathroom sink was clogged. The walls were not insulated from sound and everything from the hallway and the rooms next door was heard. The entire place needed renovation. They tried to present themselves as upscale but was anything but upscale. I would never come back, never recommend it and feel cheated. This was a horrible place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Great location, but misses on details

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Ocean front, close to Anglin Pier, affordable
Cons: Cleanliness, closer attention to details in updates
Location: Anglin Pier had shopping and restaurants. Nice walk in the morning to Starbucks. Grocery store nearby for water and snacks.
I scored an ocean front room for cheap and was satisfied with my stay. However my room, although partially updated, seemed not "quite right." For instance, the bathroom tile was very nice but installed very sloppily and some of the fixtures seemed to be salvaged from other rooms. Definitely lacked craftsmanship. Overall, I was satisfied and would stay again but the owners/contractors should pay closer attention to the details. Also, the housekeeping staff, while friendly, could do a better job cleaning and restocking towels. I went two days without new towels and had to ask for more. When I wiped down a counter it was covered in black dust. Everything seemed just a bit "shabby." Tiki bar located on the beach was really nice but food was only mediocre and menu was limited with few gluten free options. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

was a peasant surprise, extra large room

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The helpful staff
swimming pool was great, ocean only steps away, served wonderful food at reasonable pricing
2 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
They were jack hammering in room next door at8am really ??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: On the beach.
Cons: Sound proofing and updated the room.
The view from the oceanfront room was great (over the pool area and there is beach)- and the hotel is on the beach. The room was clean. However, there is quite a bit that needs updating (broken tiles, missing handles on furniture drawers - there are many many drawers, bathroom features are old and door is very old). The main downside to this hotel, however, is that the walls are paper thin. Ive stayed her a few times and this was the first time there have been many people staying. I could hear EVERYTHING in my neighbors' rooms- from drunk midnight singing to bathroom going. Im not sure how they could fix that, but it would be nice if they did offer 'quiet' floors perhaps for those coming in for work.