Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Posted Oct 24, 2016
I was looking for a good room at a decent price for a last minute booking in the area and this was a nice deal and find. Wasn't crazy about the location being right across the road from the entrance of Carowinds, but like I said it was a last minute booking and couldn't really complain too much about anything else given the time and circumstances. I would definitely recommend this place and location to anyone though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for a decent price.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Had a Mexican restuarant in it.
Cons: Dates.
Location: Pretty close to outlet malls.
It's a decent hotel. Had holes in the wall and cigarette holes in the lining. Good size fridge and microwave. Had hot water which is saying a lot the last few places I stayed didn't. Could be cheaper.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 6, 2016
The room I was 1st assigned was 1013. Unpacked car and arrived at room. Room smelled & had been used but not clean. Another room was assigned and an apology was given. My issue is why was that room in the system as a room to assign a guest & why wasn't it cleaned. The bed was unmade and the bathroom was nasty. I suggest requesting a 1st level room bc there is no way a level 1 room would have been not cleaned. Oh yea I checked in at 11pm...so they had plenty time to check the room. I expected breakfast bc the room was 103 a night..they didn't even have coffee. The bed was very uncomfortable for a 4 to 5 star hotel. The patio was a plus bc I smoke.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Clarion at the Carowinds is dirty, old, outdated and to top it off I saw a roach and not the flying palmetto bugs... They are renovating so maybe it will get better but for right now, don't waste your time if you are looking for a quality clean 3 star hotel. Front desk staff was very accommodating...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Vacation @ Carowinds

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Balcony to step outside on. Large pool. Fast elevators. In house restaurant.
Location: Restaurants and fast food close by.
This hotel is great for if you are rollercoaster enthusiast like us. From our 10th floor room we had a great view of the Carowinds. Reasonable rates, comfortable, clean, the staff was very friendly and went all out to help us with whatever we wanted. We will be staying here again. Book it now.
4 out of 5
by Jeannette from Myrtle Beach

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience - great location for getting to downtown. Loved having access to La Unica (Mexican restaurant) in the lobby!!
5 out of 5
by james


Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
super nice hotel.. would stay again...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Rude and low class staff, Motel Quality

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: TO leave it after the first night out of 4 and get my money back
Cons: fire the rude and lazy front desk person
Location: it is just fine
Cant find more rude and low class people like the ones on the front desk Terrible Service , its like jail service , pick up your services your self kind of hotel .pick up your towels and clean your room since the staff is so busy being lazy and accusing customers of being rude , of course I will be rude when you are being so lazy and not doing your job. Old furniture , mattress broke my back , and cant be more smelly , it should be titled as a motel highway service , not 3 star hotel or service for sure . On weekends the lazy front desk person is all what you get , so If you want any person to complain to you are stuck with the super smart person on the front desk who hates her job and everyone around her
4 out of 5
by doyle from Texas

Kid U.

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
older hotel, they have tried to update it. you get woke up by kids hanging out till all hours. This hotel is across the highway from The Carowinds Theme Park. It's the stay plaqce for these kids, during the summer.
5 out of 5
by Kwamaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels